We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue du 8 mai 45 | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #864 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Littlehampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Book as a package with eurostar
Stayed here from the 3rd to 6th January, room was very clean and modern. Beds very comfy and sheets changed daily.
Staff very friendly and helpful,
Stayed in a room overlooking the train station, which is a beautiful building.
Metro directly outside which did give some noise, but it does stop just after midnight.
Breakfast was ok, 15 euro which was reasonable for Paris.
All in all if I was to return, and arriving in paris by eurostar i would consider this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    432
    264
    96
    49
See reviews for
193
352
79
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Passing through Paris we decided to stay in this hotel due to 'location location location' ;)
coming in Gare du Nord and leaving Paris through Gare de l'Est.

Front Office was great, the room was a corner with a lovely window overlooking the front of the station. (Platinum Upgrade was given). The Breakfast was simply Amazing! They also held our baggage for us all day after checkout as we did have an adventure through the city before departing. Didn't get to use any other services of the hotel, but this will be the first place I check upon my return, would recommend to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Another great hotel in the Holiday Inn chain. The front staff were quite pleasant, helpful, and accomidationg, even when arriving unexpectedly early. Due to Priority Club status, I was upgraded to an Executive room on the 8th Floor. The room was pleasantly roomy, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was quite sizable, by European standards. Being on the corner of the building, windows opened up onto three different views of the city. But... after looking at the room map that they post on the back of the door (and reading some of the other reviews)... I have a feeling that most of the "regular" size rooms are much, much smaller.
The hotel is convenient to Gare De L'Est, which is directly across the street. Gare Du Nord (and the Eurostar Terminal) is a 5 minute walk. The Metro is, literally, right outside the front door.
There is a bit of noise from the street at night (and all day, too), but if you're used to living in a city... it shouldn't be a problem.
If you enjoy walking, it is abou a 30-35 minute walk to Notre Dame, and 25 minutes to Sacre Cour/Montmartre. And if you REALLY like walking, it's about 1 1/2 hours to the Eiffel Tower via the Seine, and about the same to L'Arc De Triomphe via Champs Elysees.

One minor "issues" is with the elevators to the 7th and 8th floor. One elevator (the one on the Left) only services the Lobby through Floor 6 (not 7 and 8). The other elevator (Right) goes to all of the floors. But the Left elevator always seemed to be in the lobby, when entering... and there is no way to call the other elevator. I found myself just taking the elevator up to the 6th floor, and then hiking the stairs the final 2 floors to the top. Just a minor "quirk"!

I'll definitely be staying here again, on my next trip to Paris!

Room Tip: 8th Floor has some excellent views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JScharner, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l’Est.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you will be staying again at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l’Est.
Your comment is very important to us and we will not forget to share it with our teams.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kindest Regards,


Janine Scharner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is just opp the train station and the metro is right at the door. Very convenient especially so as I had to catch a early train to London.
Hotel staff are all very helpful and friendly.
There's a lot of nice restaurants (French, American, Turkish, Chinese, fast food ) around the hotel. Also a mini supermarket.

Rooms are clean and well furnished. Comfortable beds but pillows were a bit too soft and out of shape.

Only drawback in no wifi in room. Wifi is only accessible in the lobby.

Was recognized as a platinum member (priority club) by being given a room upgrade and free wifi access in the lobby.

All in all a good stay and will consider coming back the next time I visit paris

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JScharner, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

I take this opportunity to thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am pleased to read your comment on our location and our staff however I am concerned about your mentions in regards to the wifi. We do provide Wifi in the public areas such as the lobby but also the restaurant and the bar.
It is by receiving such information from our guests that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy our guests.
Once again, I would like to thank you for your comment, and we hope to welcome you very soon in the Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l’Est,

