We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Etoile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Etoile to your Saves list
Le Meridien Etoile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #893 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
West Hempstead, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel - excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

From the moment we walked in the door, the staff was so helpful and wonderful! They answered all our questions - were very polite and did whatever they could to assist us during our stay. The rooms are small - but very well decorated and clean and let's face it - you're in Paris - you shouldn't be in your room anyway. The location is perfect - right near all the major trains and near enough to walk to many of the sites. There are dozens of cafes, brasseries and dining options nearby to satisfy all budgets. I would highly recommend this hotel - and we have already begun planning our next trip in two years.

  • Liked — The staff and the service - excellent service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    983
    604
    241
    107
See reviews for
311
795
160
744
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at Le Meridien Etoile from the 21st to 24th August 2008. Apart from location which is among the best in Paris, the hotel and its personel are really exceptional. From the arrival to leaving the hotel, I had never felt such a non-stop service from the staff. Always smiling, ready to help and to provide assistance on a 24hr basis. The concierge is one of the best. Nothing is impossible for them! I had the opportunity to stay in the new room, woah, latest design. Internet is perfect, and I enjoyed a lot the club lounge, great place to relax whilst having a drink and connected to work. I would definitely stay at Le Meridien Etoile again!

  • Liked — The location and the Staff
  • Disliked — Absence of an in-house fitness centre
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

From the moment we arrived on our honeymoon, the staff made us feel not only welcomed but AT HOME. The airline had lost my spouses bags, as it was the weekend, the airline was unhelpful. However the Etoile staff worked hard to find some contact numbers and did their best to try and find the missing bag.

Upon returning to our AMAZING room later that day (more on that in a moment) we had a cold bottle of water and also champagne waiting for us (I should honeymoon more often).

A nod goes out to the concierge desk and the helpful insights they had. As well the Meridien Etoile is so well located for the tourist traveler as it is right on the MAIN metro (subway) line and therefore easily accessible to where you want to be. There are plenty of restos, shops and cafes around the Meridien Etoile. And if you like there are grocery stores also nearby.

About our room!! The Meridien Etoile has been renovating and it shows!!! Such a world class hotel and our new room - The Executive Guest room was clean, sleek, modern and very very comfortable. With a the most comfortable mattress, soft duvet and great pillows I never ever suffered and jet lag.

What can I say LE MERIDIEN ETOILE is by far one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Liked — The room - The Executive Guest Room
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

In my opinion, the Meridien Etoile is one of the best situated hotels in Paris. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Arc de Triomphe, which we found convenient when we wanted to go there to get some night-time pics of the Arc.
The Hotel is across the street from the Palais Congress (Convention Centre), and the Boutiques de Paris mall. For transportantion purposes, the best feature is the Port Maillot subway station which is just a few hundred feet up the street. This is on the #1 line, which makes it easy to go to the Louvre, or the Ile de Cite. Plus the local RER station (Neuilly-Port Maillot) is also just up the street--this station is on the C line, making it easy to take to Champ-du-Mars/Eiffel Tower, or to Versailles.
If you are flying into Charles-de-Gaulle airport, the Air France Bus line #2 stops ACROSS the street from the Meridien. This is a superb feature.
The neighborhood has an OK number of cafes and restaurants, as well as some grocery stores, ATMs, etc.
Overall, the hotel staff was friendly, and the upgrade has made the Meridien much fresher looking.
Overall, we were very pleased with the Meridien, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

In Paris for business. The hotel is not dead center but still connected well to city. Check-in had a long long cue, it moved fast, but still annoying. Same again at checkout. The room I stayed was small, bed very good though. Breakfast was very good, a lot of choices. Staff ok, friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Long waiting at check-in
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, JEAN-LUC COUSTY - deputy General Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, August 4, 2008
Dear Guest and Dear Surfer,
I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced upon your check-in and your check-out. Be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the Front of House Manager in order to avoid this incident in the future.
It was a pleasure to note that you have appreciated our new Meridien bed, newly installed in our renovated rooms. This new concept created by the designer Nick Dine offers an unforgettable "modern european sleeping experience".
Thanking you again for your comments and hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, we remain,
Yours sincerely

Jean-Luc Cousty
Deputy General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Construction noise was terrible but management changed our location to a part of the hotel that was virtually noise-free. The jazz club had a great French blues band that, at the time, was featuring two American artists from Pittsburgh. The music was GREAT!
This hotel isn't in the city center but the metro is very close and very clean. I loved how you could buy a single trip ticket... very convenient.
A major problem is the expensive internet connection, but this is everywhere in Paris. Free WiFi is very hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, jean-luc cousty -deputy general Manager at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, July 31, 2008

Dear Guest, dear Surfer
Many thanks for your comments regarding the cue at the check-in and the check-out;. Be assured this incident has been addressed to the attention of the Front Office Manager to take the appropriate actions.
we have noted your comments regarding the internet connection .We have an agreement with a telecom operator to provide all our guests with the service, and connections charges are billed according to the tariffs set by the operating Cy.The tarifs details are displayed in all rooms to ensure the guests are aware of the charges.Please be assured, we wil continue to work with telecom operators to ensure our guests receive the most competitive rates.
In closing , may we thank you, once again, for taking the time to write and hope that we may have thepleasure of welcoming you agian, in a not too distant future.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contra Costa, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

drilling and construction work the floor above our room, thus hard to sleep.

the staff was friendly and helpful.
the location is great, being right next to the metro and very near the main attractions of central Paris.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COUSTY, jl cousty - directeur at Le Meridien Etoile, responded to this review, July 18, 2008
A refurbishment programme will inevitably cause some disruption and whilst every effort has been made to minimise the inconvenience to our guests during this period, there are occasions when circumstances beyond our control will affect the comfort of our guests. Mid-August is expected to be more calm. Next time you visit us, you will have the pleasure to experiment our new Meridien Bed which has been designed by the Famous Designer Nick Dine and which will offer you without any contest a new modern european sleeping experience.
Thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Etoile

Address: 81 Boulevard Gouvion Saint-Cyr | Cedex 17, 75848 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Etoile 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Right-Bank, Le Méridien Etoile is strategically located to appeal to business travelers and art-lovers alike as it faces the Paris Convention Centre, is steps away from the legendary Champs-Elysées and close to La Défense.The sophisticated 1,025 guestrooms include 21 suites and renovated Executive rooms. From a unique culinary escape at Ma Chère & Tendre to a night at the most celebrated jazz club in Paris, the jazz Club Etoile, Le Méridien Etoile provides a memorable Parisian evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Etoile Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Hotel Paris
Le Meridien Paris
Paris Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.