We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From below average to very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #650 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Cala Ratjada, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“From below average to very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came on a family trip of 5 to spend Christmas in Paris, my parents chose the hotel and of course had high expectations of it. Sadly the first night was a complete disaster, we get to the hotel at around midnight and we had 3 rooms booked (one single occupancy), We were on the 4th floor for 2 rooms and 2nd floor for the single occupancy room. Our rooms on the 4th floor were far from what we had expected and what we had seen in the pictures. Paint peeling off the walls, a huge crack on the wall where it appeared rain came through and tiny room enough to just get through from one side to the other of the bed. Bathroom was fine even had a nice shower. Anyways we managed to sleep through the night alright and in the morning went and complained about the rooms to the actual manager. This was sorted out very quickly he apologized and gave us all rooms on the second floor. We went out for the day and in the evening we all went into our new rooms on the second floor and what a difference, i could not say anything bad about our room or my parents room, this is what we had expected. I have to thank once again the manager of the hotel for reacting so quickly to our needs.

After that the stay was very pleasant, the reception and staff very helpful and the location is perfect, just a few minutes from everywhere. They even had a nice gesture for us on our last morning and gave us a free breakfast, the breakfast was very good and pretty much in the same price line as you would find down the street from the hotel. All in all a good experience but would consider contacting the hotel directly for booking as then you can let them know you would like a room on the second floor.

Also if you are the sort of person looking for a modern hotel, this is not for you.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your kind review. We do apologize again regarding your first night with us, and we dully noticed your remarks. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us after the team arranged convenient rooms for your party.
We look forward to welcoming you again and wish you an enjoyable year !
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    89
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
123
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Fountains du Luxembourg on a 6 day business trip. She was along for vacation and we wanted a location that would allow her to walk around the majority of major sights. This location was perfect. I was able to take the underground each morning right down the street on St. Michel. The RER line gets you to and from the convention center area quickly and easily. If you have never been to Paris, learn the underground right away because Taxis are expensive and take forever due to traffic. The room was clean, quiet, and very roomy for European standards. There is a convenience store across the street to buy wine, water, beer, and anything else needed. Be sure to download the tripadvisor app and the Paris map. This allows you to use all the features without cellular connection. It includes restaurant reviews, attractions, and a convenient compass that literally points you in the direction you need to go. Short walk to Notre Damn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Wishes for this new Year !!
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Dharam, Maurad, John-Babtise, Cherif and our FAVORITE Missour Regis were amazing!! We were treated so well (they answered so many questions, provided directions and made us feel confident about exploring Paris our first time) and the room was wonderful. The location made it easy to get anywhere in Paris and the convenience of the little local shops made it fun to explore the neighborhood.

The room was good sized and the bathroom was great. Breakfast was perfect and the coffee was amazing. The place was clean, cool and sharp! Wi-fi was a little spotty, but who wanted to sit around on wi-fi all day anyway. We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Paris. I just love the fireplace in the lobby ;) See you soon guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for commenting your stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed it so much.
The all team wishes you a pleasant end of year and all the best for the coming one !
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had the same experience as in another review: no superior rooms available so we got room 401: tiny, and not superior at all. After complaining we were changed to another room on the ground floor and got a very inappropriate remark about having used the bed on 401 (yes I sat on it). Only staff to blame here: don't put people in fake superior rooms and apology after making a mistake instead of blaming your guests!

The other room (nr. 2) was on the ground floor and had fair dimensions, but there was an annoying septic smell in it, and the bed cover had some dirty spots. The bathroom consisted of a big walk in shower with sink and toilet in 1 open space, showering means everything wet, I did not like the concept very much.

Some positive remarks: hotel is well located in a quiet neighborhood, and has a nice and quiet lobby parlor.

This hotel is probably better then many other 3star hotels in Paris, but I definitly wouldn't book it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time in reviewing your recent stay with us. Unfortunately our superior room category was overbooked for the night you stayed with us and we thought the Classic room 401, the one published on all pictures would be convenient. We do regret the superior room you finally stayed in was not suitable. We do apologize for our mistake and our clumsiness, and we would be pleased in welcoming you again in better conditions.
We do remain available,
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My partner and I spent the weekend here , for our honeymoon after our Civil Partnership , w e had booked a superior room , but on arrival were upgraded, which was a nice surprise.

I loved the 'boutique ' style of the hotel , the room was very large (for a city hotel), the bathroom was wonderful with a bath and a walk in shower , and with very warm and large enough to fit us , bathrobes. The room was spotless,as was the public areas. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room had individual climate control. Our room overlooked the internal courtyard which was very pretty.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. We didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on food.

It was easy to get to from CDG Airport we took the RER to Luxembourg , then it was a 5 min walk .
We walked from the hotel along the Blvd St Michel to the Place St Michel , this took us around 10 mins.

If I wanted to be picky , I would have loved tea/coffee/kettle, in the room , but this was a minor issue ,would I recommend or stay here again ......yes of course !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Daniel,
Thank you for comenting your stay with us. We are very pleased you loved that stay with us and we wish you both a lot of happiness.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's perfect location: an easy walk from the Luxemburg station, a moderate walk to Notre Dame, and among some of the cutest cafes and restaurants in the Latin Quarter. The second best thing about this hotel is the bathroom: there is nothing like taking a steaming hot shower after traveling for the past 10 hrs; this shower was luxurious. The bed and room was generously sized. Internet did not work and the rooms were too dark for my vision. The lobby is basic with a picture of a fireplace instead of a real fireplace (lame). I would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time in commenting your stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed our location, bathroom and bedding. We are planning to improve the room lighting which remains a low point on the property designer's work. We wish to welcome you again !
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is a gem, tucked away near to Luxembourg Garden. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the internal courtyard, very quiet and romantic.

The staff are welcoming, polite and nothing is too much trouble.

The room and reception decor is modern with a twist including a large back lighted painting above the bed. Everywhere is very clean and the bathroom was well appointed.

We like a cup of tea in the morning and the staff provided a teapot, a kettle was available on the ground floor. A recommendation to the hotel management would be to provide tea making facilities in the room to put the icing on the cake.

The internet can be slow at times but at the end of the day it is free.

There is a small supermarket across the road and a bakery around the corner.

Location is near to the metro, RER, a multitude of local and Japanese restaurants, shops on the boulevard, Pantheon and the Sorbonne. 10 mins walk to Île de la Cité and Notre Dame.

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and fully recommend it to couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor overlooking the internal courtyard, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for comenting your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your hotel choice and we keep in mind your amanitie improvment suggestion. The all team will be pleased in welcoming you again !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#426 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.