We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobby and Jazz Bar-Very dated rooms but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Etoile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Etoile to your Saves list
Le Meridien Etoile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #902 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great lobby and Jazz Bar-Very dated rooms but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed for 2 nights and overall I was satisfied but at the rate of €210 Euros per night it is way overpriced for a very dated room. The lobby and Jazz bar look great but the rest is very old fashioned. My reason for choosing this hotel was because of a conference that was also at the hotel. The breakfasts were pretty good too.My main disappointment was the price and state of the room only.

  • Liked — Jazz Bar
  • Disliked — Dated and expensive room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_LMP, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, February 3, 2009
Dear Client,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you very much for having chosen Le Méridien Etoile for your latest stay in Paris.

Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

However, we were sorry to learn, through your questionnaire, that you were disappointed by the general style of the room which you fouond outdated.
Please note that we have started a general refurbishment last year. Presently we have completed 5 out of the 9th floors.

Apologizing again, Dear Client, we hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed grant opportunity to welcome you back to Le Méridien Etoile.

Assuring you of our best care and attention, we remain and thank your loyalty to Starwood.



Yours sincerely,



OLIVIER SERVAT HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    984
    604
    241
    107
See reviews for
311
796
160
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for three days and 2 nights after a trip to Kuala Lumpur. I got in at 7 am and had to pay about 50 euros for early check in (check in time is at 3 pm). The staff was very helpful and friendly. The desk clerk told me I could leave my bags with the concierge and return at 3 pm, but after a 12 hour flight all I wanted was a room.

After check in, the desk clerk gave me a Meridien Etoile Paris Map (for dummies) which is like the BEST MAP ever if you are visiting Paris.

There was a warning however, when I made the reservation; the hotel was being remodeled and they said "drilling may be heard during the morning hours". Well, the drilling was taking place in the wing where my room was.

The room was nothing special but it had a view to a beautiful plaza, and it was quiet (last room in the hall). It had a 42" inch LCD television, a minibar and a lot of Paris materials: Books, maps, pamphlets, brochures, and trip options.

Service at the restaurant was excellent, although in July of 2008 the Euro was at an all-time high so food was really expensive.

The best part of this hotel is the location. Exactly in front of the Air France Shuttle stop at the Palace of Congress, which takes you to and from CDG terminal at $14 euro (about 20 bucks).

The concierge in the lobby was about 100 years old but he knew Paris like no one's business. He knew all about the best deals for eating, tours, visiting, he was very helpful. He will tell you all about getting the most out of your money.

The bathroom was spotless; however it is split in two. The shower and sink are in one room; the toilet is in another room (they are right next to each other). The toilet's lightbulb was acting up, I called and they changed it within 10 minutes. The shower room had everything beautifully arranged from soaps and creams to towels and bathroom necessities.

The room's furniture is not exactly modern, but the shower itself is new and the LCD TV made it look like a million bucks. For what I had paid, I decided to make use of it sleeping off my Malaysia flight. Totally worth it.

The Arc of Triumph and Champs Elysees are only a few blocks away. I did a complete tour walking from the hotel to La Defense in one day, next day I walked straight to Trocadero and the Eiffel Tower. Location is UNBEATABLE.

Everything in the minibar and the restaurant is awfully overpriced, but if you cross the street you will find several asian-owned supermarkets where you can buy pastries, bread, cheese, juices, cereals, etc. really cheap. Just stuff that in the minibar and you are set.no extra charges.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Remodeling going on
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierServat, Olivier Servat Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Dear Edwie
Thank you for your review on the tripadvisor site. Your comments on the hotel especially regarding our Concierge staff and location are very encouraging and will be shared with the team.
Your remarks on food and beverage outlets have been passed on to our F&B Manager.
Thank you once again for bringing these issues to our attention.
Hoping to welcome you back ,

Sincerely
Olivier Servat Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Booked this room, well in advance, through Priceline, knowing that it was going to be stay over new year's eve. Paid $164 USD/night for a total of $361.76 for two nights including all taxes and fees. It seems the rate paid will highly influence perceptions at this hotel. There is no way I would feel well if I paid the over $500 euros rate per night that is posted on the sign on the front desk.

My son and I arrived on the TGV from Geneva at 1:30 p.m. Waited for about 10 minutes at the check-in desk. All positions were open and busily serving other guests, it was just that busy. Upon check-in I was informed that the hotel was fully booked for new years; but I was still able to check in early to a room that was already cleaned. We were given room 1093.

Since I had booked this hotel quite early I had almost a year to read the ongoing reviews of this hotel and the rennovation project that was going on. I was fully prepared for what I experienced.

First off, I did not get one of the newly rennovated rooms, which really didn't bother me too much. However, the constant noise through the walls all night long was maddening. To top it all off the construction noise started at 7:00 in the morning. I actually think they must have been jack hammering the tiles in the bathroom directly above our room. Long story short: typical Priceline room. Considering the room rate was relatively inexpensive, the hotel was in Paris, and it was new year's eve, and the fact that I always travel with ear plugs, it worked out O.K. My 21 year old never complained once about the noise.

There is FREE Internet on the 7th floor. When you exit from the elevator lobby on the 7th floor, turn left. There are two terminals in the hall. Everytime I checked there were occupied.

