We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Etoile Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Etoile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

stayed for Paris marathon , great location , staff very helpful , our room was a bit on the small side but our friends had a room with a balcony an a view of the Arc De Triomphe so close to Metro so getting around is a snap

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    264
    55
    14
    12
See reviews for
200
517
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love this place. really great location right by the Arc de triomphe which you can just see from some of the rooms. the decor is very french and the staff look after you well. ther is an underground carpark nearby and the metro isn't far off. I have recommended this place to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience on TripAdvisor following your first visit to the Hotel Splendid Etoile! We thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding the room product and our service.

That you found all the staff with whom you came in contact exceptionally friendly, helpful, and always professional, was the best compliment for all the team. Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

All the Hotel staff join me in the hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future!

Yours Sincerely,

Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had a business trip in a paris during the marathon and our usual hotel was booked, was lucky to get the last room in the hotel on the 6th floor. Totally impressed by the staff, the room (6th floor street side), the view and the breakfast. With easy walking distance to the Arc de Triumph, the Trocadero, and the Champs deLyse, and a metro directly across from the hotel, access to Paris was easy. Would recommend and go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Splendid etoile for the paris marathon. It was the perfect location for the marathon, walking distance to start and finish.
We have a small view of the arc d'triumphe. But also quiet.
The Staff were amazing! Especially Farooq at reception.
The breakfast was varied and abundant.
A tranquil haven from the busy streets below.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Once in a life-time type stuff here, people. . . Over-nighted with my wife; as other reviewers I see here did: -to celebrate our wedding anniversary, in this case our 5th. The attached pictures are from just inside our 4th floor rooms modest 1.5m(4-5ft) balcony; but WHAT A VIEW. My advice; if the balcony is small, don't sit: stand! Which is what I did for over a half an hour last Saturday evening (29th Mar.), wine glass in hand, just watching the traffic winding its river of light about the base of the Arc'dTriomphe. The rooms themselves were large, plush and very well equipped. It's well worth it to request one of the limited number of 'Privilege Rooms' each with its own spectacular view of the Arc. Reader BE SO ADVISED: under my ratings below I rated 'Sleep Quality' as average; I ONLY DID THIS because who wastes time at a romantic location such as the Splendid-Etoile with sleeping?!!! Sleep at home; -sleep after you're dead!
-No really I jest! As I said before the room was most plush, very roomy and comfortable and the bed left me reasonably well rested after a late Parisienne night which left only limited time for such things as sleep!
I could go on about the room, but you'd spend all your time wherever you are reading my review and not getting there to the Hotel Splendid Etoile, so I'll proceed. Access to the Splendid was quite easy really, taking approximately <1/2 hour from Orly (ORY), to which we flew direct from Southampton, UK and only costing some €35 or so.
Moving along to the Service: rigidly formal yet quick and responsive; top marks! Finally the location of the hotel itself makes it within <2 miles to 80% of all the central Paris attractions! Palais de Shalliot and the Trocadero Gardens, the Northern gateway to the pont D'lena and the Eiffel tower was but a 15 minute stroll along Ave. Kleiber.
For a great Seine River tour of Paris, be sure to add several tickets for the Bateaux-Mouches tour which leaves from the Port de la Conference.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms 3rd, 4th & 5th floors have best views of the Arc! And the complimentary wine lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughbrough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location, the balcony in our room was right in front of the arc de triumph, had assumed the photos on the website were of the best room they had , as is usually the case . However we had a upgraded room and it was exactly like the photos and didn't disappoint us. The bathroom fittings, robes etc were all of a really high standard, bed comfy and staff helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room with the view of arc de triumph if you can , is worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent one night here as part of a Travelzoo promotion which included a one-hour Seine Bateau Mouche cruise. Super! The hotel is so well placed for all arrivals - the Airport bus stops across the road; there is a Metro Station immediately outside; and if you arrive by car (as we did) on a Saturday afternoon, parking is free until Monday morning. The hotel itself was extremely welcoming and well informed. Lovely room (104) with view to the Arc de Triomphe from the small balcony. Excellent breakfast. We were recommended a nearby brasserie for dinner, but in retrospect should have eaten at the hotel. We should like to return any time we are back in Paris.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#74 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#102 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Etoile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.