We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Friendly Hotel in the Sixth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sevres Saint Germain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sevres Saint Germain Hotel to your Saves list
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Rue Saint-Placide, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy Friendly Hotel in the Sixth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I visit Paris regularly and keep coming back to this cozy hotel in the best arrondissement for shopping -- two minutes from the incredible department store Bon Marche -- and strolling and the Musee Dorsay. It also is on Line 4 of the Paris Metro which zips you easily all over the city. The hotel has been recently renovated and has become my home away from home in the city of LIght. Ask for a room at the back to minimize street noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cécile Marie I, Directeur général at Sevres Saint Germain Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderfull review, I'm really glad that this hotel is become your Parisian home !! See you with real pleasure a next time. Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
105
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed 3 times so far at this hotel. The reason: my husband and I combined must have been to Paris about 100 times in the past 20 years. We have stayed in all sorts of all hotels from the highest category where you pay 600 € a night to the lower 3 star for 100€. In the end, we always return here because although it is about 200€, it is clean, rooms are bigger than your average Paris pokey place and the location cannot be beaten if you love St Germain.
It has a great local, the Nemrod , on the corner. The whole area feels a bit less touristy with posh Parisians going about their business. Also there is a Velib stand right in front. Nothing better than grabbing a bike early in the morning,cycle along the Seine and down the Champs Élysées!

I find Paris such a minefield as far as hotels go but here,whilst it is not top luxury,it delivers what I look for and I don't feel cheated out of my money.

Room Tip: Renovated room with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cécile Marie I, Directeur général at Sevres Saint Germain Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for this recommendation! We are happy you enjoyed each time your stay... See you soon. Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was a solo traveler and found this hotel very quaint and inviting. The hotel itself felt like a miniature with the rooms, elevators, hallways small but comfortable. The continental breakfast was good, I was glad not to have to pay for breakfast. The room I had overlooked the street and had a very Paris flavor. The neighborhood is very safe and warm, away from the beaten path of locals. I found a deal online and for the price I paid it was definitely worth the stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel and had a brilliant time. Although the room was small, we still had enough room to get ready. We used the safe provided in the room everyday which was extremely helpful! The staff were extremely helpful, givign us information about the metro, and attractions such as a river cruise. The only negative thing would be that the breakfast was not brilliant. We had the same thing everyday, it lacked variety. The hotel said there was a variety of cheeses but there was only one, and there was no hot food.
Check out was at 12 and our train wasnt until 9pm but the hotel allowed up to leave our bags there while we used up our last day in Paris, and we were even able to come back to the hotel early and chill out on the sofa in the reception area. The hotel is close to the metro stations which is a very easy transport system to understand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After 2-1/2 weeks in France which included several "budget" hotels, we decided to pay more for a luxurious final stay in Paris. While the Sevres Saint Germain was certainly adequate, it did not justify the extra cost.

On the plus side, the staff was helpful and the bath towels were huge! The shower was also enclosed, so water didn't splash all over the bathroom floor like at the places that only had a small "shield" mounted next to the showerhead. On the downside, the bed wasn't very comfortable--we both woke up with sore backs, which hadn't happened at any other hotel--and the walls are not well-insulated against sound. We were both woken at odd hours by travelers moving around (packing, unpacking, using the wc) in their own rooms. There is a lift, though (as with several hotels in France) it's only big enough for one person with luggage at a time. As mentioned above, the staff was helpful, loaning us a plug adaptor so we could re-charge our camera batteries and giving us a cup of ice when we requested some.

What you're really paying for, I believe, is location. This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood (except for the early-morning garbage collectors) and it's safe--we were able to walk back from the Metro station after midnight with no worries.

Finally, we did NOT eat breakfast here due to the insulting overpriced cost. Luckily we had already stayed in ten other hotels on this extended trip, so we KNEW that every other place charged between 9 and 10 Euros for breakfast. For the EXACT same selection (we checked the hotel menu), Sevres Saint Germain wanted 15 Euros each! We got croissants at the patisserie next door and put those 30 Euros towards a nice dinner instead.:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Really bad taste left in mouth after paying a hefty bill for a booking for five people for three nights the owner took an unauthorised payment for a half a bottle of champagne that
I disputed. I received an pleasant email accusing me of trying to cheat them. For the sake of this they good will and our future business. Wireless was in and out. Pleasant enough hotel but breakfast pretty average and price high. Lovely staff but the lack of goodwill from the owner means I wont recommend it. It was pretty empty so not sure how well it is doing anyway. Book elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American living in Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

When we checked in we were given room 41. As we approached the room the cleaning woman rushed out. When we walked in the whole room reeked of formaldehyde (e.g., it was very recently painted). The room wasn't large but was big enough, but the room had been cleaned in a rush. There were still hairs and hairballs in the bathroom and floor. The bathroom was a little shoddy given the price of the hotel, and there was only a stall shower, no bathtub. The street faced the street, and was quite noisy with the window opened. We went back downstairs and complained about the paint stench. The woman beamed and said "Yes, it's one our most recently renovated rooms." I asked if they had any rooms available with a bathtub, and she said they had one available but we'd have to pay 20 euros more a night.

We took a look and the room (room 2 on the ground floor) was much nicer. It was bigger and much quieter (faced the inner courtyard instead of the street). It had a mini-fridge, a proper desk, a bigger bed, and the bathroom was significantly nicer. We decided to take it, even though it ended up being 180 euros a night.

Pros:
* Nice big bed (actually two beds pushed together, but without a noticeable crack in the middle). I like firm mattresses and my husband likes softer mattresses, but both of us really liked the mattress and comforter on this bed.
* Newly renovated bathroom with magnifying mirror and hairdryer. The bathtub also had a shower fixture in it.
* Air conditioning. It was pretty cold when we were there in June (50-75 degrees), so I can't say how well it would work on a hot summer day, but the temperature was pleasant when we were there.
* Spatious.
* Mini fridge. Although the fridge was in a wooden box and so it couldn't cool that well. It kept our water cold enough though.
* Free wireless internet, that let you login once and stay logged in the entire visit.
* Friendly staff who spoke English well.
* Elevator for the upper floors.
* Reasonable location. Only two blocks from the nearest metro station. Pretty centrally located.

Cons:
* Expensive.
* Wireless was pretty weak. Went in and out continually, even in our room on the ground floor right near the lobby.
* Bathtub is extremely narrow. I fit in it but my husband's shoulders were way too wide. He wouldn't have been able to lay down in the tub.

I would consider booking this hotel again if it were significantly cheaper, and if we could be sure to avoid the stinky newly painted room.

Room Tip: Room 2 is much nicer than room 41.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sevres Saint Germain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevres Saint Germain Hotel

Address: 22 Rue Saint-Placide, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#217 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#369 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevres Saint Germain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel combines history and modernity in an atmosphere of discretion and comfort. Our establishment offers peaceful and pleasant rooms, equipped with a minibar, satellite television and en-suite bathrooms. A sophisticated display of beige, cream and pastel blue colors, wrought-iron staircases, canopy beds, a decor worthy of the most beautiful thoughts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Sevres Saint Germain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevres Saint Germain Paris
Hotel Sevres Saint Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevres Saint Germain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.