We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather sleep in the doorway across the street.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,026 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'd rather sleep in the doorway across the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

On our first night we had 3 hours sleep due to our room sharing a wall with the lift, which ended about 1am and started around 5am. We could also hear everything our neighbours were saying and additional noises, such as plugging adapters into the walls etc. The next morning we went to reception to ask for a room change. The receptionist was dealing with a very iriate customer who claimed to have been charged twice for the room, which the hotel strongly denied. The receptionist was clearly stressed and ask us rudely to come back later. When we did we were told the hotel was fully booked except for one room, which they grudgingly moved us too. The room was much better, but our Wifi didnt work and the hair dryer was so hot you couldnt hold it (like the other room). Also, both rooms featured a full length mirror on the wall made from a scavanged sliding door. On checkout, after 3 days, another angry customer was complaining about her bedroom light as it had exploded. The hotel explained they were unable to do anything as all the electrics had blown on the first floor. My advice, dont stay here. If you do, good luck!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuntyPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wonderful location. Its 2 minutes from the Metro and the Moulin Rouge itself which can be seen from the hotel. A further 5 minutes walk and your into Montmarte area and it is littered with bars, cafes, bistros and resteraunts. Great for finding an evening meal to suit any budget.
The advertised hotel tarriff was an exageration - 250 euros for a night. We got a package through Supabreak that was no where near that amount. The room was small but enough room to walk around. It was clean and well presented. There was no wardrobe but the alcove was curtained off to create one. Bathroom was small but had step in shower (not for those with walking problems). The shower had easily controlable flow and temperature and a mechanical engineering degree was not needed to work it out. Hot water was provided on demand so apart from size the bathroom can not be faulted.
The bed was firm but very comfortable providing a good nights sleep on all three nights. The room bordered the busy road and there was plenty of noise until the early morning. If you sleep with the window open this can be a problem. Other rooms apparently overlook the court yard and are presumably quieter.
Reception was helpful and they all spoke English which was huge plus. The breakfast was ample giving a variety of continental breakfast foods. Service was efficient and unobtrusive.
For what we paid this was a very good hotel. We would return to it and use it again. We did not use WIFy as were on holiday so we leave that stuff behind. Our room had a safe but we did use this facility as we were not there long enough.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night request an innner room overlooking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks a lot...i think your description can be help a lot of tourists to decide it to come in our hotel...we made this year a lot of works on the hotel to satisify our guests and when we receive your comments, we feel very good , thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I liked the location of this hotel. Just a few steps from the Blanche Metro Station in Montmartre, but the room wasn't what we expected for the price. Small and looked worn out. Wireless internet is limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sonnel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just back from 3 night midweek stay. Hotel very clean, rooms clean, room we had looked like it had been refurbished fairly recently. We had an attic room ( floor 5), which was typically small ( most Paris rooms are) but had benefit of French doors with small balcony ( would be good in summer).

Room well kitted out with hair drier, comp wifi, LCD tv ( one English station), comfy bed, toiletries .

Continental breakfast good with nice coffee !

Concierge very friendly - good guy who looked after our cases on day we left to save trailing them around Paris.

But next street is red light 'street' but as long as you take it with a pinch of salt it's ok. Not threatening in any shape or form.

Hotel only 50 yards from Blanche metro so great for getting around.

5 minute walk from hotel takes you up the hill to some really nice cafes, restaurants etc and all reasonable.

Would I use the hotel again - yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for the message.
It's very import for clients to check the aera of the hotel they book.
We are situated on the dynamic aera very close of the Moulin Rouge and near Montmarte and Merto and bus station...so, you find a lot of commodities to visit and for the transports and maybe a little bit more noise too.
However, we dispose of 2 differents builing : one oversee on the backstage view...you lonly had to ask to have a room on this part at th moment of the reservation (if you have the avaibility of course).
We hope to see you very soon.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrecife
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went to Paris for a weeks holiday in the Spring and wasnt disappointed. Booked into the Moulin Plaza, was only £500 for the two of us for the week. Its exactly what you would expect from a Paris 3 star hotel. It was a base, nothing more. Room extremely small, bathroom tiny, but all wonderfully clean. Out of our window you could see the Moulin Rouge, tramp sleeping in an opposite doorway and lots of sex shops. Fantastic just what we wanted, we were out every day and every night, Montemarte on the little train for dinner, watching the artists and performers. Hotel had a drinks and snacks machine in the reception and breakfast was mostly jams, cheeses and fresh bread and croissants, hot chocolate and coffee etc. Wasnt a banquet but all very fresh and clean and enough to nibble on before you went out for the day. They didnt do an evening meal but you could get room service, we didnt bother as we were out every night. Id definately go back again, but to be honest i think the beauty of Paris won my heart more than the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de Direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for choosing our hôtel. We will be very glad to see you again on the futur. I know that the place is very small in Paris, we are sorry for this inconvenient.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly by phone to book and benefit from our specials offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had low expectations for this "3" star hotel because the price was great for such a prime location. But, when we arrived and got checked in, I was impressed by the kind & patient staff, clean & nice room and all the amenities. Just 1/2 block down rue Fontaine from the Moulin Rouge, this hotel is right between Montmartre (Sacré Cœur) and the Opera House. Yeah, it could use some updates, but free wifi, clean rooms, decent space and the age-old adage "location, location, location" more than make up for any deficiencies. It's the best hotel "bang for the buck" for any of my trips to Paris. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with patio--you might get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLRomantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a very nice, little hotel with good service and more than i excpected from the breakfast! We asked for a room with a balcony, and lucy us, we got it :D
Really nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!!
The hotel also has a perfect location in the lovely area Montmartre <3
I dont know how the other rooms are (Our room wasn`t that big) but with the balcony its become very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwayCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#671 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,234 of 1,809 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Goldhotel
Goldhotel
#1,438 of 1,809 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#6 of 1,809 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha
Hotel Sacha
#303 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,026 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing