We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh La La” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,086 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh La La”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay here, the rooms are a bit small and do smell of cigarettes but that's France it didn't spoil our stay just left the window open. The location was ideal for sight seeing Moulin Rouge is 100yards away and short walk to metro which we didn't use,we preferred to walk to catch the Big Red Bus (open top) near the Opera pay for the 2 day ticket 29 euros see the sights and hop on and off much safer than the metro only tourists on the bus. Yes the hotel walls are thin as others have commented but it didn't bother us, the hotel receptionist were very knowledgeable and very helpful spoke very good English. Breakfast is very nice croissants, Danish pastries cereals etc and as much juice and coffee as you like. We had a very enjoyable stay would deffo recommend this hotel it's not the Ritz but if your looking for a cheap clean value for money hotel this one is fine would go again

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard would imagine the rooms that overlook the street could get n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you...sorry for the cigarette smelling....it's fordiden to smoke in all the hotel but unfortunalty some people don't respect the others.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    69
    59
    19
    34
See reviews for
11
121
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ioánnina, Ioannina, Greece
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 13:00 and even though check in is at 14:00 the receptionist was kind enough to let us in earlier.Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean.
Breakfast was perfect and the croissants were yummy!
We also had free wi-fi and our rooms were cleaned everyday.
My attempts at french were unnecessary as their English was perfect.
The hotel is located in Place de Clichy right near Moulin Rouge! Metro Station Blanche is just 2 minutes from the hotel however we never used it as everything is close by. The location is perfect,
Also, if you are interested in dining in a french restaurant there is a perfect little restaurant just 5 minutes away from the hotel on Rue Lepic - incredibly convenient!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks you very much....recently we receveid a terrible comment by a guest....we choose to keep it to show our honnesty....every one can have a freedom opinion....however, sometimes it's not exaclty the true and we hope that guests compare all differents and majority comments before booking a room. We try every day to satisfy you...and we enjoy when you share with us your happiness of your stay with us. thanks a lot .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

On our first night we had 3 hours sleep due to our room sharing a wall with the lift, which ended about 1am and started around 5am. We could also hear everything our neighbours were saying and additional noises, such as plugging adapters into the walls etc. The next morning we went to reception to ask for a room change. The receptionist was dealing with a very iriate customer who claimed to have been charged twice for the room, which the hotel strongly denied. The receptionist was clearly stressed and ask us rudely to come back later. When we did we were told the hotel was fully booked except for one room, which they grudgingly moved us too. The room was much better, but our Wifi didnt work and the hair dryer was so hot you couldnt hold it (like the other room). Also, both rooms featured a full length mirror on the wall made from a scavanged sliding door. On checkout, after 3 days, another angry customer was complaining about her bedroom light as it had exploded. The hotel explained they were unable to do anything as all the electrics had blown on the first floor. My advice, dont stay here. If you do, good luck!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wonderful location. Its 2 minutes from the Metro and the Moulin Rouge itself which can be seen from the hotel. A further 5 minutes walk and your into Montmarte area and it is littered with bars, cafes, bistros and resteraunts. Great for finding an evening meal to suit any budget.
The advertised hotel tarriff was an exageration - 250 euros for a night. We got a package through Supabreak that was no where near that amount. The room was small but enough room to walk around. It was clean and well presented. There was no wardrobe but the alcove was curtained off to create one. Bathroom was small but had step in shower (not for those with walking problems). The shower had easily controlable flow and temperature and a mechanical engineering degree was not needed to work it out. Hot water was provided on demand so apart from size the bathroom can not be faulted.
The bed was firm but very comfortable providing a good nights sleep on all three nights. The room bordered the busy road and there was plenty of noise until the early morning. If you sleep with the window open this can be a problem. Other rooms apparently overlook the court yard and are presumably quieter.
Reception was helpful and they all spoke English which was huge plus. The breakfast was ample giving a variety of continental breakfast foods. Service was efficient and unobtrusive.
For what we paid this was a very good hotel. We would return to it and use it again. We did not use WIFy as were on holiday so we leave that stuff behind. Our room had a safe but we did use this facility as we were not there long enough.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night request an innner room overlooking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks a lot...i think your description can be help a lot of tourists to decide it to come in our hotel...we made this year a lot of works on the hotel to satisify our guests and when we receive your comments, we feel very good , thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I liked the location of this hotel. Just a few steps from the Blanche Metro Station in Montmartre, but the room wasn't what we expected for the price. Small and looked worn out. Wireless internet is limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from 3 night midweek stay. Hotel very clean, rooms clean, room we had looked like it had been refurbished fairly recently. We had an attic room ( floor 5), which was typically small ( most Paris rooms are) but had benefit of French doors with small balcony ( would be good in summer).

Room well kitted out with hair drier, comp wifi, LCD tv ( one English station), comfy bed, toiletries .

Continental breakfast good with nice coffee !

Concierge very friendly - good guy who looked after our cases on day we left to save trailing them around Paris.

But next street is red light 'street' but as long as you take it with a pinch of salt it's ok. Not threatening in any shape or form.

Hotel only 50 yards from Blanche metro so great for getting around.

5 minute walk from hotel takes you up the hill to some really nice cafes, restaurants etc and all reasonable.

Would I use the hotel again - yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for the message.
It's very import for clients to check the aera of the hotel they book.
We are situated on the dynamic aera very close of the Moulin Rouge and near Montmarte and Merto and bus station...so, you find a lot of commodities to visit and for the transports and maybe a little bit more noise too.
However, we dispose of 2 differents builing : one oversee on the backstage view...you lonly had to ask to have a room on this part at th moment of the reservation (if you have the avaibility of course).
We hope to see you very soon.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,086 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.