We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madeleine Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very clean hotel in a nice location. You are walking distance to most Paris attractions and shopping. Also there are two tour bus lines converging around the corner from the hotel.

The rooms are small (as expected for Paris) but very clean with modern bathrooms. The widows open up big giving you a nice feel of Paris as well as the beauty of the Madeline Church which is right across the street..

Overall great experience and I would return to this hotel....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at our hotel. It is always rewarding to read positive reviews and all the team was very proud of it.

Best regards

Julien Chantre
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    158
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
152
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel was clean and efficient, and the staff was helpful. We communicated before our stay via email and they really took care of us.They accomodated our need for 2 twin rooms next to each other (we had two 14-year old boys with us who wanted their own room, and my husband and I needed twins to sleep comfortablysince we are accustomed to a king--they put the twins very close together, which was perfect).

The rooms are nicely decorated, while the lobby is more spartan. The price was reasonable by neighborhood standards because the shopping there is very high-end. The Metro is right around the corner, and the restaurant next door was the French version of an American diner, but of course BETTER for the food! It was open 7-midnight, which was also fantastic for travelers adjusting to jet-lag.

Really, the only negative was the street/restaurant noise. Unfortunately we were on the 1st floor, so this was tough at times...very NYC. But the beds were lovely to sink into.

Just blocks away from the Champs, Louvre, Opera House, Rue du Rivoli, Place de la Concorde. Eiffel Tower is more of a hike as was Notre Dame and the Catacombs, so used the Metro for those.

WATCH OUT FOR PICKPOCKETS AND DROPPED-RING SCAMS (they'll ask if it's yours and then ask for $$ to give you what they claim is a "real gold" band they found on the ground, HA!).

Room Tip: Ask for what you need, and if noise is an issue, say so. Avoid 1st floor as janitorial closets are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you took to write these nice comments on your stay after your stay at the Hotel Madeleine Plaza.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise of the restaurant and the street, as it is on the 1st floor. In that case, when the guests tell us, we always propose to change for a room on a upper floor.

I am very pleased that you liked the comfort of our beds that were changed one year ago.

I stay at your service for any further information and look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

With my best regards,

François HAUTH
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed one week, Central hotel on Place de la Madeleine. Near shops and dept. stores on Haussman. 20m from Subway entrance. Location makes it easy to walk or reach all attractions. Safe neighbourhood.

Room was a bit small for 2 adults and one child but manageable and clean.
Hotel was in renovation, staff was very helpful and were not bothered by construction at all. no noise at all.

Nice view from 7th floor toward Place de la Madeleine and Eiffel tower.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Je tiens à vous remercier chaleureusement pour le temps passé à nous faire part de vos commentaires très positifs après votre séjour à l'hôtel Madeleine Plaza.

Effectivement, entre mi février et début avril 2013, nous avons fait des travaux de rénovation au rez-de-chaussée et dans les couloirs afin d'améliorer notre produit. Je vous présente toutes nos excuses si vous avez eu des désagréments.

Les chambres du 7ème étage sont très belles et ont une magnifique vue sur la Place de la Madeleine et la Tour Eiffel. Je suis ravi que vous ayez apprécié une de ces chambres.

Je reste à votre service pour toute autre information souhaitée et je me réjouis de vous accueillir à nouveau à l'hôtel Madeleine Plaza.

Avec mes chaleureuses salutations,

François HAUTH
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My room (106) was beautifully furnished and a wonderfully light corner room overlooking the rear of the Madeleine Church. The reception area was less impressive than I expected but the room was wonderful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have 3 windows and are very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you spent to write these nice comments on our hotel.

You are right, the room 106 is a very charming room with 3 windows facing the Madeleine church and the furniture is typically classical French.

I regret that you did not like the new reception area. The style is a bit more modern but still keeps a classical touch.

I look forward to welcoming you another time.

With my very best regards,

François HAUTH
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Situated within minutes of Place de la Concorde, this was an ideal base to explore Paris.

Upon arrival, we were informed, by a friendly receptionist, of an upgrade to a superior room, with no extra charge. Didn't argue with that! We had a wonderful balcony overlooking Place de La Madeleine and to top it all off there was a heatwave during our stay.

Very clean rooms, with a cleaner coming in every day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the time you spent to write these nice comments on our hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Madeleine Plaza.

Everytime it is possible, we are happy to upgrade our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you another time.

With my best regards,

François HAUTH
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for work. It was easy to get to any place we had to go. The rooms are small, old, but very clean and quaint. I was lucky to get room 506, a corner room with windows that opened to a small balcony. For 2 people the rooms are a fine size. If you are visiting you will not be spending much time in the room anyway. There is just so much to do and see. The breakfast every morning is very good. The staff were helpful and pleasant. As I do not speak French they do speak some english so it worked out wonderful. I would stay here even if it was not for work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Directeur général at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for your nice comments on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you appreciated the services and location of the hotel. it was a real pleasure to welcome you and take care of you during your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you another time,
With my very best regards,

François HAUTH
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was my first trip to Paris with 3 girl friends. Our travel agent booked this hotel based on our desire to be walking distance from everything. The location was perfect for walking or metro as the station is right around the corner. The area is all high-end shops, great restaurants (with great wine!) and chocolate shops. The staff was very friendly, spoke good English, and very knowledgeable and helpful. They recommended a fabulous restaurant (Chez Papa) and called for any other information we needed to avoid a language barrier.They have a small bar so we drank some of their wine but they were fine with us using their glasses to drink our purchased bottles (wine store next door). The breakfast was much more than we expected (included in our package but otherwise at a cost). They were still working on renovations but that didn't have any impact on us. Rooms are small but that's Europe. Absolutely the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced in a hotel! I (we) highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHauth, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeleine Plaza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read such a positive comment on our hotel. All our staff was pleased to find out they have met your expectation and helped you getting the best of Paris. We hope to welcome you again for you next trip to Paris.

Warm regards,

Julien Chantre
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Address: 33 Place De La Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#315 Family Hotel in Paris
#332 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeleine Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.