We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,040 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    76
    65
    19
    34
See reviews for
12
130
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked two rooms at the hotel and I have to say I was really disappointed with both of them. They were on the ground floor and were dark and very uncomfortable. I was worried when leaving the room as the lock on the door was broken. The only good points were the hotel was clean and in a good location and most of the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejv2009, Responsable relations clients at Moulin Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Joegateshead,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I'm sorry to read that our hotel does not meet your expectations.
Regarding our rooms, it is true that some are brighter than others as we have rooms from ground floor to fifth floor.
But we could have changed your room if you had expressed your dissatisfaction or let us know while making your reservation.
We hope to be better hosts when one of your future stays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As I have been to Paris a couple of times before our time in Paris this time around was only ever meant to be brief. I wanted to stay near the moulin rougue and that is exactly what I got as it was just around the corner as well as the meto. prime location If you are looking to be in this area of paris surrounded by resturaunts and tourist shops all reasonable priced for Paris!!
I paid well under the room rate thanks to trip advisors help.
rooms are small and pokey but thats expected of Paris!!
Staff also helped us out with Disneyland tickets for a cheaper price!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street for more of a view or one at the back if you want more peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great Location !!! Great Bathroom ( im really picky with bathrooms) ! I was there for 10 days, Spring Break 2012 and had a Blast! The moulin Rouge and the Metro station are basically right across the street with a bunch of nice little restaurants all around ! 3thumbs up ! Oh and you cant forget the free wifi they offer ! lol !

Room Tip: I got a room with no minibar ! Try getting one with !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was very worried when i read some of the reviews on here that i was going to a dump. But after going i think alot of people are just nit pickers! It is priced at 250 euros a night for a double now that may seem steep as its not as fancy as hotels in England which charge the same however you have to consider where it is, in a prime location opposite the Moulin Rouge. Upon arrival the hotel front is well presented and the door is automatic yet secure as the receptionist buzzs you in. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. He offered to move us rooms when i asked where the stairs were as i do not like lifts. The reception had a computer which they did charge for but occassionally let you use for free. It also has a payable coffee/tea machine and cold snack and drink vending machine. There is a comfy seating area and it is well stocked with leaflets for attractions and the metro which is very useful. We stayed in room 501 which was clean, nice fluffy carpet which some reviews had said were dirty. The only grubbyish looking carpet i seen was the stairs but with so many people up and down them what do you expect. The bed was comfortable the room was not too hot or cold, there was a desk and chair and a wardrobe with mirrorred panels. There was a flat screen tv which did have some english channels but not many but to be honest we didnt really watch it as we were out all day then tired in the night. There was an ensuite bathroom and the only thing which was bad was that the shower was quite small but still manageble for my 6ft broad partner. There was also a working fridge and room service menu which operated till 1.30am however we never ate off it so couldnt comment on it. Breakfast was standars but nice, juices, coffee, tea, pastries, bread, cereal, condiments. Reception staff were very helpful in instructing us where to get off the metro for attractions. The metro is 60 seconds away across the road and quite easy to navigate using the map you can get in reception. The eiffell tower was just around the corner when we got off the metro which was handy. However do book it online before you go as we qued for nearly 2hrs. We also went to the Moulin Rouge show which is a must see, bit expensive and the champage was not to my taste but you can get cheaper tickets on viator befor you go. Alot of people were reviwing that it was very expensive for food there however i feel that thats just if you are eating in posh expensive resturants every night. We took 470euros and returned with 150. Thats eating out for the 3 days/night we were there, paying for some attractions, a few gifts and nick nacks. Buffalo grill is nice opposite the Moulin Rouge, beautiful view out of window and friendly service. Yes it is the red light district and there are any sex shops however i did not see one prostitute all i saw were the sex places with curtains covering rude pictures with door women/men type people standing outside in normal clothes/coats saying live show, sex live etc. Not very enthusiastic i might add as they were probaby fed up of standing out there. There was no pressure and it was not intimidating at all. We did go in one or two sex shops for a giggle out of curiosity and there was no pressure to buy they just leave you alone. All in all it was a lovely trip and friendly comfortable hotel, i was sad to go home and would definately go back.

Room Tip: back rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Good level of english, and friendly helpful staff. I asked fora quiet room, and found it to be at the back but by the elavator, so asked to change, and was immediately accomodated.
To the front a view of the Moulin Rouge. Great location, and my quiet room was indded quiet.

Room Tip: Just ask for your preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

For a 3 stars hotel surely this one does worth the money and a v good value for what I paid. Location is excellent, 100 mts from the famous Moulin Rouge, and few mts from the metro station (Blanche) and bus stations with many lines going to central Paris, 10 min by metro from the main train station (Gare Du Nord), many restaurants are around and a supermarket as well with also many souvenirs shops, cafes and bars. The hotel is safe and reception staff are more than friendly, rooms are bit small with a free WiFi and clean beds and toilets are ok with full set of towels and TV sattelite, no a/c but it didn't matter as it was nice weather in March. The only thing that was negative for me is that to use the room's safe u have to pay 4 euros per day!!, everything else was ok, (didn't try the breakfast).

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Plaza Hotel

Address: 39 rue Fontaine | Montmartre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moulin Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 19th-century 5-story hotel with beautiful gardens - 5 minutes from Montmartre and Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moulin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moulin Plaza
Moulin Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.