We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet 4 star standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Etoile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Etoile to your Saves list
Le Meridien Etoile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #901 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Did not meet 4 star standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

I'd like to start by saying that the front desk at le meridien was very helpful, the jazz band that played was excellent and the location is decent.

However, the rooms did not meet our expectations. We had booked a delux room on priceline - however on getting there we found that the sheets had stains on them and the bed had a army style blanket which looked worse for wear. We decided to spend the extra money and upgrade to an executive room (the newly refurbished rooms) which were much better (except for the strand of hair between the sheets and the broken shower head!!).

Parts of the lobby were being refurbished but we didn't mind that.

To sum it up - be warned the delux rooms barely meet 2 star standards and the executive rooms are average. The hotel has potential and they seem to be trying but I imagine the housekeeping staff & maintenance could strive towards higher standards.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    984
    604
    242
    107
See reviews for
312
796
160
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

It has been many years since I last stayed at the Le Méridien Etoile hotel in Paris. And it has got better than I remember it.

The last time I was here was New Year about 4 years ago when I came to Paris with my partner.

Since then the hotel has been through a big refurbishment, some of which still seems to be going on, to make it more modern and trendy.

The hotel is in a good location as it is next to the massive congress centre, and although a fair walk is walk able to the Arc D'Triompe. Connections by Metro and RER are good.

I was staying in a deluxe room, and one thing that I remember is that the hotel is a strange shape and it is easy to get confused on the floors when trying to find your room. I did a whole lap of the 6th floor before finally finding my room. The corridors are al quite dark which I assume is thought to be trendy.

The room is not that large but very well done, with contemporary furniture, lamps and a large flat screen TV which had a lot of channels and the ability to list channels by language or type. This was a very useful feature.

The bathroom is small with a great shower that has a semi transparent glass wall to let light in. The bathroom I really liked as very modern. Like most Starwood hotels, the bed was large and very comfortable.

Overall the hotel is an expensive place to stay, with the room rates fluctuating wildly based on what is on in Paris or at the massive Conference Centre opposite. Once at the hotel things like internet access is high (26 Euros per 24hours) and drinks in the popular Jazz bar in the lobby are also expensive. There are a few restaurants which are also costly. Breakfast buffet is huge and packed, and around 25 Euros.

Overall, I like the hotel as is a great location and very quiet and comfortable rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

For a $350 hotel, I expected better. Sure, I know it's Paris and everything is expensive but this is a 1 star hotel at 4 star prices. The location was promising - it is about 10 min from the Arc de Triomphe, and 1 block to the closest metro station. It's across from the Palais de Congres, which has stores and a grocery store. Check in was fine. We are Platinum Preferred Guest and got to check in the shorter line, and stayed on the 8th floor for Platinum Preferred Guest which the lounge and own concierge. The rooms were small and dark, but it's Paris. The shower is separate from the toilet, which was sort of a hassle, but it worked out. Rooms were basic - no coffee machine, hair dryer, iron, etc. But there was a TV, desk, and bed (not room for much else). Don't touch the mini bar- we got charged just by touching the bottles (it costs you 7 euro for a tiny Evian). The lounge had free breakfast, which was basic but fine. The concierge was curt and always seemed annoyed. You can supposedly use the health club about a block away for free, but she was so stingy with the passes it was tough to go. Everything was so-so until our last day. We had a late train back to Munich, and asked to store our luggage at the hotel - they were reluctant, and when we got our luggage back very rude and slow. The WORST part of the trip which is why this place is so terrible is the service in front. We had 3 rooms for 3 nights, and left a lot of money at this relatively shabby hotel. At the taxi stand, they were extremely rude and made no effort to get us a taxi. We had a baby and 3 elderly grandparents with us, and it was raining. Instead of helping us, 2 guys were flirting with women, and another on the phone. The employee, Sabri made zero effort to get us a taxi even though it was cold, wet, and we needed to get to the train station. THEN, 2 nicely dressed French women come out and ask for a taxi and "poof" he runs out and hails them one. When I ask again if he can get us some taxis, he says there are none. Finally, my 66 y.o. father in law with a bad leg has to run out into the street and rain 2 blocks away to get a taxi to pick us up while my husband rain 2 blocks in the other direction to hail one for us. This was the worst treatment we have ever encountered at any Starwood property - we even made it known we were not pleased with his lack of effort and he says "I can't get a taxi for everyone." Apparently, only for attractive well dressed women. Awful service for this expensive hotel. Would never stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, Jean-Luc Cousty Deptuty General Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, October 29, 2008
Dear Guest

I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the problems you had during your stay at Le MERIDIEN Etoile

May I first and foremost apologize for the inconvenience caused.

It is only through constructive criticism from our valuable guests that whenever shortfalls occur, immediate action can be taken to improve set standards and rectify shortcomings.

During peak check out times taxi availability can become unpredictable despite our continuing efforts to the contrary .We apologise for the delay you experienced.

Paris is a big City and it is an evidence that there are not enough cab for a city of such a capacity.Sometimes due to the very high period of exhibitions, more particularly during the months of September and October, as it was your case, it is difficult to catch a taxi without any difficulties.

But this is not an excuse to the lack of courtesy you had to face to .I have now spoken with the department concerned in order to explain any shortfalls and misunderstandings..

