We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Save Saved
You added Splendid Etoile Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Providence, RI USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Time in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this hotel on line and was hesitant to book, but once we arrived all of our hesitation was for naught. We could NOT have found a better hotel in all of Paris; great location, we had two balconies with a view of the Arc which was wonderful and the room was a Superior which was very roomy with lots of closet space. And I cannot say enough about the very helpful staff; all of which were very friendly and top notch; especially Farooq and Yasser. If I ever get back to Paris, I will certainly stay there again.

Judy

Room Tip: Reserve the Superior Room with twin beds; lots of room to move around and great view of the Arc. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    236
    49
    12
    12
See reviews for
183
463
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Courteous and helpful staff (is Paris getting better at customer care).
Well decorated, formal and splendid location in an albeit pretty sterile arrondissement
Good sized "superior" rooms at a price just on the acceptable side of outrageous!.
Breakfast ok+ Restaurant spoken highly of but was a bit pricy for a poor Englishman. Rather seek out the 'Graindorge' restaurant nearby for an outstanding taste of the north of France.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice small hotel one block from the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs Eltsees. Although the room was small and we did not have a view, the hotel and the staff were great and even provided gluten free bread for my girl friend at the complimentary breakfast. The building is almost 200 hundred years old, so most of the rooms are small and the elevator only hold two people at a time, but the place has been brought up to modern standards. More like staying in a B&B rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed there the last week in September for 4 nights. Everything was great. Nice room with 2 twin beds. Could see the Arc deTriomphe looking from the window. Great location. Plenty of restaurants to walk to. Subway station right from the front of the hotel. Easy access. Nice breakfast which was included in our price. Would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel, we upgraded the room and the room was large. Everyone was so nice and the location cannot be beat. The subway entrance/exit is right across the street. Easy access to everywhere. I would stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Blanca, Yaiza, Lanzarote
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My darling wife took us to Paris for 5 days for an extended birthday. We had stayed at the Splendid Etoile before so we knew to ask for a corner room on a high floor, so we had a superior double with two sets of french doors and a long balcony overlooking the Arc de Triomphe. The rooms had obviously been refurbished to a high standard recently and were superb, but the outlook combined with the convenience of being at the top of the Champs-Elysees was superb.
The staff were extremely helpful and for example when asked which terminal our flight would leave from, produced their manual with every detail. They coped with producing an extremely
chocolately cake and we were truly sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking the Arc de Triomphe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a first trip to Paris for myself and daughter, and this hotel did not disappoint! Farook, the concierge, was always on hand with helpful advice to get us around Paris, nothing was too much trouble by him or any of the staff. The hotel was so clean, and the view from the balcony was stunning, breakfast was included and all that you could want, self service and return as often as you wanted. We had a wonderful three day stay and will definately be back, thank you to all who made our first trip to Paris such a memorable one!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#41 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#54 Family Hotel in Paris
#80 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Etoile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.