We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for the cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Etoile Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Etoile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not great for the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I get what I'm paying for; the location in relation to the metro and main attractions BUT this shouldn't be the only focus of the pricing. Our room was very dated, rather small and because we were on the sixth floor we had a slanted wall because of the roof. This for any tall person will become annoying when manourvring around the room believe me. The room was clean and the house keeping service was very effecient checking the rooms a few times a day but extremely cramped for a nearly £400 a night room. It is not somewhere I'd stay again but I did appreciate the excellent staff on the front desk who were always very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    257
    53
    12
    12
See reviews for
194
498
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked this hotel for my daughter and I to spend three nights in Paris - and it was my daughter's choice after much searching the Tripadvisor website for various hotel reviews! It did not disappoint. Our suite overlooked the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. The sitting room was delightful and our bedroom too. Very cosy, not noisy at all and so close to everything too. The buffet breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, a good choice of cereals, breads and a cooked selection too! The staff were so friendly and helpful. This hotel was such a find - I would recommend it to anyone and would definitely go back again. It made our trip very special.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor - no noise at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a delightful hotel this is. The rooms are beautiful. There are different themes for different rooms. My daughters' room is small but modern and cosy. Mine is classic and my son, who shares a room with us, gets to have his own 'room' with a comfortable double sofa bed. The Metro Station is just outside the hotel. Cafes and restuarants opposite. Champs-Elysees about 5 minutes walk away with underpass, the view of theTriumphe Arc from the hotel window.

The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fantastic. Free wifi in room.

What is there not to like about Splendid Etoile?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

For my honeymoon to Paris, I wanted to stay in a luxury hotel without paying 500+ euros/night. Splendid Etoile Hotel was the perfect choice and at around 300-400 euros per night. The location is just outside the luxurious 8th arrondissement and just a block away from the arc de triomphe. There is also a metro stop just outside the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, as well as the rooms. Our room had a balcony not only in the bedroom, but also in the bathroom and we had a view of the arc de triomphe (as requested when I booked the room). The walls of the room were covered in beautiful fabric and there was a lovely chandelier above the bed. The bathroom is equally as luxurious as the bedroom. If you are traveling to Paris, and have a little extra room in your budget to stay a few nights here I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights late November in a standard room. We were in room 401 and had a view of another buliding, however my parents in the room above (501) had a view of the Eiffel tower. Excellent location right next to the Arc de Triomphe! Very quiet hotel and area. Lots of cafes/restaurants within walking distance, including a couple of supermarkets. Metro station right opposite the hotel. Room was spacious, very warm, and clean- we were provided with towels, dressing gowns, slippers, all toiletries, and even shoe polish in the room. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and they even have a printer you can use which we used to print tickets out for the sights. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, even the fussiest eaters would find something! The staff were very friendly, all of them spoke English, and the concierge was extremely helpful each time we saw him. Would definitley stay again! My only negatives: the only English channels on the TV were CNN news and BBC world news; no tea/coffee tray in the rooms; the lift can only hold 3 people.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and i stayed here with her 7 year old for our honeymoon. Firstly the location of the hotel is ideal for sightseeing, only 100 yards from the arc de triomphe, 2 minute walk to the champs elysee and only a short taxi ride to any of the other great attractions Paris has to offer. If you use the metro that is only yards from the hotel too. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and spoke very good English (which helped as my French is terrible), the barman at the hotel was brilliant, when we went for a drink he was showing our daughter magic tricks and puzzles, which we all found very entertaining as you don't get that kind of service in England. The reception staff were always very welcoming, especially to our daughter. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious and very clean, the maids cleaned it every day even twice on one occasion. Breakfast was a buffet style, very nicely laid out and very nice (don't expect a full English). Straight across the road from the hotel is a restaurant, the le vin coeur. The food was top class and very reasonably priced, again all the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. So over all this hotel ticks all the boxes and we will 100% be returning to the splendid etoile hotel. So anyone readying this and having any doubts about this hotel, DON'T! you will love it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the arc de triomphe, you may have to lean out of the window to see it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spent last weekend in Paris and booked two nights in this hotel. Location was just about perfect; in sight of the Arc de Triomphe with easy access to the Champs-Élysées and close to the Metro. Rooms were very quiet with excellent double glazing. Staff were very helpful and suggested excellent restaurants for both nights. Breakfast was very good and available until 12:00. Finally, the hotel is opposite the bus stop for the Air France coach to the airports.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#47 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#52 Family Hotel in Paris
#86 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Etoile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.