We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,040 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
givat Shmuel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

the room was nice and clean. nothing special, but it is in a walking distance from Sacré-Cœu, 1 minute from Moulin Rouge and half a minute from the metro. the staff was very friendly and usefull, breakfast was nice. my only remark is about the inroom safe - they charge additional fare of 4 euro a day for it, although it is included in the room's inventory.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Yes, the safe is an addtionnal charge with a caution. You know, unfortunatly, a lot of persons don't care materiels if it not ours. It's a shame.
To offer you this service and keep it in order....we propose a payment for it.
We hope you've enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    76
    65
    19
    34
See reviews for
12
130
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a trip to Paris and had a great stay at the Moulin Plaza Hotel. We arrived at Blanche metro station and right outside is Montmartre and the Moulin Rouge. 2 minute walk and you arrive at the hotel.. A fab location couldn't have asked for better. We arrived quite early and we were lucky enough to be able to check into our room straight away.. I had emailed ahead and requested a high floor room overlooking the courtyard which is exactly what we got. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy beds and a nice bathroom with plenty of towels which were changed everyday of our 3 night stay. Breakfast was continental variety with plenty on offer with fresh juice and good coffee. All the staff were helpful and spoke good English I would definitely recommend the Moulin Plaza for a stay as the hotel was good and in a great location for plenty to see and do.
Shops, bars and restaurants on your door step and the metro to get about.
Thank you Moulin Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Moulin Plaza. The room was very clean, modern with everything you could need. The room was cleaned daily, and towels were also changed daily.
Nice comfortable bed, and nice bed linen.
The breakfast is served at a respectable hour - and is a continental breakfast, which is more than adequate and plentiful.
The reception staff were very helpful, and very friendly.
On the downside to our stay, we were located on the ground floor, and on the first night the noise from three men arguing in the next room was horrendous - and on the last night, a woman was speaking on her mobile phone, and the sound carried so loudly that she may as well have been standing outside our room. Being at the bottom of the hotel, everytime someone above flushed their toilet, it sounded like water was going to flood into our room! It was very noisy! (We had asked for a quiet room!).
At the end of the road from where the hotel is located, is the Moulin Rouge, and beyond that the roads leading up to Sacre Coeur, with it's amazing views! The area is full of sex-shops, but we have stayed in this area before, so it didn't come as a shock. We love walking, so found this location a good base to walk to and from the main attractions, such as the Louvre, Eiffel Tower etc.
I would highly recommend this hotel, but if you end up in a ground floor room, then I would ask to be moved!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

You are right: often, you just have to avviser us to be satisfied. In your case, you loved the hotel, the location, the services, you only needed another room. Why not to have come see you instead of waiting to have left to indicate it to us? It's shame..
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was nice, located very near metrostation. Hotel room was old fashioned and there was red atmosphere...weird I think?! Bad smell in the room and a closet with broken sliding door...it hang on one side. Breakfast was same all the time (4 days); croissants, baquettes, youghurt, puff pastry, cheese, ham, eggs, corn flakes, jam, honey, peanut butter, tea, coffee and orange/apple juice. Nothing fresh like salad, cucumber, tomato...So we got lot´s of calories during breakfast. But I liked it!! We slept very good because there was quiet enough at night. Sex shops located very near hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your interessant comment about breakfast.
A lot of our guest are international clients. For us, the objective is to satisfy you with a diversified offer but not only. We wish to propose you too : typical french culture and europeen breakfast.
In Europe, we don't eat a lot of things for breakfast time...and breakast it's with sweet foog and not salty food.
We hope you will enjoyed this discovery.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from a three night stay at the Moulin Plaza..
Firstly, for us, the main attraction of this Hotel was the location.. literally a two minute (if that) walk to the local metro station; Blanche. This was ideal as we relied heavily on this method of transport for getting to places such as the Eiffel Tower and Champs elysees. We were literally on and off within minutes and it saved us a lot of money which we would have spent in taxis. Also, the whole experience of the hussle and bussle provided us with lots of entertainment!!
The hotel itself was just like the pictures, granted, the room was quite small but Paris isn't the place where you spend lots of time in the room, it was literally just somewhere where we slept, and got ready to go out for the day/night! It was very clean and had everything you needed. We had a room which looked onto the busy road, which was noisy at times but nothing which warrants a complaint (the same could be said for the noise of the lift). However, if you are a light sleeper I would maybe suggest a room which onlooked the courtyard as opposed to the road. Location was great, right next to the Moulin Rouge and the hotel is walking distance to all the local bars and restaurants. Breakfast was basic; french bread, croissants, cheeses, yoghurts, cereal .. so always something to chose from to set you up for the day. Breakfast ran to 10.30 which was good as it gave you the option to have a lie-in! All in all, a pleasant hotel which I thought was good value for the money, and if I was to go back to Paris again, I would definitely consider going back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are waiting from your come back when you want. Don't hesitate to contact us to have the best rate. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoy Paris so much the location of the hotel is excellent. The subway station is near by and this is very convenient.The service was very good, and our room was nice and very clean. We love our stay, we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you so much....and we are waiting from you come back. Don't hesitate to precise at the moment of the reservation you're already came...we always try to satisfy your loyalty.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Prior to booking our 3 day break to Paris via the Easyjet website I checked on some of the Tripadvisor reviews and was initially horrified by what I read.
This quaint 3 star (well deserved) Hotel exceeded my expectations and I'm more than glad that I took the gamble and booked. On our arrival very late at night after negotiating the train + metro from the airport (CDG) to Montmartre we found the hotel to be less than 200 yards from the Metro.
We were checked in straight away despite the late hour. I signed one form & was given the key, directions to the room & breakfast start & finish time in the morning. I had requested a high floor + overlooking the courtyard & both these requests were granted.
The room on inspection was clean albeit small with a flat screen tv, extra pillows, blankets + a fan + a radiator. Small storage space but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bathroom was also clean & apart from a small crack in the shower which we fixed with a bit of cellotape was well maintained. We didn't bother to notify reception as we had no issue with it.
We heard very little noise despite being close to the lift so I'm not sure what earlier reviews were referencing.
Breakfast - Continental in a lovely room, well equipped, clean & the staff were very friendly. The selection was mainly Cereals, Croissants (Raison & Plain) & Baguette with the option to toast. Tea/Coffee/Water/Juice all on tap & more than adequate.
On our return each day the beds had been made, bathroom replenished with towels/soaps etc.
There was a safe in our room but we locked our things away in our case and had no problems with this whatsoever.
On check out - this took less than 5 minutes and again staff were friendly on departure.
Points to note - Trips can be booked at reception such as tour on the River Seine.
Good selection of places to eat close to the hotel but quite expensive.
Excellent Supermarket selling fresh Baguette's for 2 Euro's less than 100 yards from the hotel.
It should be pointed out that this area is in the 'red light district' however regardless of the hour we always felt very safe.
If you are staying for 4 days make sure you pick up a 'Nation' Pass from the Train stattion & ensure you have your passport with you. 39 Euro's for unlimited travel throughout all 5 districts including Airports & Disneyland!.
We would definately recommend this for the price that we paid, expect a basic 3 star hotel & you won't be dissapointed - would stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard if you want a slightly quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much ....the max value...we are so glad for the hotel and all work team.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.