We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd best of five.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Palace

Save Saved
You added Victoria Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Needham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“2nd best of five.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were 3 couples traveling in the south of France ending in pairs for our flight home. The Victoria palace really has it all. Great location in 6 th. Quiet street. Beautiful spacious rooms. Really one of the nicest places we have stayed in Paris. The staff was lovely and all were helpful. The breakfast, included, was ok not great in the fresh fruit or veggie area but certainly adequate and plentiful. I would go back.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is best. When little cafe across street is open it can get a bit boisterous and loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    87
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
79
164
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Victoria Palace before our river cruise with Viking Cruise Lines. I did lots of research on Trip Advisor before deciding on Victoria Palace, my travel agent also recommended VP. I can't say enough about this hotel, from the wonderful staff who helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, etc. to the staff at breakfast and the doormen. VP has lots of warmth and is beautifully decorated with old world charm. I am glad we got the junior suite, has lots of room, and we also had breakfast at the hotel, they have excellent breakfast selections. Ignore any negative reviews, because you cannot please everyone! VP goes out of their way to accommodate you, I would definitely recommend VP to friends, we hope to come back. Thank you VP!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite facing the front, has more light, we stayed in 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am this review from the hotel. I checked in today with my daughter. There is no AC and its very very hot. They claim that this is a five star hotel. - five star hotel which doesnt have working ac on hot days, the phone doesn't have any labeling on how to make calls. I tried calling the front desk, I kept pressing "0" but no answer. When I went downstairs to ask about the AC they said they cant do anything until the manager is contacted in the morning. For a five star hotel, I think manager should be available. Instead they don't want to disturb him, so i have to wait until 9 am tomorrow. I made this reservation using priceline which was also a big mistake. NEVER USE PRICELINE AND NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

Other Trip advisor reviews said the breakfast is included, but they adviced us that it's not included for our reservations. I dont know why but it's not included.

I am trying to check out tomorrow.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are very sorry this client was disappointed.
Regarding the air-conditioning : the air-conditioning is controlled by a central unit that must be either on the ‘hot’ or ‘cold’ position ; it cannot provide both hot and cold air at the same time, nor can it be switched from one to the other on an hourly or even daily basis. (Sadly, the City of Paris does not allow us to install the sort of window units that would allow each room to be totally independent.) During the month of April temperatures generally remain too cold to be able to switch the system over to cooling, especially as some parts of our building take much longer to warm up than others. As soon as temperatures appear to stabilise at a warmer level, we switch the system over to cooling. This was not yet the case during this guest’s stay : on 16 April, the morning low was 10°C (50°F) and the afternoon high 19°C (66°F) ; on 17 April, the day of the review, the morning low was 12°C (53°F) and the afternoon high unexpectedly reached 25°C (77°F) ; by the next morning the temperature had fallen back to 9°C (48°F) with an afternoon high of 18°C (64°F). Indeed, the client who complained was seen on the morning of the 18th walking out of the hotel in a quilted coat against the cold.
Because it was not possible to provide the client with immediate air-conditioning, the Room Clerk on duty did offer to move her to another room ; as mentioned above, some rooms located in certain parts of the building take longer to heat up than others. The client declined the offer.
Regarding the telephone : when the Room Clerks show guests to their rooms, they tell them that should they require anything they should phone ‘9’. In addition, lying on the desk right next to the telephone there is a Guide to Guest Services which has the number of the Reception in bold type at the top of each page. Dialling ‘0’ would not be very useful : that is the number guest must use to get an outside line ; that also is explained in the Guide to Guest Services.
Regarding breakfast : some rates include breakfast and others do not and this is clearly indicated when the booking is made. The reason why this guest’s rate did not include breakfast is quite simply that she chose a less expensive rate that did not include breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is a fine hotel, in a quite street.
The rooms are big and comfortable, and well maintained.
The breakfast is good.
The hotel is a 5 star but it is more a 4 star.
It was a pity that there was so few other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

we spend 4 nights with family in this Hotel. Very good location. Very Helpfull staft.
Very good connected rooms for family. We had 2 rooms connected, it was very good because boys were in one room and parrents in second.
Breakfast nothing special, a little bit less than 5 Stars Hotel.
Coffe ,,americano ,, it was a little less than expected in 5 star Hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic location only a few minutes walk from marvellous bars, shops and restaurants. Hotel décor is nice enough for an expensive boutique hotel. Breakfast Ok without being remarkable. I had a problem in that at 11pm they checked another traveller into my room knowing I was in there. He had a key and an embarrassing exchange ensued as I was naked when he walked in! We finally got him another room and in the morning nobody was available to give me an explanation. I complained by email to the owner and got no more than a lukewarm "sorry, it shouldn't have happened". All in all an expensive place to stay but in nice surroundings. I'll definitely stay close to there in future but won't return here.

