We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints following a room change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #543 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“No complaints following a room change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is close to Les Jardins du Luxembourg and is surrounded by great restaurants. You can get to most places by foot and the metro/RER and a number of bus routes are close by. I booked one of the flat access rooms on the courtyard but was dismayed to find it opened directly out onto a table and chairs in the smoking area, meaning that the room smelt of smoke and offered no privacy at all. The staff offered another room on the 4th floor which was fine so we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The bed was comfortable and the room had a large bathroom with a walk in shower. We like to sleep with the window open and there was a fair amount of noise from the street below but know that this is common in most hotels in this area. With the window closed, most of noise was shut out. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your kind review. As the all property is non smoking, the patio is the only place for smokers and we do apologize for the smoke smell in your room. We are glad you find a convenient alternative.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    101
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
34
135
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in this hotel. The rooms were a little small but from what I know all hotel rooms in Paris are and we didn't need the room for other than sleep and a bath really. The bathroom was EXTREMELY clean, and the rest of the room was very equaly attended. The staff were very kind and polite. The only thing we didn't like very much was the in-room orders (some cheese, wine and chocolate cake), they seemed a bit old and were given to us in plastic containers. Other than that, we had a really great stay in this hotel and I would probably stay again if I'm lucky to ever get to go to Paris again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sophia,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are very proud you enjoyed it despite your disapointment on room service. We will contact our partner in charge in order to improve.
We look forward to welcoming you again, Athens is not so far !
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were well looked after by the reception team prior to arrival including helping us book a vet for our dog before we left for the UK. The room was large for Paris at a reasonable price and the location is great. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Steven,
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you and the dog are fine and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I got room nr. next to the reception. From a sound perspective one could just as well be sleeping at the reception. You will have no private live and loud sounds from the first guest get up to the last guest get to the bed.

The door gap to the floor, and the floor is made of stones. So high heals and wheels from bags make a lot of noise in the room.

Yes location is nice. Yes I like the people working at the hotel etc. but without sleep it is not really fun.

Room Tip: avoid room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for posting your review, it is always a big help for us. We are sorry the lobby noise spoiled your nights and regret you did not ask us for an alternative room during your stay, we would have done the best. We will work on a better soundproofing and hope you'll honour us of a new visit in a different room. Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked into Hotel Fontaines Du Luxembourg via their website and based on TripAdvisor reviews......
Pros - good sized room.
Cons - booked a room with a bathroom, but did not specify we wanted a shower - thus our room had no shower (except for the tiny Italian type one at knee height over the bath)
- no fridge in the room - no rooms have a fridge - their site does not tell you this
- the air conditioning was not "on" because it can only be used when the owner officially declares it is hot or cold enough for its use! Paris is having a warm and dry Spring!
- mattress was terrible as were pillows - very uncomfortable.
- maintenance shoddy - bathroom tap wobbling and loose with rotten timber falling in bits to the floor.
- not worth the money we paid - we checked out after 1 night and found much better accommodation through Mr&Mrs Smith.

Room Tip: Don't bother - really! much better accommodation to be had nearby! Don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
We thank you for your review. We do regret that our property, despite we allocated the specific room you asked for, is not what you expected it to be,. You can be sure we do our best to offer on our website accurate informations regarding hotel services. But as in anywhere else, to provide a list of non available services would be a very hard work. We are pleased you enjoyed the nice spring weather even if with 16 degrees celcius everyone still require heating. We hope you enjoyed your parisian stay.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very large rooms for Paris, walking distance to many shops, the park and Notre Dame. Very clean and generally cool place tucked away. Very romantic with large nice bathrooms. We missed the buffet but heard it was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Melonie,
Thank you for sharing your experience in Les Fontaines du Luxembourg. We are pleased you enjoyed it and especially our bathrooms. A special B&B deal is bookable on our website. Buffet breakfast may be delivered in guest rooms too. Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Situated bang in the middle of the Latin Quarter, A 5 min walk from the RER which came straight from the airport, a 10 min wander up to the Pantheon and rue Mouffetard, another 10 min wander down to Saint Germain and on to le Seine, the Brasserie on the corner was quintessentially French and the beef restaurant next door is one of the top 5 places to eat beef in Paris. We couldn't have been better situated if we tried. The decor of the hotel was individual, charming and cool, the staff super helpful and the vertiginous stairs ensured our constant dining out and macaron-sampling was kept off our hips!! Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Thigh burn starts just before the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Caroline,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your feeling about your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed it and it is a great pleasure for us to discover the staircase can also be a fitness room !! An alternative can be in using the hotel lift and running in the lovely Luxembourg garden next door !
Looking forward to welcoming you again !*
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#398 Business Hotel in Paris
#403 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#419 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.