We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, welcoming and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Nations St-Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Nations St-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 rue Monge, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #431 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple, welcoming and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My Mum and I needed a base for a sightseeing weekend in Paris, only for one night so we wouldn’t be in the hotel much.
Great location - 10/15min walk to Notre Dame, less the 5 mins to the Pantheon. There is a lovely little street near the hotel with plenty of lovely places to eat and quite reasonably priced too. There is a little supermarket around the corner from the hotel.
The rooms are a modest size but not too small, the bathroom was clean and neat, the shower cubicle was tiny but overall a really nice room. A lovely touch was wine glasses in the room instead of having to drink out of beakers!
Rooms were quiet and had own thermostats.
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful if they tried.
A great hotel in a great location.

The staff couldnt have been more helpful if they tried.
A great hotel in a great location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    210
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
47
198
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A perfectly ok base to explore Paris - we walked to the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay. The room was dominated by the twin beds - little space for working. The bathroom was adequate but there was no heating. Breakfast was an additional cost, we shopped at the local Carrefour instead. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. The room was clean and well-presented.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbühel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

perfect location, close to the Notre dame, even in walking distance...nice restaurants on backside of hotel, hotel location on main road closed to 2 subwaystops, perfect for visiting paris.
Breakfast for paris nice and friendly stuff, rooms really small, but thats the way in Paris. all in all for a 3 star hotel in paris really good, small but nice!

Room Tip: take rooms in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early October 2012. It was my second time in Paris on the same trip, and it was just as wonderful as the first time.

This is a nice little hotel. Probably the smallest shower I had in my whole trip of Europe, but not a problem. Everything was clean and all the staff were very helpful. I loved how our little room was decorated, and the large windows that opened to overlook the street below were magical. The street was moderately busy, so there was always traffic noise, but I didn't find it bad. We never had the breakfast at the hotel since there was a MARVELOUS little cafe called Le Petit Cardinal just down the street at the Cardinal Lemoine metro stop. Also, the internet wasn't the best, I felt like I was logging in all the time. Still, these are really little things compared to experience I had.

I would recommend this hotel to friends who were looking for a moderately priced, clean, well-located hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Design Nations St Germain is very close to the side exit of Place Monge Metro. It is close to Notre Dame and many good restaurants around the area. FREE wifi is available through Orange and is wholly adequate. Easily accessed by phone or tablet.

Room safe available with a ?30 deposit. The safe is big enough to keep a tablet or net book.
Bathtub shower is adequate but won't fit people who are over 6ft. The basin has limited space so if you have a lot of toilet supplies, you will struggle. They supply bars of aloe Vera soap and shampoo, no bath gel or conditioner so you may want to buy your own. There is also a room mini bar which is very handy for keeping milk bought from the supermarket. Tea bags, instant coffee, sugar lumps and milk sachets are provided as there is a kettle in the room.

There is a Carrefour supermarket less than 100m away on the same road heading towards Notre Dame so you can get all you need there like fruit or water. I bought milk and tea as was drinking more than the supplied tea bags.

Breakfast wasn't included (?9 per person) but it didn't worry us as there are two very nice boulangeries near another Metro stop, Cardinal Lemoin. Very nice bread, pastries and baguettes but it's a take-away so there is no place to have breakfast but you can always bring it back to the hotel room. We didn't try the breakfast the entire time we were there so we can't comment on the food.

The room itself will be considered small to a lot of people but is wholly adequate. We are put in the front on the 4th floor. It's quiet enough for city folk like us but some people might think it too noisy with the traffic but it didn't bother us. You won't get a double bed but two singles pushed together. The cupboard space is also quite bijou so I estimate half a dozen suits or dresses to hang up perhaps. I could only see two power points in the room and one of them is for the kettle so if you have a lot to plug in, you may want to consider bring an extension gang with you while travelling. Overall, I don't have any complaints as it is a adequate hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
espoo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were the first time in Paris and we were told that French people can be very unfriendly especially the hotel staff. That was not true at least in this hotel, we have nothing but good to say of everything in this hotel. The room was good ( not so big but who needs a big room when you are almost all the time in the city) The breakfast was generous and the stuff so nice. I have told all my friends ,if they go to Paris ask a hotel reference from me. Location was also very good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose this hotel at the last minute and it was a great choice. The location is fantastic with three metro stations within a 3 minute walk and it's only a short walk to Notre Dame and the Pantheon. There are loads of great restaurants nearby, as well as a small supermarket, and a great market on Saturdays. Staff were really helpful and happy to let me practise my rusty French - though equally happy to speak in English. The breakfast was great with a wide variety of fruit, breads, cereals, bacon and eggs (and of course pastries!). The only down side is that although the rooms are clean and tidy, they are quite small. It was fine for two of us for four nights but if you were there for much longer you might want a bigger room. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Nations St-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Nations St-Germain

Address: 54 rue Monge, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Nations St-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Nations St-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Nations St-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.