We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is shabby and poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence du Roy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence du Roy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence du Roy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Francois 1er, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #401 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
london england
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“This place is shabby and poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My flat in Paris being unavailable, I stayed here for business and had the benefit of a negotiated rate, but even so the cost was greater than the place I stayed in the previous night reviewed separately and much better. The hotel is situated on a main road - on no account take a room at the front. The rooms are big with a screened off sitting area which is the main plus side. They are cheaply furnished, though, and the carpets are particularly unpleasant. The room and bathroom badly needed redecorating, with mould in the corners of the bath and taps etc which did not work properly. It was poorly maintained with a light bulb needing replacing and noisy air conditioning. The bed (two singles had been pushed together, which I had not requested) had a gap in the middle and the mattress(es) was (were) not especially comfortable. Poor quality linen and towels. Noise from the family in the room upstairs kept me awake into the morning. The lobby is tiny and the little bar in the lobby is not a place you would want to sit, though admittedly it is a 5 min walk to any other place to eat or drink. The staff were reasonably pleasant, quite obliging and helpful, but were not French and not easy to communicate with. This part of the 8th arrondissement is not particularly close to any tourist sights apart from the river, and is a food-free wilderness swept by manic Parisian motorcyclists. I would not stay here again unless desperate.

Room Tip: Get a back room - avoid the front of the hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Residence_Du_Roy, Directeur général at Residence du Roy Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

The rue François 1er is not a main street but a one-way street discretely located in a quiet part of the centre. In this part of Paris you will find a lot of restaurants in all price ranges, from the quick food, the Michelin star or the trendiest ones, on walking distance from the hotel.

Our rooms have been recently refurbished and the carpets are high quality, as well as our linen and towels. We are in the middle of a program of redecorating our bathrooms. By the end of the year, all should be in a perfect new shape.

Like in any other hotel room all over the world, technical problems may occur at any time, like a broken light bulb or air conditioners that become noisier. We do have a technical service on the premises that take care that of such problems and they are resolved as quickly as possible.

We do have family rooms and therefore sometimes we do have families with children. We do as well have a 24 hours reception service and in case noise from children occurs, a quick phone call from our reception staff in general immediately solves this problem. No need to lay awake until into the morning.

The Management of the hotel cannot be held responsible for the way ‘manic Parisian motorcyclists’ drive their bikes through Parisian streets. Nevertheless this cannot be worse than any manic motorcyclist in any big city all over the world.

We would be very happy to welcome you again on the next occasion you will be in Paris, in a Suite on the court yard side with a renovated bathroom and a quiet air conditioner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
72
28
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were so happy to spend a couple nights at the Residence du Roy in Paris. The location was the best and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. By European standards, the rooms were downright spacious! Also, as we were there during a heat wave, we really appreciated the air conditioning that was up to our US standard for A/C (very unusual, we have discovered).

The employees were very nice, in particular the young man who handles the "bar" area in the lobby. Very personable with good English and recommended a great Bistro around the corner where we had a reasonably priced (by Paris standards) meal.

Also, the breakfast that was included was very good.

Our only very minor complaints would be that there was an issue with internet (which was fixed promptly) and they tried to charge us for items from the mini bar that we did not take (also handled fine-removed from our bill). Also, although in the 2nd room we had rented for other members of our family, the bed was very nice. The bed in our room was uncomfortable - different quality mattresses for sure - tried both and the one was either newer or of much better quality. Luck of the draw, i guess.

We were very happy that we had selected this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

we are family of 4 , we stayed in this hotel for 3 days , we enjoyed everything starting from the excellent location to the very very friendly staff, who are willing to do whatever it takes to make you happy you and the rest of the family. they were very helpful , smily and serving us with passion , starting from the moment of check in till we checked out. the front office desk were really professional, smily , helpful , informative , and going the extra mile to make us happy . the bellman is very helpful and would do everything even if not in his job description to help . We will really do it again , adn we decided it will always be our first choice when going to Paris. forget to say that tghe rooms are very cleaN , and spacious. we loved it and would definetly recommend it as a beautiful hotel

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room was very large, a kind off flat, we stayed in 4 people, every body love the stay, bath and toilet in diferent rooms, a good furnished kitchen you can cook you own food if you want. The location is great and the staf are kind and polite, the coffee break is amazing!!! Close to the metro station, peti and grand palace a few steps from the world famous avenue, and few minutes walking to Eifel Tower and Louvre. When I come back to Paris I really wish to stay again at Residence du Roy Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Staying at this Hotel wasnt just a place to sleep, it was part of the vacation. Everything was just perfect and people were polite and nice unlike other places we tried.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend with our 2 kids, aged 20 and 22, in a suite. It was a good break for the four of us. It is not a fantastic hotel, but it suited our purpose perfectly: honest price, spacious & quiet room and very good location. I particularly liked that the suite had big windows that I could open, get fresh air, see the street and people passing by.
The only disappointment was breakfast, but we also enjoyed having breakfast at the nearby french cafes. Much nicer. Thank you Hotel du Roy and thank you Paris for a lovely family weekend that we will always cherish !

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked via internet and didn't know what to expect from this hotel. None of us (3 mature females) had been to Paris before. Very easy to walk from the Metro station to hotel. Location was ideal -could not have planned it any better. Walking distance to most major attractions and what seemed like a very safe area. Upon arrival we were very pleased to be upgraded to a 2 level suite with 2 bathrooms. Definately not what we expected in Paris. Everyone warned us about the small rooms. Not at Residence du Roy Hotel ! Enjoyed lovely breakfast which we didnt even know was included with our fee - imaculantly clean breakfast room with croissants, coffee, very nice..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence du Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence du Roy Hotel

Address: 8 Rue Francois 1er, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Family Hotel in Paris
#190 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence du Roy Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place in Paris !Calm and discretion are the watchwords at Résidence du Roy. Nestled in the very stylish Avenue Montaigne neighborhood, this is the perfect spot for short or long stays in Paris. The Résidence du Roy has 39 rooms including 23 apartment suites and duplexes for accommodating couples or families. In addition, for your comfort the hotel has a parking area that provides direct access to the apartments. Light-filled, comfortable, practical and located just steps from the Grand Palais and the Petit Palais, they are at the center of Parisian culture, fashion and luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, AvailPro, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence du Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Roy Paris
Hotel Residence Du Roy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence du Roy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.