We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #561 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter and I just returned from 6 nights at the Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg. For the price, I felt this was a great bargain. If you want an American style hotel, this is NOT the place for you. The room was small, and the lighting was not great, and the wi-fi in the room was non existent. However, if you brought your device to the lobby, the wi-fi did work.

Why the 4 stars? For 4 days the temperature was over 90 degrees (F) and the hotel's central air made all the difference. The trains, busses, stores and restaurants were not air conditioned, but our room was! We were steps away from the Blvd St. Michel, the restaurants in the Latin Quarter and walking distance from all the major sites. The water was hot (although the tub could have used grab bars and a shower curtain), the bed was huge (king) and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 305 and although it was on the street side, we had no noise issues. Great Air Con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The wifi trouble will finally be fixed in the all property within a few weeks. We look forward to seeing you again !
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    123
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
42
152
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We highly recommend the hotel. A marvelous staff with a lot of patience and desire to help. Very clean. Very comfortable bed and a great shower
Very close to the Luxembourg Gardens. Hotel in an excellent location
We will definitely return there next time

Room Tip: the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Roni,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay in Les Fontaines du Luxembourg. We are very glad you appreciated it and we look forward to welcoming you once more.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I visited Paris for several times on business and holiday as well. Generally the hotel rooms are small. This hotel also has a relatively small room size but the location and the friendliness of the staff is compensating. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. Good value for money in this expensive city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We made our reservation based upon the online photos and reviews. * The lobby was tired. * The rooms were very dark and had no lighting except for one bedside lamp. * Truly scary decor. * There was a wall of doors that led to a community patio. This hotel is being oversold on the star ratings.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Vicki,
Thank you for posting your feeling. We do regret our property did not suit your expectations. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Paris.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here as the last stop on our European Honeymoon. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had an amazing bathroom with towel warmer. There was a closet area with drawers we could put our things in (and hang our nice clothes). The bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft. One interesting touch I noticed at the hotel was that the hallway lights were dimmed and were brightened when you came into the hallway. Very cozy!

The service was good. We had a few requests (bucket of ice, cheese knife, bottle opener) that the staff didn't hesitate to fulfill.

The hotel itself is on a quiet street, but within a very short walking distance to lots of action. Restaurants, shops, sights, etc., were all within an easy walk. There's also subway stops nearby that made getting to/from other areas in the city (and the airport!) quite easy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, especially as the hotel was clean and in a good area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed staying with us and we wish to seing you next year for cotton wedding anniversary !!!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We checked into the hotel on May 12th.....the superior room we had booked was far less than superior....tiny, dark, one little chair, and NO place to put suitcases and barely any room to hang clothes, etc...we told them it was unacceptable to us so they moved us to what they called a Junior Suite.....which I think had been occupied by a staff member who had to be moved out so we could move in...it was OK...comfortable beds, a nice bath, large enough closet, etc.....breakfast room is cute and food was good, but in basement with no windows, etc...lobby is sparcely decorated and not ambient for sitting and relaxing...staff was fairly friendly and premises were clean...the best thing about this hotel is the location...close to beautiful Luxembourgh Gardens, restaurants, etc..unfortunately, despite this, we would not choose to stay there again....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Madam, Thank you for your review. We are sorry despite our team care in upgrading your room you did not fully appreciate your stay with us. As we can remember, we asked you to wait for checking in the Junior suite, not because of a staff member would be staying in (staff is not living in the hotel) but it needed to be vacate and duly ready for accommodating you. By the way, we are pleased you enjoyed the location. Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This 3 star hotel which cost 666 euros for 3 nights for a double room without breakfast is sadly in need of bringing into the 21st century. In the event of a fire it would be near impossible to get out with any speed, the lift can only take 2 persons at a time, the decor is dull and depressing and the lighting is so dim that you have to resort to holding reading material close to the nearest lamp. We have been to Paris several times and accept the French have a way and standards acceptable to them, but this hotel gives the impression of being very tired. The cost of this hotel reflects the cost of dining in the Paris restaurants.

Room Tip: Search for a better hotel, the only plus for this hotel is its location, which suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do regret you did not appreciate it, We are planning works for improving the lighting. Unfortunately according to the 17th century building the lift cannot be extended. Your are right, Paris is not specially a "cheap" city and In spring or falls, rates are not as low as in low season but best deals are always available on our website.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#503 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#315 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain
Aviatic Hotel Saint Germain
#189 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,082 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#455 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#501 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.