We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd best of five.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Palace to your Saves list
Victoria Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #201 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Needham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd best of five.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were 3 couples traveling in the south of France ending in pairs for our flight home. The Victoria palace really has it all. Great location in 6 th. Quiet street. Beautiful spacious rooms. Really one of the nicest places we have stayed in Paris. The staff was lovely and all were helpful. The breakfast, included, was ok not great in the fresh fruit or veggie area but certainly adequate and plentiful. I would go back.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is best. When little cafe across street is open it can get a bit boisterous and loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    97
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
86
178
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Victoria Palace before our river cruise with Viking Cruise Lines. I did lots of research on Trip Advisor before deciding on Victoria Palace, my travel agent also recommended VP. I can't say enough about this hotel, from the wonderful staff who helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, etc. to the staff at breakfast and the doormen. VP has lots of warmth and is beautifully decorated with old world charm. I am glad we got the junior suite, has lots of room, and we also had breakfast at the hotel, they have excellent breakfast selections. Ignore any negative reviews, because you cannot please everyone! VP goes out of their way to accommodate you, I would definitely recommend VP to friends, we hope to come back. Thank you VP!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite facing the front, has more light, we stayed in 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am this review from the hotel. I checked in today with my daughter. There is no AC and its very very hot. They claim that this is a five star hotel. - five star hotel which doesnt have working ac on hot days, the phone doesn't have any labeling on how to make calls. I tried calling the front desk, I kept pressing "0" but no answer. When I went downstairs to ask about the AC they said they cant do anything until the manager is contacted in the morning. For a five star hotel, I think manager should be available. Instead they don't want to disturb him, so i have to wait until 9 am tomorrow. I made this reservation using priceline which was also a big mistake. NEVER USE PRICELINE AND NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

Other Trip advisor reviews said the breakfast is included, but they adviced us that it's not included for our reservations. I dont know why but it's not included.

I am trying to check out tomorrow.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are very sorry this client was disappointed.
Regarding the air-conditioning : the air-conditioning is controlled by a central unit that must be either on the ‘hot’ or ‘cold’ position ; it cannot provide both hot and cold air at the same time, nor can it be switched from one to the other on an hourly or even daily basis. (Sadly, the City of Paris does not allow us to install the sort of window units that would allow each room to be totally independent.) During the month of April temperatures generally remain too cold to be able to switch the system over to cooling, especially as some parts of our building take much longer to warm up than others. As soon as temperatures appear to stabilise at a warmer level, we switch the system over to cooling. This was not yet the case during this guest’s stay : on 16 April, the morning low was 10°C (50°F) and the afternoon high 19°C (66°F) ; on 17 April, the day of the review, the morning low was 12°C (53°F) and the afternoon high unexpectedly reached 25°C (77°F) ; by the next morning the temperature had fallen back to 9°C (48°F) with an afternoon high of 18°C (64°F). Indeed, the client who complained was seen on the morning of the 18th walking out of the hotel in a quilted coat against the cold.
Because it was not possible to provide the client with immediate air-conditioning, the Room Clerk on duty did offer to move her to another room ; as mentioned above, some rooms located in certain parts of the building take longer to heat up than others. The client declined the offer.
Regarding the telephone : when the Room Clerks show guests to their rooms, they tell them that should they require anything they should phone ‘9’. In addition, lying on the desk right next to the telephone there is a Guide to Guest Services which has the number of the Reception in bold type at the top of each page. Dialling ‘0’ would not be very useful : that is the number guest must use to get an outside line ; that also is explained in the Guide to Guest Services.
Regarding breakfast : some rates include breakfast and others do not and this is clearly indicated when the booking is made. The reason why this guest’s rate did not include breakfast is quite simply that she chose a less expensive rate that did not include breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is a fine hotel, in a quite street.
The rooms are big and comfortable, and well maintained.
The breakfast is good.
The hotel is a 5 star but it is more a 4 star.
It was a pity that there was so few other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

we spend 4 nights with family in this Hotel. Very good location. Very Helpfull staft.
Very good connected rooms for family. We had 2 rooms connected, it was very good because boys were in one room and parrents in second.
Breakfast nothing special, a little bit less than 5 Stars Hotel.
Coffe ,,americano ,, it was a little less than expected in 5 star Hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic location only a few minutes walk from marvellous bars, shops and restaurants. Hotel décor is nice enough for an expensive boutique hotel. Breakfast Ok without being remarkable. I had a problem in that at 11pm they checked another traveller into my room knowing I was in there. He had a key and an embarrassing exchange ensued as I was naked when he walked in! We finally got him another room and in the morning nobody was available to give me an explanation. I complained by email to the owner and got no more than a lukewarm "sorry, it shouldn't have happened". All in all an expensive place to stay but in nice surroundings. I'll definitely stay close to there in future but won't return here.

Room Tip: Lock the door from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Whilst we agree that a completely aberrant mistake was made by a very experienced and otherwise reliable staff-member—and we did apologise to the client in writing, twice—his account makes it appear as if the room clerk just handed out a room key to a random member of the public. It didn’t quite happen like that.
Just to set the record straight: the person to whom the key was given was a business associate of the client and by way of identification when he arrived at the hotel around midnight, he gave the name of the client who already had arrived. Mistakenly our staff-member understood that the new arrival was sharing the room with the other client. Incomprehensibly and contrary to all established procedures, he gave the key to the new arrival without first phoning the room and double-checking this. This was a fault and we take it seriously, but not quite the same as indiscriminately handing out room keys to all and sundry. The two clients were travelling together, but in separate rooms.
The staff-member in question has been severely reprimanded for this blunder and failure to stick with the proper procedures and we renew our apologies to the client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only bad part of the hotel was that some rooms were different than others. We had a nice room on high floor with a wonderful sunrise view of the area. Be prepared for a smallish bed...Paris is for lovers or least you will become very close friends after you end up sleeping close together.

During our stay they were renovating the lobby so I can only how beautifully French it will look come spring and summer.

The staff is old world helpful. They ran out to the cab to meet us and were quick to offer assistance if needed or an interesting chat when time presented itself.

A picky or limited eater might find the breakfast spread sparse but the food was high quality.

The area offers many different food options with cafes and small, high quality dinner options that are not at all like the snooty multi course options of old. Use the helpful staff. They know of many different small restaurants and will make reservations for you.

By the way, everyone speaks some sort if English and if you smile and say please and thank you (even in my terrible French accent) then the whole city is ready to help with open arms.

We used the metro, buses and connected to trains easily from our hotel and the staff provided detailed directions plus they had pre printed maps that were very helpful.

Paris is a wonderful city with so many different sights so this hotel is a great jumping off point and welcoming, warm place after a long day of exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the front. The hotel is off the main street, so you will most likely be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Address: 6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#109 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#312 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cherche-Midi neighbourhood (Left Bank, near St Germain des Pres), the Victoria Palace Hotel is remarkable for Paris by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated over the years since 2000, the decor remains traditional, luxurious and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.