A reviewer on this site suggested a restaurant called Le Relais de Venise 'L'Entrecôte' at 271, Boulevard Pereire Sud. If you exit from the hotel, turn left, go to the end of the block and turn left again. In the middle of the road is the enterance to the subway/RER system. Cross the road, keep to the left of the subway station building enterance and cross another road. The restaurant is on the left with red awnings. It is AMAZING! It is AFFORDABLE! The reviewers are correct in advising to line up early. We arrived at 6:30 and were the fifth group in line. By 7:00, when they open, the line went down the block and not everyone got in. (this would have meant another 1.5 hour wait for these people) Arrive by 6:30. There is no menu. You get steak frites. They simply ask you how you want your steak. The salad was amazing, the steak amazing and the fries awesome. The house wine was incredible, so much so, I purchased a bottle to take with me. I have heard that they also have a location in Central London now.

Also, if a light breakfast (read: coffee and chocolate croissants) go across the road to the convention center (salle de congress). There is a shopping mall on the lower level with a good little chain called "Paul". This chain seems to be all over the place, but you can get a "pain a chocolate" for 1.10 euros.

As other reviewers have stated the Air France "autocars" bus to the airport is right across the street. The metro/RER entry is at the end of the block, 45 second walk (exit the front door and turn left). Even though this hotel is not central, it is easy to get to all of the sites quickly via the very efficient Paris underground system.

Even though the room did have some short comings, the city was amazing, the people of Paris friendly and helpful and our overall stay memorable.

  • Liked — Vibrant lobby, location close to transit, hotel brand Le Meridien.
  • Disliked — Outdated, noisey room.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We just returned from 4 nights at the Le Meridien Etoile and were very, very pleased. My husband and I had a newly remodeled Executive room (#2078). The room was comfortable, quiet and wonderfully decorated (Euro modern) and had the BEST shower! Everything about the experience was perfect and we would stay there again. It is only about a block from the metro and RER, there is a shopping mall and grocery store across the street and many nearby restaurants.

The concierge's and doormen were very helpful. We almost did not book this hotel because Starwood has made too many errors on giving us points, but we are very glad we made this choice.

Thank you Le Meridien for a wonderful experience.

Mark and Teri Hanson, Minnesota

  • Liked — The large size and comfort of the Executive room
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, Olivier Servat Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, March 11, 2009
Dear Guests –Kajon

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on our hotel.

We are all very proud of our newly refurbished hotel and are delighted to read your great comments on both the product and staff .

Your comments on our Concierge and Doormen are very encouraging and have been shared with all the team.

We are glad you feel good with us and we thank you once again for your feed back as this help us ensure your stay is perfect when you return.

Please feel free to contact us on your return.

Thanking you again,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed in this hotel on new years eve after getting a very good deal on Hotwire. Situated in a very nice location directly across the street from a metro station, and about 10 minutes walk from Arc de Triumphe. Have stayed in Paris on numerous occasions always staying in lesser hotels in the Latin Quarter, but paying roughly the same cost for a lot less comfort, would definitely reccomend to anyone, we had a standard room which had a king size bed, flat screen tv, safe and a bath ( bizarrely my first experience normally only showers in Paris) would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierServat, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Dear Surfer,

Thank you for this very nice review. We are delighted to have made your trip most memorable.
Thank you again
Sincerely

Olivier Servat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

I stayed at Le Meridien Etoile in September of 2008 and booked two rooms using starpoints through Starwood's website. I chose the upgraded club president level rooms which had the benefit of private level check in, rooms at the highest floors of the hotel, and complementary breakfast in the morning. Transfer to the hotel was easy and took only half an hour since the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Check in on the club president floor was quick. We found out that drinks were free anytime the lounge was open, we could get free access to internet on the two computers in the business center, and we could get passes to use a gym across the street. Rooms were fine but small with limited view and the bathrooms were new and clean. In the morning we were suprised to find that the complementary breakfast served in the louge had a plentiful selection of foods including hot bacon, sausage and eggs, not to mention, breads, cold cuts, pastries and coffee. The breakfast alone made the rooms worth the extra points needed to upgrade from the standard room. Overall our stay was fine. The service we received was always friendly and helpful. I loved being able to use the business center since at the time 24h of in-room internet access would have cost us $40. Free water and coffee in the lounge were also great treats after a long day of touring. The only issue I could mention is that the hotel is not close to the main tourist sights and getting to the center of paris took about a half hour by subway each way. Overall I really enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

We stayed here for six nights due to a combined conference and leisure travel, and booked this property specifically because we are Starwood frequent guests.
Our check-in was quick and efficient, and we were able to get in our room right away, The standard room was rather small (but we expected that after reading the reviews) however clean and very adequate for our stay. The bathroom also was big enough, however in the tub/shower combination, the glass door was not adequate to prevent water from spraying on the floor after showering. The breakfast buffet was included in our room cost and was more than adequate with a variety of offerings. It was enough so that we didn't need lunch. The hotel was in a very convenient location, right near the Metro stop, train station and gallery of shops across the street. There are some good restaurants nearby. Overall we had a good experience at this hotel. The one problem we encountered was after we arrived home and found that we were not credited with anywhere near the right amount of Starwood points, even though we paid the property directly.
We had a lot of hassle and time spent with getting our Starwood points credited, but after a few phone calls and emails to Starwood preferred guest it was finally resolved.

  • Liked — Great location for getting around,
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Etoile

Address: 81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#329 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Right-Bank, Le Méridien Etoile is strategically located to appeal to business travelers and art-lovers alike as it faces the Paris Convention Centre, is steps away from the legendary Champs-Elysées and close to La Défense.The sophisticated 1,025 guestrooms include 21 suites and renovated Executive rooms. From a unique culinary escape at Ma Chère & Tendre to a night at the most celebrated jazz club in Paris, the jazz Club Etoile, Le Méridien Etoile provides a memorable Parisian evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Etoile Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Paris
Paris Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.