We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 3-star experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Timhotel Gare Du Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Timhotel Gare Du Nord to your Saves list
Timhotel Gare Du Nord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France (Entrepôt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,509 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Fife
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 3-star experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only good things I can say about this hotel are that it is within easy walking distance of the Gare du Nord and the front desk staff were friendly. It was not easy to find because it was swathed in scaffolding and plastic sheeting. However as no work seemed to be taking place we were not disturbed. We had room 310 which is at the very end of the wing. The shape of the building means that this room (and presumably room 10 on each floor), which is small to start with, is not square but has an angled wall which severely curtails the floor area. The external wall of the room is only the width of the single window. The corner of the end of the bed was only three inches from the wall. The TV was fixed to the wall above this point, so that squeezing round the end of the bed meant moving sideways while bending forward so as not to brain yourself.
The tiny shower room had a permanent nasty drain-type smell. The shower itself had a three leaf sliding door of which one leaf was entirely missing, meaning that it was impossible to close the shower. Only the fact that the water pressure in the shower was low prevented the shower room floor from being flooded. The ventilator fan didn't appear to work.
There was no wardrobe, only hanging space, and the the only drawer was a very shallow one under the writing table
The complimentary coffee machine in the foyer was out of water the first time we used it, and clogged with used coffee grounds the second time. We asked for milk for the coffee, to be told they did not provide it. The lift was out of order on the last evening of our stay. Breakfast was an extra 13 euros so we preferred to take petit dejeuner at one of the many establishments near the station.
How this hotel merits three stars is beyond comprehension.

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending in 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    91
    113
    70
    75
See reviews for
49
138
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location is convenient for Gare Du Nord - within a few minutes walk. Although the hotel faces the railway, it is not too noisy. Lift works fine. The staff at receptions are very nice, friendly and try to be helpful. The room was very clean.

Room quite small which is OK for the price you pay. The bathroom is really tiny. The shower cabin is so small that one can hardly get into it. The screen of the cabin in our room was broken - the sections of the screen were not sliding very well and one of the sections was broken. After I complained about it on the very first day to the reception, the hotel staff just removed the broken section leaving a hole in the screen which was not very good for taking a shower.

Although the hotel proudly announces that they offer WiFi everywhere in the hotel there was in fact no WiFi in our room on the 5th floor. The staff promised to look into it but with no luck, therefore I had to go downstairs to the lounge to use WiFi. WiFi kept disconnecting every few minutes, asking for re-authentication. It is especially annoying since every time you have to type your email address. Looks like requesting email is typical for many French WiFis - I wonder why, it is so stupid and useless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

arrived here yday for my gf 21st bday, and the hotel was under renovation not stated when booked, the location was in a rough area and a good 45 min walk from station, the room was very small and dirty and cold, and the view from our room of scaffolding was not pleasant at all, then could here people arguing next door as doors were paper thin. all so the door wouldn't even lock properly and the receptionist was okay too start of with but then became very rude. Never stay here. Darren.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just come back from a one night stay at the Timhotel Gare Du Nord. We found it was good value for money, only a 7 minute walk to Gare Du Nord station (ideal if you are arriving by eurostar) Unlike many people in Paris who either wouldnt or couldnt speak English we found the reception staff very helpful. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the metro station aswell. The room was small, but adequate enough for 2 people, bathroom on the other hand was tiny,but we dont know how other paris hotel bathrooms are as it was out first visit to Paris. The room however was very clean, with a very comfortable bed and extra pillows if needed. Breakfast... 13 euros and in our opinion not worth it... toast, baguettes, jam, tea coffee was all that was available during our stay. Overall happy with the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel is currently being renovated, we stayed in room 201 and were not affected by any noise from ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really enjoyed the night I spent at this hotel. I have stayed in 6 hotels that are all close to Gare de Nord and this hotel is by far the best. The front desk staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Complimentary coffee greets you upon arrival. The rooms are very clean and the bathroom - although tiny (especially the shower) was immaculately clean. The only negative is that the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from Gare de Nord train station, with no Metro station closer. Great hotel, I'd definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

despite the language barrier, we had a really good stay. worth what we had paid for. staffs were helpful and accommodating. rooms were clean and spacious. view was above average. abit noisy but manageable. will definitely return to this hotel if ever i manage to get to Paris again. =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a difficult hotel to rate. Judging by earlier reviews there can be a proble with noise. The room was much cheaper than other rooms I checked (just over EUR 60 per night) and whilst not opposite the Gare du Nord only a five minute walk away but get a map beforehand. The hotel is being repainted. The receptionist was polite and the room itself small (the bathroom tiny) but perfectly adequate and very clean the only problem being and almost total lack of storage space. Typical for a budget hotel room in the Paris area in other words.

My room overlooked the courtyard. The room didn't have the best sound installation but I think thank the room next to me was a single room whose occupant didn't have the TV on loud. The first four nights (Sun - Thu) were fine but I was woken up in the early hours of Sat morning with people talking in the courtyard. Luckily I got back to sleep.

My advise to the hotel management would be to fit double glazing and air conditioning to reduce noise. If this means increasing the room price by 5 - 10 Euros per night so be it. I would not like to sleep in the room in the summer when you need the window open. Also ask the receptionist to ask people to be quiet in the courtyard at night. I would then unquestionably award the hotel four stars. As it is I would recommend the hotel during winter months (certainly midweek) but not in the summer if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timhotel Gare Du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Gare Du Nord

Address: 10, rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,509 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Gare Du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est; this hotel has an internal garden and a bi-lingual staff; near museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Timhotel Gare Du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Hotel Paris
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timhotel Gare Du Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.