We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for a perfect Paris stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence du Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence du Roy Hotel to your Saves list
Residence du Roy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Francois 1er, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #470 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look no further for a perfect Paris stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed at La Residence du Roy for 3 nights in late April. Lovely, spacious room overlooking the garden at the back. You could have heard a pin drop it was so quiet! (Front facing rooms are onto the road but it's hardly very busy.) And the hotel is located just a stone's throw from the river and a short (4 minute) walk from the Champs Elysees. Staff were courteous and very helpful: nothing was too much trouble. It's a small, 4-star hotel with everything one looks in such a place. And location - well, it couldn't be better: just a 4-minute walk to the Metro (Clemenceau on Line 1) and ideal for riverside walks morning and evening. Even the river boat landing stage (Bateaux Mouches) is just a short walk away. Superb!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    72
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
98
34
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I spent three nights in the hotel with my wife. I booked online and although the rate was, to my mind, a bit on the expensive side, the location seemed fantastic. Upon arrival, we were told that as the hotel had some empty suites, we would be upgraded at no additional cost. We ended up with a suite on the fifth floor, which was clean, very large and overall, a great room.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helped me book a table at a local restaurant, although the hotel does have a deal with a local restaurant to provide room service meals.

A word about breakfast: the downstairs breakfast room is very cramped and the selection of food is poor. However, for three euros per person, breakfast can be taken in the room and I would highly recommend this - you get a fair selection of breads, jams and cheese, plus coffee. Hot food is available at further cost. It is worth doing just to have a more enjoyable start to the day.

Overall, a big thumbs up, the location is amazing, it isn't terribly far from a metro station (although by no means next door to one - we're talking a ten minute walk) and the neighbourhood is fairly upmarket. On a practical note, a taxi from Gare Nord is about 14-15 euros.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Stayed with friends in one room for 4 nights. Hotel just off Champs Elysees in a quiet street lined with prestigious shops. Nice and quiet at night with fantastic access to main stretch of Champs Elysees and literally across the road from the Bateux Mouches.
The main lobby of the hotel is nice and a bell man took us up to our room. I must say, for a 4 star hotel I found the room furniture to be a little dated, however the room was spotless, a great size (there were 4 of us) and the bathroom was well kitted out.
Breakfast was served in the breakfast room in the basement. This room is modern and clean. Luckily, we had breakfast included in our room fee otherwise it would cost 22 Euros each! A relatively basic selection of bread, pastries, meats, cheese, fruit, youghurt and coffees and juices.
All in all I couldn't ask for much more. The hotel boasted a fantastic location in a safe side street, was clean and most importantly comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed at the Residence du Roy for 3 nights and was very happy with the hotel. The room was large with a divider for the bedroom. The bathroom was large and modern. Some of the reviews here said that they were charged appox. 20 euros for breakfast, but that was not the case for my family, breakfast was included, It was nothing special but good. I would stay there again and recommend it to my friends. Also we were on the 7th floor and had no problem with internet access.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

we travelled as group of friends and stayed 3 in a room. the rooms were large and spacious... had a living room and bedroom with a decent sized bathroom...
the location was good too as you are about 5-10 mins walk to most attractions...
however , the breakfast witht the rooms was not great and a dissappointment.

all in all... a value for money hotel... i got what i paid for!!

  • Liked — room size and location
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel was a disappointment although the staff at the desk were very helpful and tried to attend to your needs. However, the lady who brings you breakfast always looked like she was snarling and cranky. We ordered only a pot of coffee and bought pastries from nearby patissieries which we stored in the mini fridge since the price of 22 euros per person for breakfast was ridiculous. Oddly too, whenever someone came to the room they would knock and immediately come in. Very weird.
Our first room was a mess and the staff offered to move us to an upgraded room. In the first room, you could see dust on the carpeting along the baseboards and peanuts were under the bed under the dust ruffle. There was an unsightly stain on the bedspread. The shower curtain and shower had black and orange mold, it was awful. The upgraded room we were moved to was better but it was evident that mold was beginning to form on the shower liner and it wouldn't be long before it would look like the shower curtain from our first room. The new room was cleaner but it was still evident that cleaning was minimal. There was something about the air in the room that felt off and it was very dry. For some this location may be good but I thought that it was quite isolated. I wouldn't return here simply because I didn't feel like it was cleaned well and the location was too isolated.

  • Liked — The front desk
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence du Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence du Roy Hotel

Address: 8 Rue Francois 1er, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#240 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#279 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence du Roy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place in Paris !Calm and discretion are the watchwords at Résidence du Roy. Nestled in the very stylish Avenue Montaigne neighborhood, this is the perfect spot for short or long stays in Paris. The Résidence du Roy has 39 rooms including 23 apartment suites and duplexes for accommodating couples or families. In addition, for your comfort the hotel has a parking area that provides direct access to the apartments. Light-filled, comfortable, practical and located just steps from the Grand Palais and the Petit Palais, they are at the center of Parisian culture, fashion and luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence du Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Roy Paris
Hotel Residence Du Roy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence du Roy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.