We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #547 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very interesting hotel. The decor is rather peculiar. Staff is super attentive. They made sure it was all perfect.
.
Room is very conformable with a beautiful nice bed. Hotel is ok, staff make it really good.

THANKS GUYS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time in comenting your stay with us and for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
33
130
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked a superior room for our two night stay in Paris based on the good reviews we had read. When we arrived we were welcomed by the hotel staff and given the key to our room and the wifi code. We had read in a couple of reviews that some of the rooms facing the main room could be noisy so we requested a quieter room and were given a lovely room on the second floor overlooking the hotels courtyard. The room was spacious, far bigger than expected, with air con and a good sized bathroom with a large shower. The hotel offer room service which we didn't use as we bought our drinks from the local store but when we asked for glasses and some ice they were more than happy to oblige and showed us to the ice machine where we were told we could help ourselves! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we found the location so central it was only a short walk to the numerous cafes and stalls occupying the streets surrounding the hotel.

We were pleased at how central this hotel was, nothing was far away. Just a short walk to Luxembourg Gardens and Notre Dame and very close to the metro if you don't fancy a stroll along the Seine to other popular attractions such as the Lourve, Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe.

Would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely consider another stay in the future!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for the kind report regarding your stay stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed staying at Les Fontaines du Luxembourg and we look forward to welcoming you once more.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

As a person with a Disability, it is always a stressful decision booking a hotel not always knowing if the facilities described and photographed are the real facilities one will find on site.
Well, Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg delivered the goods!

Firstly they accommodated us with a change of date due to an issue with my airline booking. This meant that I got to test both adapted rooms, room 001 and room 002 off the cosy quartyard where we could enjoy our breakfast as well.
I was happy with the height of the bed, the position of the grab rails next to the toilet and the access under the handwash basin.My only criticism is with the shower seat. Here I found the angle too acute and upright for me. I fortunately had a suction grab rail with me which I used for extra security when using the shower seat. It was also awkward to gain access to the mixer controls behind the shower seat. This is where I felt insecure using the shower seat.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Jean-Baptiste to allow us to change our dates. Thank you!

We found the location to be user friendly and safe for two ladies pushing around Paris, returning to the hotel late at night!
The accessible entrance had a sliding door and the access to the lobby had a gradual slope. The guest bathroom in the lobby is also user friendly.
All in all, I would advise anyone with special needs to book at the Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg.
I look forward to a return trip oneday!

Room Tip: Both adapted rooms are well suited to a Paraplegic travelling alone or with a friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time reviewing your stay with us. We are specially glad you enjoyed it as the room equipment is convenient for you. We hope to welcoming you again !
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic location walking distance to metro and PER railway lines. The location is in a quiet street surrounded by fashionable restaurants and St Germain main district is 3 min walk down the road. Close to gorgeous shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel was considerably roomy compared to what I have stayed in in the past. The bathroom even had a bath the overall design of the hotel is beautifully boutique..no complaints there at all.

The service at the front desk was very helpful and charming. Thank you Jean Baptiste.
Definitely reccommend this hotel for location and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed it and we will be pleased in welcoming you again !!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Deciding to stay at the Fontaines du Luxembourg was one of the best decisions we took. This three star hotel has the friendliest staff who were always ready to help, the best location - since it's a walking distance to all the hippest restaurants in Paris and is close to the metro stations of Luxembourg and l'odeon. The rooms are cozy and the bathrooms are spacious and most importantly clean. We would definitely stay at this hotel in our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time in comenting your stay with us. We are very glad you spent good time at Les Fontaines du Luxembourg and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
With very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location is almost perfect, walking distance to train station (RER B to Airport) is 400 m. Metro station is little further away, but not that much.

There was free internet, but wlan at 4th floor wasn't working and we had to use lobby a lot (where the internet was working, but not all the time). Air conditioning at our room was noisy so we had to turn it off for night, nevertheless it was efficient enough to cool our beverages in less than one hour. Safe was small, only documents were kept there, no room for laptop or DSLR. There were soundproofing, but for windows and doors there was none. We heard when somebody was in hallway but traffic was not problem for 4th floor.

Elevator was small, only 2 person can fit in without luggages and with 2 suitcase only one person.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter (traffic), but lower the internet works better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time in comenting your stay with us. We are glad you appreciated it and we will check the internet network on the 4th floor.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is small, but has everything you need when you are on a long-weekend in Paris. It has great location. There are a few good restaurants literally around the corner from the place. The stuff was very helpfull. The room we had was clean and quiet.
The only thing we wouldn't recommend is the breakfast where the selection was quite poor and the price was 14 euro per person. 25 metres down the street (on the Place de la Sorbonne) one gets much better breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontaineslux, Directeur général at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time in writing a review and for your kind coments.
You can be sure we will do our best for a breakfast improvment.
We will be very pleased in welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#371 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#393 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.