We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madeleine Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #414 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, well located, in front of Madeleine Church. Rooms are small, what is quite common in Paris. If you like classic music concerts, take a look at Madeleine Church recitals, is amazing... I loved the Parisian atmosphere of this Hotel. Good breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    156
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
149
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you are on the correct side of the hotel, I'm sure you have a magnificent view of Madaleine Plaza. If you are on the other side, however, you're basically looking at walls. I'm not sure how they determined who should get what room, but I definitely think we got one of the worst rooms in the hotel.

The wifi connection was spotty at best and really made it difficult for us, as we had stored all of our "to-dos" and "to-eats" online, knowing (or at least thinking) we'd have wifi at the hotel. Not so. It cut out every few minutes and was VERRRYYY slow when it was up. It's basically unusable.

Location-wise, it was great. We could take a long walk to the louvre and the Champs-Elysee. There is a metro station right at the corner. Laduree was just a block and a half. Getting around the city from here was a breeze.

The room itself was small, as are most rooms in Europe. The lighting was dark. But it was clean and it had a little fridge which was convenient for us. (Our terrible jet lag meant we would wake up in the middle of the night starving). It's hard to give a fair rating since I haven't stayed anywhere else in Paris, but we wouldn't be opposed to staying there again. Now that we know the area better, we might have preferred the 5th or 6th arr. for more access to good food. =)

The breakfast spread was not quite as extensive as the professional pictures showed, but it was definitely good enough.

If I recall correctly, it was about 40 minutes from CDG by cab.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I booked Hotel Madeleine Plaza after reading Trip Advisor reviews and found it excellent. We had a lovely room overlooking the Madeleine Church - night views were spectacular. Room was not huge, but it was adequate. Location is excellent - you can easily walk to many of the main attractions. Bed, pillows and linen were all of a good standard. Staff are very helpful. There was a rail and taxi strike during and our stay and staff were very helpful in arranging private transport to our next stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Madeleine Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel as it had one of the best prices for the few rooms I could find in a decent location with twin beds (visiting with my stepson). The location was probably the best feature of the hotel. It was convenient to just about everything. There is a Metro station (subway) on the corner and the main station is a short walk away. The room was small and needs to be updated. They did have a convenient buffet breakfast (at a cost) off the lobby which was pretty decent. The staff was helpful when asked but showed little enthusiasm. It worked for this guys trip (Roland Garros and Normandy) but I will not stay here when my wife and I come back to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and it's location is probably it's best feature. It is very close to an entrance to the metro (if you come out the wrong exit you are on the complete other side of the Madeleine) and you can walk to all the big attractions (louvre, Eiffel Tower, musee d'orsay, arc de triumphe).

The room was small, but this was expected. My parents had a room with a balcony, but it was too filthy for them to use - it was not cleaned during their 4 day stay.

We also placed a do not disturb sign on our door every day, but every day someone either knocked or simply came uni our room when we were not there. One day we quickly went back to the room to pick up a forgotten item and found someone looking in our fridge to see if we had used (an astonishly marked up) drink or snack.

My parents had also got some mail sent to the hotel on their behalf. On enquiring with the after hours person at the front desk if it was there, the person made no effort to look for it and rudely told them they should have checked their room for an envelope. The letter turned out to be at the reception when checked again at 7am the next morning.

Positives were a lovely young lay at reception who was very lovely and helpful and kindly spoke English to us (as did all the staff) in a friendly manner.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but when paying at much would expect more service and those little things not to happen.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay at the Hotel Madeleine Plaza. This friendly, traditional Parisian boutique hotel is ideally located for discovering Paris and the surrounding region! It is across the street from La Madeleine (Church of Madeleine ); next to Metro and train connections; near great cafes and shops; and within easy walking distance of Place de la Concorde, Champs-Élysées, Tuileries Garden, Seine River, Palais Garnier (Opera House), Galeries Lafayette, and so much more! Our room was small, clean and comfortable; and large windows opened to a fabulous view of the bustling street and church below. The staff were welcoming and helpful, specialty cafés and a small bar can be found in the lobby, and a full breakfast buffet is available in the morning. A small elevator and spiral staircase provide access to each floor, and the other guests were equally enthralled by the "heart of Paris" experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, NW side along Rue Tronchet, and was quite comfortable and quiet, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very small rooms. Our 104 had a bedroom of about 10 sqm. Toilet and shower were in separate "rooms". On the floor there is a ugly and disgusting longhaired carpet, see pic. Low ceiling in bathroom, i wasnt able to stand up straight when taking a shower. A lot of noice from the street outside. Not a problem for us though.
We stayed here for five nights.
Service is not good. One day we had to wait to get the room cleaned.,We came in at 4.10 pm. Our room was not cleaned. We ask a maid in the hallway how long time she needs to clean. She welcomed us with a rude attitude. We complain at front desk that our room is not ready. At 5 pm, we ask about our room. THEN they tell us that our room is ready for some time.. Thank you for not telling us when you knew we were waiting (3 m from the front desk). Incredibly bad service to have to wait until 5 o'clock to get your room cleaned. We will not return to this hotel. My tip, look for att better hotell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Address: 33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#306 Family Hotel in Paris
#322 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeleine Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.