We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor Saint-Honore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor Saint-Honore to your Saves list
Hotel Astor Saint-Honore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue d'Astorg | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #704 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Kilkenny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My boyfriend (now fiance after our trip to Paris) and I were very dissappointed over all with this hotel. The concierge is the best part of the hotel - lovely new concierge gave us great help and Jean.

RECEPTION - rude, ignorant, not approachable, unhelpful, unfriendly.
Not a warm welcome. As soon as we arrived same rude receptionist tried to sell us upgrade to a larger room for extra €50 per night and breakfast at €22 per person which we did not want. If we did we have booked online!

ROOM - I believe was much smaller than I booked and paid for in full in advance. Small 4 foot double bed not large enough for 2 adults to sleep in. Hence no sleep for our 3 night stay! Such a small room very hard to cool to a comfortable temperature (in month of December!)

CLEANING STAFF - they don't just make bed/ change towels. They move all your personal posessions which I was not comfortable with. Even though we put a do not disturb sign on door they still came in!
Also, this hotel does not seem to have a list of guests checked-out and they knock on every bedroom door to see if they can clean your room. We went for a break and to lie in but were disturbed every morning at 9 - 9.30am. Very unhappy about this.

BAR - We asked the same receptionist could we buy a drink from the bar to be told the bar is closed for renovations and maybe we should go up town for our drink. Instead we asked for a glass of wine each from the restaurant. 10 mins later same receptionist passed by and said her colleague in the restaurant is very busy even though there were only about 10 in the restaurant! Aother 5-10mins later he arrived with white wine. Neither of us drink white. We weren't even asked what we would like to drink!

I THINK THIS HOTEL IS ONLY INTERESTED IN YOU IF YOU SPEND LOTS OF MONEY WITH THEM. IE. IF WE TOOK THE UPGRADES AT RECEPTION, ATE IN THEIR RESTAURANT, ETC I THINK WE WOULD HAVE HAD A NICER EXPERIENCE!!!! For us this was a 'special' trip and we were never so glad to check out of a hotel. I do not know how this hotel could be 4-star....pure mystery!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    227
    95
    49
    24
See reviews for
98
257
40
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed in hotel for 4 nights. Arrived in the evening and were given a room type inferior to the one we booked. The reception staff were adamant that this was the correct room, when we asked to see another room, they realised they were wrong and after much hassle we finally got the room we had actually paid for. Beware of this, as it seems many travellers had the same problem. The rooms are very small, not luxury accommodation. On the other hand, the concierge were very good, gave good advice on where to go and how to get there. Location is good, near to many metro stops and shops so very easy to get to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel. Comparing to the surrounding onces it is probably one of the best. Of course the bad level of the others help! Rooms were clean both times, and the service was friendly! Their croissants are excellent and the orange jukce at breakfast was just great! I will come back

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Really loved the help that they gave tourists. . Would stay again
Nice old world decor,nice breakfast. Beautiful outside both front and courtyard for a small hotel.
I didn't find the hotel dated at all, flat screen TV beautiful bathroom with nice lotions, if people mean dated as old world decor isn't that what you go to paris for?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

the room was fine, quite clean but small, usually in Paris rooms are not big (like US)
Unfortunately i meet a rat at the first floor, really bad experience
so, until the hotel will be clean deeply i strongly suggest to avoid the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 day for a business meeting.
First of all, I'd like to say that all personnel was extremely helpful, friendly, polite and warm, from front desk to concierge to the people who took care of and attended to the business center. I can say it is the first time I see such an assistance to a company that's having a meeting at a hotel.
As some others have wrote, the hotel is a bit dated, but not so much to make you want to run away as soon as you enter!
Getting to the room, I was given room 112 on the fist floor and was very happy with it: it's spacious and quiet - I did not hear noises, apart from those of people walking in the room upstairs (but only in the morning...). The one thing I have to note is that the bathroom tiles were very dirty in one corner (see pictures), which was a bit disgusting.
The room service and the room maids were kind and quick. As you would expect from a 4 star hotel, maids pop in more than once a day to check that everything's alright and lovely chocolates are left on the bed each night.
I was not very satisfied with the wi-fi, though, as it was working ok close to the room door, but very poorly on the bedroom or at the desk. Also, if you chose the slow option which is free, you have to log in every 30 minutes...

Room Tip: I do not know about other rooms, but 112 on first floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My daughter & I stayed for a week in August, and found the front desk staff extremely rude. We had booked a non-smoking room with 2 beds, and when we checked in they had difficulty finding us a room, and tried to give us one double bed room. We objected and they gave us a room with two single beds. The hotel carpets are dated and very stained and worn. The room was dirty when we got there, the baseboard had dried liquid (maybe coke) splattered all over it beside the bed, and the toilet had not been flushed! Other than that, the food was great, the concierge was fantastic, and luckily we did not have the need for air conditioning. We opened up the windows wide at night, we where up on the seventh floor where there is a nice breeze.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better breeze from the windows at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor Saint-Honore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor Saint-Honore

Address: 11 rue d'Astorg | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#449 Family Hotel in Paris
#578 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor Saint-Honore 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astor Saint-Honore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Saint Honore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor Saint-Honore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.