We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madeleine Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel as it had one of the best prices for the few rooms I could find in a decent location with twin beds (visiting with my stepson). The location was probably the best feature of the hotel. It was convenient to just about everything. There is a Metro station (subway) on the corner and the main station is a short walk away. The room was small and needs to be updated. They did have a convenient buffet breakfast (at a cost) off the lobby which was pretty decent. The staff was helpful when asked but showed little enthusiasm. It worked for this guys trip (Roland Garros and Normandy) but I will not stay here when my wife and I come back to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    165
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
167
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and it's location is probably it's best feature. It is very close to an entrance to the metro (if you come out the wrong exit you are on the complete other side of the Madeleine) and you can walk to all the big attractions (louvre, Eiffel Tower, musee d'orsay, arc de triumphe).

The room was small, but this was expected. My parents had a room with a balcony, but it was too filthy for them to use - it was not cleaned during their 4 day stay.

We also placed a do not disturb sign on our door every day, but every day someone either knocked or simply came uni our room when we were not there. One day we quickly went back to the room to pick up a forgotten item and found someone looking in our fridge to see if we had used (an astonishly marked up) drink or snack.

My parents had also got some mail sent to the hotel on their behalf. On enquiring with the after hours person at the front desk if it was there, the person made no effort to look for it and rudely told them they should have checked their room for an envelope. The letter turned out to be at the reception when checked again at 7am the next morning.

Positives were a lovely young lay at reception who was very lovely and helpful and kindly spoke English to us (as did all the staff) in a friendly manner.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but when paying at much would expect more service and those little things not to happen.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay at the Hotel Madeleine Plaza. This friendly, traditional Parisian boutique hotel is ideally located for discovering Paris and the surrounding region! It is across the street from La Madeleine (Church of Madeleine ); next to Metro and train connections; near great cafes and shops; and within easy walking distance of Place de la Concorde, Champs-Élysées, Tuileries Garden, Seine River, Palais Garnier (Opera House), Galeries Lafayette, and so much more! Our room was small, clean and comfortable; and large windows opened to a fabulous view of the bustling street and church below. The staff were welcoming and helpful, specialty cafés and a small bar can be found in the lobby, and a full breakfast buffet is available in the morning. A small elevator and spiral staircase provide access to each floor, and the other guests were equally enthralled by the "heart of Paris" experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, NW side along Rue Tronchet, and was quite comfortable and quiet, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very small rooms. Our 104 had a bedroom of about 10 sqm. Toilet and shower were in separate "rooms". On the floor there is a ugly and disgusting longhaired carpet, see pic. Low ceiling in bathroom, i wasnt able to stand up straight when taking a shower. A lot of noice from the street outside. Not a problem for us though.
We stayed here for five nights.
Service is not good. One day we had to wait to get the room cleaned.,We came in at 4.10 pm. Our room was not cleaned. We ask a maid in the hallway how long time she needs to clean. She welcomed us with a rude attitude. We complain at front desk that our room is not ready. At 5 pm, we ask about our room. THEN they tell us that our room is ready for some time.. Thank you for not telling us when you knew we were waiting (3 m from the front desk). Incredibly bad service to have to wait until 5 o'clock to get your room cleaned. We will not return to this hotel. My tip, look for att better hotell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you're looking for a classical Parisian hotel in a great location, the Madison Plaza will be your place. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a corner room overlooking the Place de la Madeleine that was clean, adequately spacious, quiet and well-furnished, perhaps to excess as we found the extra little table and chairs more impediment than help. We noted that other hotel guests had put the extra chairs out in the hall. The reception desk personnel were polite and helpful. The location speaks for itself--very near the Metro, near deluxe shopping, and near the Garnier and the Olympia. We had stayed on the Left Bank many times and wanted a different neighborhood to explore. This hotle was the right choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor contributors!! I just returned from 8 days at the Madeleine Plaza and loved it. I had a package deal from a Tour agent, so really don't know how much of my package was lodging, perhaps it was pricey....but so is all of Paris! Huge Thanks for the tip on Room 703. It's the room decorated blue in the photos. Slipping off to sleep every night after a full day of touring Paris in the rain gazing at the glittering Eiffel Tower from my pillow made it so worth it. The lift is directly across from the room, but we were so dog-tired, we hardly noticed the noise. The front desk staff are awesome. I have bad knees, and every afternoon as we returned from touring, the front desk just knew to provide me with a bucket of ice for my knees. Granted, the breakfast area is small, and at times crowded....but this happened 1-2 days out of 8. The food is decent, and allowed us to load up, and tour all day without lunch! The breakfast staff is pleasant and accommodating. Restaurants in the neighborhood (Madeleine C, L'Ecluse, Chez Papa, Chez Monsieur, and Visconti (great food, weird servers) are great. Definitely check out the Maille Mustard shop around the plaza and take home a crock of Black Truffle Mustard.....absolutely to die for. The other 50+ kinds of mustard there are also delish!

Room Tip: Ask for 703 and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend, expected more for the price. Youre paying for the location (which is great) not the amenities or the service. I travel frequently and this is a 3 star hotel at best. No assistance with luggage, tiny breakfast area (no restaurant), room service served in plastic boxes.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Address: 33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#308 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#347 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeleine Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.