Room Tip: Lock the door from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Whilst we agree that a completely aberrant mistake was made by a very experienced and otherwise reliable staff-member—and we did apologise to the client in writing, twice—his account makes it appear as if the room clerk just handed out a room key to a random member of the public. It didn’t quite happen like that.
Just to set the record straight: the person to whom the key was given was a business associate of the client and by way of identification when he arrived at the hotel around midnight, he gave the name of the client who already had arrived. Mistakenly our staff-member understood that the new arrival was sharing the room with the other client. Incomprehensibly and contrary to all established procedures, he gave the key to the new arrival without first phoning the room and double-checking this. This was a fault and we take it seriously, but not quite the same as indiscriminately handing out room keys to all and sundry. The two clients were travelling together, but in separate rooms.
The staff-member in question has been severely reprimanded for this blunder and failure to stick with the proper procedures and we renew our apologies to the client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only bad part of the hotel was that some rooms were different than others. We had a nice room on high floor with a wonderful sunrise view of the area. Be prepared for a smallish bed...Paris is for lovers or least you will become very close friends after you end up sleeping close together.

During our stay they were renovating the lobby so I can only how beautifully French it will look come spring and summer.

The staff is old world helpful. They ran out to the cab to meet us and were quick to offer assistance if needed or an interesting chat when time presented itself.

A picky or limited eater might find the breakfast spread sparse but the food was high quality.

The area offers many different food options with cafes and small, high quality dinner options that are not at all like the snooty multi course options of old. Use the helpful staff. They know of many different small restaurants and will make reservations for you.

By the way, everyone speaks some sort if English and if you smile and say please and thank you (even in my terrible French accent) then the whole city is ready to help with open arms.

We used the metro, buses and connected to trains easily from our hotel and the staff provided detailed directions plus they had pre printed maps that were very helpful.

Paris is a wonderful city with so many different sights so this hotel is a great jumping off point and welcoming, warm place after a long day of exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the front. The hotel is off the main street, so you will most likely be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Address: 6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#56 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#282 Family Hotel in Paris
#366 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Palace Hôtel opened in 1913 and since then it has remained a landmark of the 6th arrondissement of Paris. Located on a quiet street off the bustling Rue de Rennes, the hotel truly is an expression of, the Rive gauche. It combines a very Rive gauche sense of understated and un-self-conscious luxury with the obvious advantages of a centrally located, residential neighbourhood. The focus of the hotel has always been on providing its guests with a true, living experience of Paris. That is why the hotel provides little extras such as the self-guided Foodies’ Discovery Trail to the Cherche-Midi Neighbourhood with artisans and markets ; a shortlist (with map) of the best artisanal chocolatiers on the Left Bank ; and an eight-page shopping-guide listing a plethora of boutiques and independent shops alongside some of the more obvious, internationally-known brands.Whilst retaining its traditions (it has been owned by the same family since 1936) the Victoria Palace Hôtel underwent an in-depth renovation in the year 2000 : where once there had been 113 units, today there are only 62 : 30 Rooms (260 square feet / 25 m² on average) ; 28 Junior Suites (375 square feet / 35 m² on average) ; 4 One-Bedroom Suites (approximately 485 square feet : 45 m²). The warm, opulent décor remains classically French, with all the walls covered in stretched fabrics. Everything else was re-thought for the twenty-first century : well-lit marble bathrooms with powerful hair-dryers, a work-desk in every room, voicemail, internet access, etc… Needless to say, all the rooms are sound-proofed and air-conditioned ; bathrobes and slippers are provided for all guests. Last but not least, the Victoria Palace Hôtel has its very own, private garage.In October 2012, and even though it has neither restaurant nor spa, the hotel received an official five-star rating from the French tourist authorities, underscoring the care and attention to detail that we like to think are the hallmark of the Victoria Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.