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention and I hope that your disappointment on this occasion will not deter you from giving us future opportunities to take better care of you and your consultants when next they are in Paris.

Yours Sincerely,


Jean-Luc Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed on points and found the hotel very comfortable and nice. The maid service was very good except for the last night where they did not leave enough towels and it took forever to get them delivered.

The hotel is directly across from Air France Les Cars bus stop. Very convenient. We arrived at CDG (2F) at 0545, took the bus, and the ride was exactly 59 minutes. Crossed the street and our room was not ready, of course. It was only 0730!

A nice tip for all you Trip Advisor research junkies out there: on the 7th floor are free computers with internet access and a colour printer. Supposed to be just for special people, but anyone can use them if you know where they are. No key required. You're welcome. (In Paris right now, there is a Meridien manager screeming at his/her computer!!)

The concierge were helpful with general information, and they all spoke english.

There is a seperate gold/platinum check-in area. Which is very nice since the lines are significant at certain times of the day.

What else? The subway is a 2 minute walk away. Breakfast is to the right or left, better left. Turn left out the door to the end of the street and bear left at the corner. There are several caffes there. It is almost the same price to get just a coffee as it is to get a coffee and croissant with OJ.

Have a great trip. Learn a little french, and have fun with the french. They were mostly all polite and friendly.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

We used Starwood points to stay at this hotel, so we were able to get bumped up to the executive level (9th floor). The hotel is a typical, large city hotel. The location is pretty decent, but if we were to go back, I’d prefer to stay in a smaller hotel in the Latin Quarter. We try to never take public transportation because we like to walk everywhere and see as much as possible. The hotel is a great location to use the metro, but we’d prefer something bit more central. There’s not much going on in the area where this hotel is located. And our room, while nice and certainly clean, was TINY! No idea if the other floors were just as small, but we were surprised the size considering the floor we were on (and we live in NYC, so we’re used to small rooms!). We were able to access the lounge, with free breakfast, which was fairly impressive…eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fresh juices, etc. The breakfast was definitely not your typical continental breakfast. One thing to watch out for though…the hotel bar/jazz club is OUTRAGEOUS! We went to get a drink at the bar and we couldn’t believe our eyes. One GLASS of wine was 30 Euros! The second was 15, which is still ridiculous. We ended up going around the corner to the James Joyce Pub, a laid back Irish Pub. Other than that, we really didn’t find anything wrong with the hotel, but if we didn’t have points to use, I wouldn’t choose to stay there.

  • Liked — Very clean, great breakfast on executive level, friendly employees, Starwood points
  • Disliked — Small rooms, very expensive bar, not very centrally located
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, Jl COUSTY - deputy Gl Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, October 27, 2008
Dear Surfer,

Many thanks for your comments on which we would like to bring our feedback to.

Each district of Paris has its own specificities; La Porte Maillot nearby the Arc de triomphe, les Champs Elysées is more oriented Business, luxury shopping and good restaurants. Latin district being under the influence of the “student’s way of life” is more younger and more fashionable with little bookshops, Greek, Chinese and Turkish restaurants, fast food and take away.

Reading your comments on the price you paid in our jazz club, you probably did not notice that at the entrance the board informing our guests that from Monday to Saturday , live concert starting at 10.00 pm and that the rate includes the entrance fees and the first drink.
We would add that compared to the other Parisian famous jazz places, prices applied are on line .

Since 1975, our Jazz club Lionel Hampton has welcomed the biggest names in the world for Jazz blues and Rhythm & blues.(Lionel Hampton, BB King, Cab Calloway, Ike Turner, Claude Bolling, so many artists have built the reputation of the club over the last 30 years

Thanking you again for giving us the opportunity to explain, we do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

JL Cousty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the location is great also. The room we stayed in was very nice, small but nice, but what they dont tell you is that to stay in the rooms that you see on the website pictures, you have to spend extra 140.00 bucks a night additional to what u already paid unless u booked an executive room! So we got sucked into it but after adding it up to what we already paid it was way more than what we wanted to spend per night. They should show pictures of their other rooms on their site so you know what you are getting. Its almost like a false advertising scam.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

From the moment we walked in the door, the staff was so helpful and wonderful! They answered all our questions - were very polite and did whatever they could to assist us during our stay. The rooms are small - but very well decorated and clean and let's face it - you're in Paris - you shouldn't be in your room anyway. The location is perfect - right near all the major trains and near enough to walk to many of the sites. There are dozens of cafes, brasseries and dining options nearby to satisfy all budgets. I would highly recommend this hotel - and we have already begun planning our next trip in two years.

  • Liked — The staff and the service - excellent service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Etoile

Address: 81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#328 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Right-Bank, Le Méridien Etoile is strategically located to appeal to business travelers and art-lovers alike as it faces the Paris Convention Centre, is steps away from the legendary Champs-Elysées and close to La Défense.The sophisticated 1,025 guestrooms include 21 suites and renovated Executive rooms. From a unique culinary escape at Ma Chère & Tendre to a night at the most celebrated jazz club in Paris, the jazz Club Etoile, Le Méridien Etoile provides a memorable Parisian evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Etoile Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Paris
Paris Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.