We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is all that matters here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added London Hotel to your Saves list
London Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Boulevard des Italiens, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,111 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Location is all that matters here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed here only one night, my other hotel was booked for that day. The location is great, a 3 minute walk to the Opera, close to all the other attractions.
I have been to Paris many times, I have traveled through Eastern Europe when it was really "Eastern Europe", I have stayed in some fantastic hotels but I also really can appreciate a good value. I can understand the appeal of a hotel that is not expensive in the heart of Paris. I am also of the thinking that a hotel is only a place to sleep while seeing beautiful sights and experiencing a great city. I really did not like this place. First of all, it needs to be mentioned that as I stepped from the taxi with my luggage there was no one there to help. Normally that would be fine but there are, I counted, 30 STEPS TO GET TO THE RECEPTION. This is something that needs to be said for those who just cannot manage that! I am still young and capable of lugging my suitcases up 30 stairs but felt badly for someone who could not. The guys at the reception seemed less than thrilled with his job. I got to my room, or should I say broom closet, and was barely able to squeeze my suitcase into the room. Yes, I know about small European rooms, stayed in plenty of them, but this one was ridiculous. I had to put the small garbage can on top of the desk to make some room. The bathroom is also tiny. The room was clean, I have to say that. The pillow was very hard, heavy and uncomfortable. One more thing, the hotel is next door to a movie theater, as I was falling asleep I felt the base of explosions. It felt just like when you are stopped at a red light and behind you there is some dude with his car stereo on full blast and, although you cannot really hear the music, you can feel the base in your gut. It was not something that I could not fall asleep with but it is good to know what is next door to a place where you will be sleeping. The bottom line is this: a cheap place that is clean, tiny, ton of steps, but a great location.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    65
    51
    17
    6
See reviews for
24
74
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Absolutely fantastic budget hotel. This hotel is very well situated in central Paris, close to 2 metro stations.

Although the room was small, they managed to cram in a 42" LCD TV in there! The bathroom was small also, and it only had a bathtub. A big surprise was that the tub had some jets built in, so you could get a little well-deserved end of day massage.

Breakfast didn't look too good, I'd advise to go to another place for that. There's a McDonald's right next door, or lots of other restaurants along the same street.

A minor problem I encountered: the wireless WiFi was not working at all times, even though the signal was available in the room. Also the personnel is not very quick to check you in and out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hotel was very nice. Friendly, helpful staff. The room was small but thats no surprise in the lower priced hotels in Paris.
The breakfast was simple but provided everything you need for day of walking in the most beautiful city in the world.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel with my family. Very nice little hotel, with the best rate in Paris! we had two rooms, differently decorated. in one room with the street view the bathroom was a bit broken, but second room with the view on backyard was much more comfortable and better quality! the location was right in the center, few meters from Opera, we felt like we had an apartment in Paris for few days! it was so easy returning to the hotel after long walks of site seeing any time of the day. the service was really nice, we were always assist. nice breakfast on a second floor with the view on a busy street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We had a fantastic stay in Paris, and spent three days at the London Hotel. As we had tickets for the ballet Caligula at the Palais Garnier Opera we wanted a hotel nearby. We read several positive reviews at Tripadvisor of the London hotel, so we took the chance and ordered.

The location was perfect, 200 meters from the Opera, and walking distance to several main attractions in Paris like the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Madeleine etc. And if not interested in walking, the Metro was just outside the hotel.

Service was very good, the man behind the desk was very serviceminded and helped us with everything we wanted. The room was quite small, but it was very clean and the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was just ordinaire, some jam and eggs with orange juice, coffee and tea. But it was included in the price we payed, and an easy start to the day.

We slept well, some traffic outside, but if you had the window/veranda door closed it was silent. At the price we payed we got more than expected. We would stay at the London hotel again next time in Paris. And a fantastic city for a romantic stay and an engagement:-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

For a weekend break and great location, can't fault this hotel. Good value, small rooms but can't expect much else, room and bathroom clean, bathroom small but functional. Breakfast was croissants etc, standard fare. Shame everywhere else in Paris is so expensive, not great on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

It was my second stay in the hotel and I'll surely come back.
The hotel is ideally situated close to the Opera, main stores (Galerie Lafayette), nplace Vendome, main theaters, restaurants, ...
Rooms are clean and the bathroom was equipped with a jaccuzzi.
Free WiFi.
The restaurant / lounge is very pleasant.
The only diappointment was the breakfast wre croissant and bread did not meet usual quality for French bakery (did not seem fresh of the day)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Hotel

Address: 32 Boulevard des Italiens, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,111 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.