We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step out on your balcony and see the arc - what could be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Etoile Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Etoile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Black Country
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Step out on your balcony and see the arc - what could be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

In terms of location you could not get a better hotel. Your balcony looks directly onto the arc ! Metro and tour bus on your doorstep. However, this fantastic site means you are paying a premium to stay in a prized location. That said it is well worth it, surrounded by fantastic restaurants in the top 50 of all 7000 in Paris. Rooms very spacious for eurpoean standards. We had a refurbished room, but must admit would have preferred one of the older rooms. Just one thing stops this being an excellent review. We arranged hotel trafser from gard de nord at 80E, but on way back asked them to arrange a return transfer. They simply orderd us a taxi which charged us less than 20E. We don't mind paying a premium but this felt like a rip off, overall leaving a somewhat bad taste to an overall fantastic experience

Room Tip: All rooms face arc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    256
    53
    12
    12
See reviews for
194
497
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After reading reviews about this hotel I really wasn't sure what to expect, I was already nervous about the concierge before landing in Paris.. As it happens I fell inlove the second I walked through the door.. It's a gorgeous little boutique hotel.. Very French vintage, quirky and fabulous. Every single member of staff we came across could not of done enough for us, our room was cleaned daily, twice sometimes. As a laid back Geordie I guess we are easily pleased but I can honestly not recommend this place enough. The concierge were fabulous, they booked us a show, a meal, give great recommendations, the location amazing and Overall just everything I hoped it would be and more.. We will 110% be back.. Home from home as they say :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Propriétaire at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Natalie and Tony,

We are really pleased that you had great time at the Splendid Etoile. We are doing our best to improve our services and to give our guests the best experience they could have.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of August for our first visit to Paris. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing as well as picking up the metro. The room was a good size in comparison to a typical European room. The facilities and service were top notch. They also had a pretty good breakfast. Great stay overall!

I would highly recommend eating at Le Hide as well. It is about a 5 minute walk and the food is great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great hotel. Great location. Convenient to Metro, Air France airport bus and Champs Elysees. The large room was beautiful, tastefully decorated and provided a perfect view of the Arc de Triomphe. Fabulous. We will remember our stay with affection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Arc de Triomphe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel during Christmas in 2011 with my wife and our 6-year old kid. I chose this hotel because of its location. In brief I can recommend this hotel for couples, small families, and short time sightseeing trips. Definitely don't recommend it for those with high expectations for hotel facilities and amenities. This hotel is designed for sleeping and that's it.

To get to the hotel you have several options. The taxi from CDG is EUR 50. Or you can take the airport shuttle bus (EUR 25) because the end station is right opposite the hotel. Don't waste your time on metro or other public transportation, They are much more compicated and not necessaryly cheaper.

The hotel is some 100 meters from the Arc de Triomph, in a typical uptown neighbourhood of Paris. The lobby is small and the corridors are very thin and this hotel has the tiniest lift I have ever seen.Oversized luggages hardly fit in.

The staff was very helpful. We asked for dinner places and they recommended a nearby French fine dining place where I ate the best pheasant ever. (its two blocks from the hotel). On Christmas night we used the christmas tree in the lobby to give the presents to our son. The staff helped us make this a very special night for the kid.

The rooms are spacious in European standards. We were three in a double room and had enough space. The heating worked perfectly. The room and the bathroom were clean and tidy and equipped with all necessary instruments.

The price of the hotel is relatively high, you can find cheaper hotels even in this neighbourhood. The breakfast comes extra, but we did not use it. There are good croissant and baguette eating places nearby. It's not worth paying the extra twenty something euro per head in the restaurant. Neither we saw any additional amenities like fittness room, etc. So this hotel is really just for sleeping.

What makes this hotel the right choice is its location and the access to public transportation. If you travel to Paris for the first time, buy a public transport map, a day pass (Carte Mobilis) and you get to anywhere very very comfortably.

One of the main metro stations is right in front of the hotel entrance where 3 main lines meet. You can go to the Louvres, Notre-Dame, Moulin Rouge, La Défense or Montemartre right from your door. The Champs Elysée is in walking distance.

But, the real discovery was the bus route map. Going underground is not so amusing and the official tourist buses cost 25-40 euro, so we decided to take the public buses. Paris is famous for the high quality of its public transport system and it deserves the praise when you try the buses. The buses are clean and not crowded at all compared to the metro. Within a 100 m circle of the hotel you can find bus stops from where you can go on fantastic sightseeing tours. So from day 2 we used only these buses. They take you to all famous places directly including the Eiffel tower. So get a bus map and discover. You will save lots of money while enjoy the views of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on Arc de Triomph
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've been staying on and off for 10 years at various Paris hotels, and always found the Splendid a great home away from home. Obviously, your are right in the centre of the tourist areas, but also for work, it is easy to find a taxi from the taxi rank on the same street, or one street away is the airport bus. Around the corner of the Ave des Ternes is the Monoprix supermarket for all your requirements. You can also easily access the metro and the RER railway to get anywhere in town quickly. Rooms are comprable with any Paris hotel. Best tip in this hotel is not to get a room adjacent to the lifts - they can be a bit noisy, and if you are a light sleeper you may regret that.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in. I booked a room for one night for $392 for its location and the nice pictures they have on their website. When I got there, I was given a room that is worse than an attic! very small, 2 steps at the door to get to the bed and then 2 steps to get to the desk and 1 window facing a wall. I wouldn’t put my dog there. When I went down to complain, the rude receptionist said that the manager has left and if I want to complain, here’s the computer in the lobby to do so! I had nowhere to go that night and had to stay. They have these rooms on every story at that hotel so be aware before you book. Motel 6 would have been much better than this one. Although, the soap & shampoo were good.

Room Tip: don't even bother about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Propriétaire at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry that you did not like the Hotel Splendid Etoile.
Each Standard room is at least 20m², which is higher than the average room size of same range hotels in the area. If you require more space, we offer our guests larger rooms: Superior rooms, Privilege rooms, Junior Suites or Suites that have either a Street view, or a view on the Arc de Triomphe.
We continually do some refurnishment, as for the public areas and also for several rooms which have been renovated in a new style and we continue our works to refurnish most of them. The oldest rooms are in a Louis XV style while the category of "Privilege room" are in a modern style.
We are doing our best to offer a quality service and we thank you for your comment to which we pay a special attention.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Best regards,

Mr Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 Ave Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#47 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#80 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Etoile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.