We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sparkling Gem in the City of Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Palace to your Saves list
Victoria Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #111 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Sparkling Gem in the City of Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Earlier this month my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Victoria Palace. The hotel was suggested by a friend of ours, and it turned out to be a suggestion well worth taking. What a charming hotel!! All of the staff were friendly, helpful and acted as if it really was their pleasure to serve us in any way possible. Our room was spacious by Paris standards and elegantly appointed, with all the decor and furnishings in impeccable condition. We had french doors that opened onto a balcony overlooking a small courtyard. We were very impressed. Room service was always prompt, turn-down service always brought plenty of fresh towels, and the small, intimate cocktail lounge off the lobby was a welcome place to relax after a day of sightseeing or shopping. I highly recommend the Victoria Palace to anyone visiting Paris. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard will guarantee a peaceful night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    95
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
85
172
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Victoria Palace Hotel is where you want to stay in Paris. The 6th arrondissement location in the Left Bank is a block away from the Metro Line from the Gare du Nord where the Eurostar terminates, and the Gare Monparnasse (with its short train ride to lovely Chartres) with its confluence of many Metro Lines is just almost as close. The hotel's location is quiet, the staff is very friendly, and the neighborhood is definitely not touristy. The somewhat costly "Junior Suite" double room was spacious, clean, and very well maintained. Nothing bad to say about the hotel once you get used to the over the top French decor. The bedroom's wallpaper doesn't tend to keep you up at night as long as you turn the lights off and you've had a few glasses or wine in the similarly decorated very comfortable bar's lounge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the beautiful Hotel Victoria Palace in the 6 adronessment in paris. It was close enough to take the subway or bus to any main attraction, yet off a small street which made it a quiet respite from the busy and noisy pace of Paris. Our room was lovely - very French and the lobby was equally beautiful. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary while we were there and they gave us complimentary champagne...perfect! Staff was friendly and helpfu; and rooms were large and very clean. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast buffet earlier to avoid the crowds. Food was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our second time to Victoria Palace, an elegant hotel with old world charm and modern conveniences--Wi-fi internet connections, satellite tv, air conditioning, mini bar etc. The rooms had lovely furnishings and were very comfortable and quiet. The cloth covered walls are a nice touch. The location is great, in the heart of the Left Bank, le quartier du Cherche-Midi, near Saint -Germain-des-Pres, easy to get around to all the sights by bus, metro or walking. But there is plenty to see and do right in the area, lots of nice restaurants and cafes, large stores and small, wonderful boutiques & elegant designers, bookstores, antiques, great boulevards and people watching! The lovely Luxembourg gardens are nearby--we enjoyed the quiet neighborhood surrounding the gardens.
The staff are superb, from the door captain to the front desk concierge staff. Everyone is polite, courteous, accommodating, endlessly patient with my French, and always upbeat with a smile and charm that makes you feel truly welcome. The Bell Captain even remembered us from 4 years previous!
The breadth of the breakfast buffet is incredible--cheeses, fruits, breads, meats, eggs, juices and cereal. The waitstaff are polite and helpful.
We love this hotel and will come again. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a suite the first time--it was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned recently from this lovely hotel.

It was spotless, staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fine

We had a lovely room 607 at the front with two balconies. The only problem was the noise but that's not the hotel's fault and we were staying in a city.

I think we were were the only Britsh there which we did not mind but some people might.

Anyway we loved it and would recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This vacation consisted of Barcelona, Paris, and London. This hotel was the best of the three. Large room, good sized bathroom, attentive service, great location. Buffet service is your typical breakfast buffet, king bed is two twins put together. The lady that checked us in was super nice, turn down service with chocolate :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Paris and at this hotel. Tucked away right off the streets, just enough to shelter you from the outside noise. Café and mini-market on the corner, shops and metro all within a block…really a great location topped off with being a great hotel. We will be coming back, it is a jewel.

PROS: Great service all around! Concierge helped us with which shows to attend, booked us a dinner at a long waitlist restaurant with ease (was very special as it was the location of me receiving a marriage proposal!). Continental breakfast is delicious, varied with choices and fresh selection. The front desk even exchanged currency for us and directed us to great tips to take in the sites and many recommendations. Rooms are spacious, especially for European standards and are well kept and clean. Beds are comfy, rooms quiet, balcony offers great views (especially from up top) and bathrooms are fantastic with large tubs. It really makes you appreciate good service as it’s so much harder to find these days.

CONS: None I can think of. We really loved this place and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Address: 6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#61 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#296 Family Hotel in Paris
#474 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cherche-Midi neighbourhood (Left Bank, near St Germain des Pres), the Victoria Palace Hotel is remarkable for Paris by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated over the years since 2000, the decor remains traditional, luxurious and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.