We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week in Paris Red Light District” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #985 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
arrecife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week in Paris Red Light District”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went to Paris for a weeks holiday in the Spring and wasnt disappointed. Booked into the Moulin Plaza, was only £500 for the two of us for the week. Its exactly what you would expect from a Paris 3 star hotel. It was a base, nothing more. Room extremely small, bathroom tiny, but all wonderfully clean. Out of our window you could see the Moulin Rouge, tramp sleeping in an opposite doorway and lots of sex shops. Fantastic just what we wanted, we were out every day and every night, Montemarte on the little train for dinner, watching the artists and performers. Hotel had a drinks and snacks machine in the reception and breakfast was mostly jams, cheeses and fresh bread and croissants, hot chocolate and coffee etc. Wasnt a banquet but all very fresh and clean and enough to nibble on before you went out for the day. They didnt do an evening meal but you could get room service, we didnt bother as we were out every night. Id definately go back again, but to be honest i think the beauty of Paris won my heart more than the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Adjointe de Direction at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for choosing our hôtel. We will be very glad to see you again on the futur. I know that the place is very small in Paris, we are sorry for this inconvenient.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly by phone to book and benefit from our specials offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    88
    70
    19
    34
See reviews for
12
145
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had low expectations for this "3" star hotel because the price was great for such a prime location. But, when we arrived and got checked in, I was impressed by the kind & patient staff, clean & nice room and all the amenities. Just 1/2 block down rue Fontaine from the Moulin Rouge, this hotel is right between Montmartre (Sacré Cœur) and the Opera House. Yeah, it could use some updates, but free wifi, clean rooms, decent space and the age-old adage "location, location, location" more than make up for any deficiencies. It's the best hotel "bang for the buck" for any of my trips to Paris. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with patio--you might get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a very nice, little hotel with good service and more than i excpected from the breakfast! We asked for a room with a balcony, and lucy us, we got it :D
Really nothing bad to say about this hotel at all!!
The hotel also has a perfect location in the lovely area Montmartre <3
I dont know how the other rooms are (Our room wasn`t that big) but with the balcony its become very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed at the Moulin Plaza with my boyfriend for 3 nights in April 2012 and the hotel was a great base for a city break. The Moulin Rouge and the Metro station are a stones throw from the hotel and there are plenty of bars and restaurants around the area.
The room and bathroom were clean and serviced each day. Room is on the small side but that is not uncommon for Paris. The furniture is a bit tired but functional and fine for the price we were paying for our internet deal. Breakfast was included with our package and consisted of the usual breads, pastries, cheese, cereal, juices, tea & coffee and was more than adequate to start the day.
Staff on front desk were friendly and helpful. Overall we were happy with what we got and it's a good 3* hotel to base yourself at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked two rooms at the hotel and I have to say I was really disappointed with both of them. They were on the ground floor and were dark and very uncomfortable. I was worried when leaving the room as the lock on the door was broken. The only good points were the hotel was clean and in a good location and most of the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Responsable relations clients at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Joegateshead,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I'm sorry to read that our hotel does not meet your expectations.
Regarding our rooms, it is true that some are brighter than others as we have rooms from ground floor to fifth floor.
But we could have changed your room if you had expressed your dissatisfaction or let us know while making your reservation.
We hope to be better hosts when one of your future stays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As I have been to Paris a couple of times before our time in Paris this time around was only ever meant to be brief. I wanted to stay near the moulin rougue and that is exactly what I got as it was just around the corner as well as the meto. prime location If you are looking to be in this area of paris surrounded by resturaunts and tourist shops all reasonable priced for Paris!!
I paid well under the room rate thanks to trip advisors help.
rooms are small and pokey but thats expected of Paris!!
Staff also helped us out with Disneyland tickets for a cheaper price!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street for more of a view or one at the back if you want more peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,148 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Duperre
Libertel Montmartre Duperre
#715 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Trinite Plaza
Trinite Plaza
#1,108 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Saint Georges
Timhotel Saint Georges
#1,386 of 1,793 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Villa Boheme
Hotel Villa Boheme
#1,087 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caravelle
Hotel Caravelle
#989 of 1,793 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #985 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.