We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, thats it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Madeleine Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #445 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sverige
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Location, thats it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very small rooms. Our 104 had a bedroom of about 10 sqm. Toilet and shower were in separate "rooms". On the floor there is a ugly and disgusting longhaired carpet, see pic. Low ceiling in bathroom, i wasnt able to stand up straight when taking a shower. A lot of noice from the street outside. Not a problem for us though.
We stayed here for five nights.
Service is not good. One day we had to wait to get the room cleaned.,We came in at 4.10 pm. Our room was not cleaned. We ask a maid in the hallway how long time she needs to clean. She welcomed us with a rude attitude. We complain at front desk that our room is not ready. At 5 pm, we ask about our room. THEN they tell us that our room is ready for some time.. Thank you for not telling us when you knew we were waiting (3 m from the front desk). Incredibly bad service to have to wait until 5 o'clock to get your room cleaned. We will not return to this hotel. My tip, look for att better hotell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    154
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
57
144
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you're looking for a classical Parisian hotel in a great location, the Madison Plaza will be your place. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a corner room overlooking the Place de la Madeleine that was clean, adequately spacious, quiet and well-furnished, perhaps to excess as we found the extra little table and chairs more impediment than help. We noted that other hotel guests had put the extra chairs out in the hall. The reception desk personnel were polite and helpful. The location speaks for itself--very near the Metro, near deluxe shopping, and near the Garnier and the Olympia. We had stayed on the Left Bank many times and wanted a different neighborhood to explore. This hotle was the right choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor contributors!! I just returned from 8 days at the Madeleine Plaza and loved it. I had a package deal from a Tour agent, so really don't know how much of my package was lodging, perhaps it was pricey....but so is all of Paris! Huge Thanks for the tip on Room 703. It's the room decorated blue in the photos. Slipping off to sleep every night after a full day of touring Paris in the rain gazing at the glittering Eiffel Tower from my pillow made it so worth it. The lift is directly across from the room, but we were so dog-tired, we hardly noticed the noise. The front desk staff are awesome. I have bad knees, and every afternoon as we returned from touring, the front desk just knew to provide me with a bucket of ice for my knees. Granted, the breakfast area is small, and at times crowded....but this happened 1-2 days out of 8. The food is decent, and allowed us to load up, and tour all day without lunch! The breakfast staff is pleasant and accommodating. Restaurants in the neighborhood (Madeleine C, L'Ecluse, Chez Papa, Chez Monsieur, and Visconti (great food, weird servers) are great. Definitely check out the Maille Mustard shop around the plaza and take home a crock of Black Truffle Mustard.....absolutely to die for. The other 50+ kinds of mustard there are also delish!

Room Tip: Ask for 703 and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend, expected more for the price. Youre paying for the location (which is great) not the amenities or the service. I travel frequently and this is a 3 star hotel at best. No assistance with luggage, tiny breakfast area (no restaurant), room service served in plastic boxes.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

room 307 3rd floor, twin bedded room, traffic in Paris never stops, if You look for a silent room this hotel is not for you! But it's very clean, nice & small room, wc and rest of the bathroom divided, taxi stand and metro stop round the corner, booking in advance You cab get a discount, I suggest it and shall go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a lovely Weekend in paris, the hotel was great. Service was excelent, very helpful also breakfest. Got a beautifulb room with a view of eiffel tower, will recomend to everyone to visit this great hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Google Translation
Chère Madame, cher Monsieur,

Je vous remercie chaleureusement pour vos commentaires très positifs sur notre établissement.

J'ai été ravi de savoir que vous avez apprécié la chambre et sa vue, le petit-déjeuner et le service de l'hôtel que je ne manquerai pas de transmettre à toute l'équipe.

Nous restons à votre service pour toute information souhaitée et pour vous accueillir une prochaine fois,

Avec mes cordiales salutations,

François HAUTH
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our fourth visit to this hotel - which probably says it all!
Great staff. Lovely room - thank you for booking us into our favourite room, we won't divulge which one as everyone else will want it!. Immaculately clean. Perfect location.
We would not choose to stay anywhere else in Paris.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Address: 33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#341 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#353 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeleine Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.