We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but next street to red light district.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,013 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel but next street to red light district.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just back from 3 night midweek stay. Hotel very clean, rooms clean, room we had looked like it had been refurbished fairly recently. We had an attic room ( floor 5), which was typically small ( most Paris rooms are) but had benefit of French doors with small balcony ( would be good in summer).

Room well kitted out with hair drier, comp wifi, LCD tv ( one English station), comfy bed, toiletries .

Continental breakfast good with nice coffee !

Concierge very friendly - good guy who looked after our cases on day we left to save trailing them around Paris.

But next street is red light 'street' but as long as you take it with a pinch of salt it's ok. Not threatening in any shape or form.

Hotel only 50 yards from Blanche metro so great for getting around.

5 minute walk from hotel takes you up the hill to some really nice cafes, restaurants etc and all reasonable.

Would I use the hotel again - yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, adjointe de direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for the message.
It's very import for clients to check the aera of the hotel they book.
We are situated on the dynamic aera very close of the Moulin Rouge and near Montmarte and Merto and bus station...so, you find a lot of commodities to visit and for the transports and maybe a little bit more noise too.
However, we dispose of 2 differents builing : one oversee on the backstage view...you lonly had to ask to have a room on this part at th moment of the reservation (if you have the avaibility of course).
We hope to see you very soon.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    68
    53
    21
    32
See reviews for
9
113
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arrecife
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went to Paris for a weeks holiday in the Spring and wasnt disappointed. Booked into the Moulin Plaza, was only £500 for the two of us for the week. Its exactly what you would expect from a Paris 3 star hotel. It was a base, nothing more. Room extremely small, bathroom tiny, but all wonderfully clean. Out of our window you could see the Moulin Rouge, tramp sleeping in an opposite doorway and lots of sex shops. Fantastic just what we wanted, we were out every day and every night, Montemarte on the little train for dinner, watching the artists and performers. Hotel had a drinks and snacks machine in the reception and breakfast was mostly jams, cheeses and fresh bread and croissants, hot chocolate and coffee etc. Wasnt a banquet but all very fresh and clean and enough to nibble on before you went out for the day. They didnt do an evening meal but you could get room service, we didnt bother as we were out every night. Id definately go back again, but to be honest i think the beauty of Paris won my heart more than the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de Direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for choosing our hôtel. We will be very glad to see you again on the futur. I know that the place is very small in Paris, we are sorry for this inconvenient.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly by phone to book and benefit from our specials offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had low expectations for this "3" star hotel because the price was great for such a prime location. But, when we arrived and got checked in, I was impressed by the kind & patient staff, clean & nice room and all the amenities. Just 1/2 block down rue Fontaine from the Moulin Rouge, this hotel is right between Montmartre (Sacré Cœur) and the Opera House. Yeah, it could use some updates, but free wifi, clean rooms, decent space and the age-old adage "location, location, location" more than make up for any deficiencies. It's the best hotel "bang for the buck" for any of my trips to Paris. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with patio--you might get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a very nice, little hotel with good service and more than i excpected from the breakfast! We asked for a room with a balcony, and lucy us, we got it :D
Really nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!!
The hotel also has a perfect location in the lovely area Montmartre <3
I dont know how the other rooms are (Our room wasn`t that big) but with the balcony its become very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed at the Moulin Plaza with my boyfriend for 3 nights in April 2012 and the hotel was a great base for a city break. The Moulin Rouge and the Metro station are a stones throw from the hotel and there are plenty of bars and restaurants around the area.
The room and bathroom were clean and serviced each day. Room is on the small side but that is not uncommon for Paris. The furniture is a bit tired but functional and fine for the price we were paying for our internet deal. Breakfast was included with our package and consisted of the usual breads, pastries, cheese, cereal, juices, tea & coffee and was more than adequate to start the day.
Staff on front desk were friendly and helpful. Overall we were happy with what we got and it's a good 3* hotel to base yourself at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked two rooms at the hotel and I have to say I was really disappointed with both of them. They were on the ground floor and were dark and very uncomfortable. I was worried when leaving the room as the lock on the door was broken. The only good points were the hotel was clean and in a good location and most of the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Responsable relations clients at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Joegateshead,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I'm sorry to read that our hotel does not meet your expectations.
Regarding our rooms, it is true that some are brighter than others as we have rooms from ground floor to fifth floor.
But we could have changed your room if you had expressed your dissatisfaction or let us know while making your reservation.
We hope to be better hosts when one of your future stays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris
Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,013 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.