We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor standards of service and security” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Victoria Palace to your Saves list
Victoria Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #109 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Daventry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location but poor standards of service and security”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic location only a few minutes walk from marvellous bars, shops and restaurants. Hotel décor is nice enough for an expensive boutique hotel. Breakfast Ok without being remarkable. I had a problem in that at 11pm they checked another traveller into my room knowing I was in there. He had a key and an embarrassing exchange ensued as I was naked when he walked in! We finally got him another room and in the morning nobody was available to give me an explanation. I complained by email to the owner and got no more than a lukewarm "sorry, it shouldn't have happened". All in all an expensive place to stay but in nice surroundings. I'll definitely stay close to there in future but won't return here.

Room Tip: Lock the door from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Responsable commercial at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Whilst we agree that a completely aberrant mistake was made by a very experienced and otherwise reliable staff-member—and we did apologise to the client in writing, twice—his account makes it appear as if the room clerk just handed out a room key to a random member of the public. It didn’t quite happen like that.
Just to set the record straight: the person to whom the key was given was a business associate of the client and by way of identification when he arrived at the hotel around midnight, he gave the name of the client who already had arrived. Mistakenly our staff-member understood that the new arrival was sharing the room with the other client. Incomprehensibly and contrary to all established procedures, he gave the key to the new arrival without first phoning the room and double-checking this. This was a fault and we take it seriously, but not quite the same as indiscriminately handing out room keys to all and sundry. The two clients were travelling together, but in separate rooms.
The staff-member in question has been severely reprimanded for this blunder and failure to stick with the proper procedures and we renew our apologies to the client.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    89
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
82
165
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only bad part of the hotel was that some rooms were different than others. We had a nice room on high floor with a wonderful sunrise view of the area. Be prepared for a smallish bed...Paris is for lovers or least you will become very close friends after you end up sleeping close together.

During our stay they were renovating the lobby so I can only how beautifully French it will look come spring and summer.

The staff is old world helpful. They ran out to the cab to meet us and were quick to offer assistance if needed or an interesting chat when time presented itself.

A picky or limited eater might find the breakfast spread sparse but the food was high quality.

The area offers many different food options with cafes and small, high quality dinner options that are not at all like the snooty multi course options of old. Use the helpful staff. They know of many different small restaurants and will make reservations for you.

By the way, everyone speaks some sort if English and if you smile and say please and thank you (even in my terrible French accent) then the whole city is ready to help with open arms.

We used the metro, buses and connected to trains easily from our hotel and the staff provided detailed directions plus they had pre printed maps that were very helpful.

Paris is a wonderful city with so many different sights so this hotel is a great jumping off point and welcoming, warm place after a long day of exploration.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the front. The hotel is off the main street, so you will most likely be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were not in the least disappointed with this choice...delightful, quiet room, very helpful friendly staff, great breakfast and contrary to what we had heard, the Coe is wonderful...not one complaint from us.... We walk everywhere so the location suited us fine. Our only bad experience so far was a recommendation for a small bistro around the corner....stay away at all cost from the Midi Vins...the pork was not done and so tough it was not edible....the mashed potatoes passed muster...the other one to skip is The Nemrod....rude, impatient wait person....passable stuffed cabbage and really gluey potatoes.... Will write up good ones later!

Room Tip: If you are not walkers, you may want to be closer to the louvre etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spend romantic week-end in February 2012. I prefer to book the small boutique hotels in for romantic trips to Europeans cities. I have strong opinion that famous hotel's system are good for exotic resorts ( guaranteed level of service ) and for business trips. I was not disappointed by Victoria Palace Hotel. Of course, declared 5 stars look overrated. But, hotel has unique atmosphere/interior, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are quite comfortable, spacious. We had room on 6 floor with balcony and charming views on the roofs of Paris. The hotel is situated on small and quite street in 10 minutes of walking distance of Bd du Montparnasse ( restaurants and bars area). There are 20-25 minutes walking distance to Tour Eiffel and Les Invalides.
The hotel is clean. We were fully satisfied by breakfast ( quality and variety ). I do not hesitate to recommend this quite hotel to my friends. The price corresponds to the level of service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Victoria Palace in November 2012. Having read the reviews on tripadvisor it was such a disappointment. On entering our room we noticed a strong smell of damp, this was confirmed when we looked at the wallpaper. At breakfast the next morning, the brioche was stale and there was very limited choice in comparison to most European hotels. When we raised our displeasure with staff we found them to be haughty and arrogant and showed in the way of sympathy, leading to us requesting a change of hotel from the provider we had booked with. When we lodged our complaints the hotel refused to refund the room cost, despite the photographic evidence we had of damp and the inconvenience it caused us organising to move to another hotel. Thankfully the hotel we moved to was markedly better and left the Victoria Palace standing in terms of the cleanliness and quality of the room, customer service, breakfast and location. We tried at length on our return to obtain a refund, in view of the amount of phone calls we had made to change and the loss of time this had cost us when we could have been exploring Paris, but the hotel refused. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Director of Sales at Victoria Palace, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
One of the joys of working at the Victoria Palace Hotel is that incidents such as the one the review refers to are sufficiently rare that all the actors at our end have no difficulty in recalling the actual details.
No, the room was not damp. On the morning following the guests' arrival, they requested a refund because of a stain located on one of the walls, behind the night-stand, next to the headboard. This stain was not caused by damp, but probably by a previous guest having spilt a cup of tea or coffee from the nightstand. It is true that the Housekeeper had not reported the stain ; perhaps it had escaped her notice as it was located behind a piece of furniture and was not glaringly in full view. It was somewhat difficult to see ; in any event in this she was remiss and it was a lapse in our standards. We offered to move the clients to another room : the problem being the stain, the rather obvious solution was to move them to a stain-free room. This they refused and requested a full refund, which struck us somewhat excessive compensation for a rather minor lapse, in that the stain is unlikely to have prevented them getting any sleep, for example, or having a bath. (Since then, and for the record, we have brought in an outside company to steam the stain away.)
The clients write in their review that the dampness of the room 'was confirmed when we looked at the wallpaper'. To confirm dampness, the usual aproachis to touch the surface, not just look at it, in which case they would have realised that we do not use wallpaper anywhere in the hotel, but rather stretched chintz. Perhaps they did touch it, but being unfamiliar with the feel of stretched fabric, mistook it for damp wallpaper : because it is stretched over the wall and not glued to it, stretched chintz is slightly yielding and much colder to the touch than wallpaper, a feel not unlike the coolness of crisp sheets when first one slides into bed. Perhaps they interpreted this as dampness.
As to the breakfast, the baked items are delivered fresh every morning (no, we do not bake them on the premises) and any left over are discarded every day once breakfast is over. We do not serve up stale breads and croissants. As regards the lack of selection, our breakfast buffet includes juices, dried fruits, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, a selection of cheeses, a selection of cold meats, breakfast cereals, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon and sausages in addition to loaf bread, baguette, butter croissants, chocolate croissants, sugar brioche and raisin rolls. There is also a choice of five teas in addition to hot chocolate, coffee or espresso ; there are 7 or 8 varieties of jam and honey. Most of our clients appear quite happy with the offerings, although there always may be something that we lack. It is very difficult to anticipate absolutely everyone's breakfast favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of our travel adviser as we waited for our Paris stay apartment to be prepared, and it's one of the best Parisian hotels I've ever visited - great staff, a decore I think of as very quintessentially French, and very efficient service in every regard. Large rooms which are always appreciated - my one small criticism is that the lovely bathroom, which was on rather a grand scale, did not have a drain on the marble flooring (but I shouldn't have splashed so much water around!). Good location - my first stay in this arondissement, but it was very easy to navigate around and much of it could be done on foot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel ticked pretty much all the boxes for us. It has good sized rooms - vast in Parisian standards. It has a breakfast room above ground. The service is splendid and properly 5*. It is situated within easy reach of all the left bank sites and the shopping district, within very easy reach of a whole range of great places to eat from simple to superb. It should really be faded grandeur except someone has spent some money on it and everything works from the air-con to the bar and the very helpful reception
It is not the cheapest hotel in St Germain but it is very good value for money.
The street itself is a cross street between rue Cherche midi / bd Raspail and rue de Rennes and not that inspiring but it does look out on very 'authentic' Parisian roof tops.
Very hrd to fault this hotel and it makes a great base for a long weeken in the french capital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Address: 6 rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#61 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#385 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cherche-Midi neighbourhood (Left Bank, near St Germain des Pres), the Victoria Palace Hotel is remarkable for Paris by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated over the years since 2000, the decor remains traditional, luxurious and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;