We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Good location and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Paris Orleans

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Paris Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Paris Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185-187 Blvd Brune, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #840 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, Good location and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Quality Hotel, Paris, was a value for money, service-friendly, and clean hotel. While it had many excellent qualities, it also had a couple of minor faults worth mentioning.

We booked this hotel as we quite like the Montparnasse (Mountrouge) areas of Paris. It is located within a one minute walking distance from the Porte D’Orleans stop (on line 4) on the Paris metro. (It is worth noting that although Porte D’Orleans looks quite a distance from a ‘centre’ stop, such as Chatelet, the Parisian Metro stops a located within a short distance to each other). The location, therefore, is ideal for all visitors.

The hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They assisted us excellently and politely. The breakfast was good too (although the scrambled eggs were a little runny – this may be the way they are made in France). Nevertheless, there was an excellent selection of cereals, breads, pastries and juices there, and the breakfast staff were friendly too.

The rooms are very satisfactory for the price. Our room was clean, moderately sized and accessed with ease by an elevator. The provision of complementary teas and coffees were welcomed too. However, there was no socket by the bedside (for phone charging) which would have been useful.

Wi-fi was provided to the two of us via a log-in receipt. It was fast enough for regular web browsing, emails, and social media. We found that our connection was not quick enough to handle VOIP (Skype) calls from our smart phones, but we are aware that they have a whole hotel to cater for, we did not find this an issue.

However, we have two minor faults with the hotel. First, on our second day we put up a ‘do not disturb’ sign on our door (we simply didn’t want the room serviced). This was disregarded; our room was entered and serviced anyway. I am aware that this may have been a simple misunderstanding by a member of staff; we were not too bothered as our valuables in our room were not touched. Second, our rooms was not noise-proof. We could hear our neighbours relatively easily through the walls.

Summary: Pro: This is a clean hotel, ideal for couples. Service, food, and staff were all satisfactory. Con: Misunderstanding with room service and thin walls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    156
    68
    32
    4
See reviews for
45
153
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel wasn't my first choice, but i couldn't get rooms there, so I went with Thomas Cooks choice of hotel.

The reviews were good, so we assumed we were in good hands. We were! The hotel itself is a little way out of town, right on the periphery of the city centre maps that you get free when you check in. Its £35 in a taxi mid afternoon from Gare du Nord, so I would recommend taking the metro. Very very simple line number 4 - straight to Port d'Orleans station and the hotel is right behind the Auto Passion Restaurant, you can't miss it. We used the metro a lot, and we purchased the "mobilis" ticket which for £6.60 will let you travel zones 1 and 2 all day. These can't be found very easily on the English translation of the machines, but if you can decipher the french version (or find a friendly/exasperated with the English Women guard) they are a lot simpler to find and far handier than buying a book of 10 tickets for £13!

Anyhoo back to the hotel.

Reception Staff - wonderful - The two guys in the afternoons are great, Nadia who works mornings is lovely and the older guy who does the evening shift is cheerful too.
Waiting staff. The quiet black guy is very pleasant and efficient and Ana, the older lady is lovely too.
Cleaning staff are efficient and very good at their jobs. You wouldn't know we'd been in our room when we came back each day. Excellent!
Breakfast is plentiful and as soon as something is empty its filled straight back up, the tables are cleared quietly and efficiently and the room, is sparkly and sunny with a lovely view of the street.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they were great when I needed some flowers for my mum's birthday and when we needed to book a taxi
The decor in the hotel is great with the 30's 40's look and the stunning spiral staircase with the hollywood photos and cannes posters . However! The purple paint is a little much, it does need toning down slightly. The walnut veneer on the doors is a lovely touch though and we had a balcony that overlooked the street which was lovely, but could have done with a step up as it was a little high to reach the step over and my travelling companion has mobility issues getting onto the balcony was a little cumbersome. The rooms are very warm so I'd recomment light bedwear and if you can stand the noise of the road then sleep with the balcony window open.

Although I would prefer to be closer to the centre if I went to Paris again, if I couldn't find somewhere in my price range I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again, and make the most of the metro.

We visited two restaurants nearby and I have reviewed these also. Le Pomme Rouge (on here as Red Apple) and Casanova restaurant

Room Tip: The 6th floor on the front - Rooms 601-605 have a great view down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My fault I suppose, but this hotel was way out of town. We had to get the Metro everywhere. It was clean and the reception staff were friendly. But they are renovating the third floor, we were on the fourth and it was very noisy. Breakfast was good if you stuck to the cold buffet, the scrambled eggs were a bit runny and the sausages rock hard! The waiting staff were not so friendly. The room was small, as is usual in Paris, but the bathroom was tiny, there was nowhere to put toiletries etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to Paris with my then boyfriend and now husband in 2009 and we had an amazing time at this hotel, nice decor, close to the metro station and there was a bakery in front of the hotel and an asian restaurant next to it, good if you stay out late.
They offer a good breakfast too.
Rooms and bathroom were clean and the staff friendly and helpful, they kept our lugagge behind the desk.


Comfortable bed, clean bedsheets (and I am a bit OCD with regards to cleanliness), kettle and teabags (different types of tea),safe in room, I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Thank you to the staff for a wonderful experience, we still remember it now in 2013 (had to put May 2012 because that's the earliest one allowed on the review page) but never got around writing a review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from Paris in the Springtime! Weather no great shakes but Paris good anytime! This hotel was good value for Paris. Comfortable and clean and all the facilities you would expect from 4 star hotel. Kettle, BBC on tv , safe in room, bath and shower etc The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant and went out of the way to give guidance. Helped us get to Versailles in the easiest way possible. Although its a little way out of the centre it's right next to the metro line 4 and about 15 minutes to the centre. Trains are every few minutes. Also on a convenient tramline and easy to get to from the airport. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiter at the back and I got a view of the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited this hotel for 3 nights in Dec 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they kept our luggage behind the desk after checkout and let us use the computer and printer with no charge. The rooms are nice and clean and the hotel is decorated with a music theme which was a nice touch. Great location as the metro line 4 is just across the road and will get you to the sights very easily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Paris for a week was very lucky to have found this hotel! The best part were the friendly and helpful staff especially Ianis the front desk clerk. The rooms were bright and clean. The Paris transit system was literally steps from the front door and you can get anywhere in the city within 15 minutes loved it!! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Paris Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Paris Orleans

Address: 185-187 Blvd Brune, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#312 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Paris Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel Paris Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Paris Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.