We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...location is suspect....Not nearly a "five star" property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue de Boulainvilliers, 75016 Paris, France (Passy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #553 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...location is suspect....Not nearly a "five star" property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel.

The good: The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable, the staff is very nice, the restaurant downstairs is pretty good although they run a skeleton staff and service is pretty slow (do try the Americana breakfast). The Wifi is free, it worked great and had an easy log-in process.

The bad: The rooms are very dark (good at night for sleeping, but not good if trying to get dressed). The rooms are oddly designed and lacked a standup shower (tubs only except in larger suites). The toilet was near front door but no sink to wash hands (you had to go to the room with the bathtub). The room lacked electrical outlets in the bathroom or in the main room. The old school key lock system was annoying. The hotel did not have a concierge and the staff tried but were not very knowledgable on what was around them. Simple questions seem to baffle them. The hotel lacked a fitness room. They will give you pass to health club that was purportedly a couple of blocks away, but I was unable to find it. The neighborhood is residential, but the hotel is situated on at the apex of a rather busy intersection. Not the greatest physical location.

Transportation is pretty accessible. There were always Plenty of cabs around, but the hotel is not close to the metro, but there is an RER rail stop is about two blocks away (but it will take some studying to navigate the RER). There is a bus stop across the street. Although you can see the effiel tower, it is a little bit of a hike to get to it. The hotel is not at all that convenient for any of the other tourist attractions, shopping or cultural sites. In general, if your goal is to see Paris, this location is not great at all.

Overall, this hotel is OK. Its comfortable if you are trying to chill out off the beaten path, but yet close enough to get to stuff by cab or bus. Its not the prettiest nor is it in the best location,but it is OK absent a better option. I would not return, but I can't say I had a bad stay either...it's definately NOT a "five star" hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
50
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Staff were really nice, especially the beautiful young French girl who manned the desk on our arrival. Room was neat and clean enough. We were just there for a weekend so weren't in our room too much or the hotel but when we were it was restful. Really good value for our money although it is a walk to any of the sites from this hotel which is the only downfall especially for people who do not want to walk any distance or get taxis a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest ar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

They advertised a rate on website and I booked was sent a confirmation I booked my flight and then theyCANCELLED MY RESERVATION and said they made a mistake on price and would not honor booking!! Horrible company and now I am out a lot of money

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_dupresarget, Directeur général at Hotel Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Madam,

First of all,I am really sorry about this disappointment.
Howewer, we received your reservation a few hours before your arrival and the rate was wrong.
We suppose that the problem comes from an informatic bug, which has generate this wrong rate (100€ by night), rate you can't have at the hotel Square, five star hotel.
Tablet.com has immeditaly contacted you to propose you to cancel the room or to accept a new proposal.
We did the special rate of 250€ by night for our Junior Suite that we normally propose at the rate of 800€.
Furthermore, you have extended your stay from one night. To offer you the best service, we proposed you the same Suite with the same exceptionnal rate. (250€ instead of 800€)
During your stay, we asked you if everything was allright and you never complained at the reception.
I stay at your disposal and I will be very happy to welcome you again at the hotel Square

Nicole DUPRE SARGET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights as part of our anniversary trip. The hotel is in a beautiful residential area about 20 minutes to the Eiffel tower on foot (don't believe the front desk person who says 10 minutes!). Only stay here if you want to use the very good Parisian metro system. The staff our friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious but a little overpriced (~$400+/night) given the slightly inconvenient location. The BEST part of the staying here is the local bistro, le Chaumette. We ate here all three nights - the food was AMAZING and the service IMPECCABLE. I would probably not stay here again given the location, but overall the experience was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsquare, Propriétaire at Hotel Square, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear guest,

The Eiffel Tower is at about 10 to 20minutes depending on how fast you walk, if you take the beautiful and pedestrian area of "l'Ile aux Cygnes" in the middle of the river.
Concerning the prices, unfortunately the month of June is the most expensive of the year in Paris, especially with the Airshow this year.
We hope you still enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Just returned from The Square. Nice enough place but nothing special. Clean, quiet, lacking in atmosphere. Sterile. Food not bad just indifferent (try the cafe across the road for an early breakfast - much nicer). The staff were friendly enough but there is no atmosphere and it is a very long walk back to the sights. There are much more lively and characterful places to stay in Paris and would suggest you seek them out if you are willing to pay this price. We did not have time to try the Spa which we were told was excellent. It was all very "nice" but what is this doing in the SLH of the World Guide?!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

the best hotel which I have stay in Paris. warm welcome from the staff and rooms are good size. and Restaurant which cook very nice food~~Definitely will come again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Square

Address: 3 rue de Boulainvilliers, 75016 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#218 Family Hotel in Paris
#243 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#553 Spa Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Square 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Square has a very stylish feel yet it is cosy and comfortable with eye-catching pieces of glass and ceramics in a number of the public spaces. The four-story exhibition wall features a superb collection of contemporary works of art and photographs. Rooms are decorated in various shades of gold and bronze, brick and saffron or grey and ivory.Head to Hôtel Square’s cool, lounge bar and relax on a comfy leather sofa with a glass of champagne. Dine at Zebra Square restaurant in the elegant dining room where haute cuisine is served with a fittingly modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square Hotel Paris
Hotel Square Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.