Kind regards,

Janine Scharner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at the holiday inn for two nights and travelled with relatives, booking two rooms. The whole package was booked through Euro star which worked out very reasonable. The rooms are small as you would expect in Paris. it took us 10 mins to walk from the euro star to the hotel. We had breakfast on both days, you can eat as much as you want and there is a wide selection of hot and cold, on a down side the hot food we found was Luke warm and if you got there towards the end of breakfast the pasties were not restocked when they ran out.
The hotel is next to a restaurant called Indiana, which seems to be a chain. However they do half price drinks, I think between 5-8. The drinks prices are very expensive so this works out pretty good. A pint normally is approx 8 euros! Drinks prices in the hotel are as you would expect pricey. The food in Indiana was good as well.
Gare de L Est has lots of nice shops in the main station across the road, also places to buy lovely sandwiches’, baguettes etc. Also in the station is a tourist office, you can buy tickets for Louvre, Green bus tours, D'Orsay, plus others which will save time on queues. Also there is no extra cost.
The green bus tour start around the corner from the hotel. (Come out of the hotel and turn right and right again, just on the corner) There are four tours to do. However with the traffic in Paris and an average stay of two to three days I would say it is hard to do all tours. It is worth doing the main tour which takes about two hours to see all the sights. Be aware that the leaflet says the tours stop at about 6 pm in the winter but in fact that means the last bus leaves for a tour at about 4.30 pm which is very early for doing the sights. The music and commentary is poor but you do get to see the sights!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JScharner, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all , I would like to thank you for giving us such a nice feedback regarding
Your stay in our hotel .

Concerning you remark about the size of the rooms I would recommend on your next visit
To book one of our executive rooms (about 20 square meters ) which are definitely more
Spacious than our standard rooms .
I would also advise you to try our room service which offers reasonable prices and delicious food
Like those you found at “The Indiana “restaurant.
Our staff at the reception desk is also 24 hours available to book some tours of Paris at no additional cost,
Just like the tourist office in the Gare de L’Est Station.
I also shall pass on your kind comments to our Breakfast staff .

I am delighted to see that you took the time to underline why you were so pleased with your stay
and I am looking forward to welcoming you again with your family on your next visit to Paris.
Best regards

Janine Scharner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st neots
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Paris for one night on Eurostar and stayed at the Holiday Inn. Very easy walking distance from the Gare D'North (where Eurostar terminates). No problem checking in, they understood our pigeon French!! The room was on the top floor, with a good view of the Gare de l'Est. The bed was very comfortable and the curtains blocked out all the light, so we had a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was small, but clean and had a good shower over the bath. The complimentary tea,coffee and milk etc was the worst part. Leave them and head out to the numerous Parisian cafes that are dotted around the hotel and station. There is a Metro station right outside the hotel so easy access to all of Paris. Would stay again when visiting Paris

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights , excellent location right next to Gare de L Est metro station and walking distance to Eurostar at Gare de L Nord. Friendly and helpful staff. I booked through Eurostar website i didn't check if includes breakfast before, its 15 euro per adult per day and has a good variety I suggest possibly include fried eggs as well. The tv only has Cnn in English possibly suggest include sky ,bbc news, also childrens all cost.the room has facilities for tea but no milk which i could of requested.We were on 7 th with a very good views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JScharner, General Manager at Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l’Est.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will take into consideration all the improvement clues you gave us in your comment.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l’Est.

Kindest Regards,

Janine Scharner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est

Address: 5 Rue du 8 mai 45 | 10 Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first Holiday Inn hotel in Paris with its own high speed train station!The Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l Est hotel is conveniently located for your business and leisure stays in Paris, in front of the historical and newly renovated TGV East station of Paris, Gare de l Est with high speed trains to Strasbourg, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Basel, Zurich and Luxemburg. The Paris North Station, Gare du Nord, with its Thalys and Eurostar trains to Brussels, Amsterdam, Cologne and London is only a short walk or one metro stop away.The metro station Gare de l Est, with access stairs just a few steps away from the hotel entrance, and its three lines number 4, 5 and 7 quickly take you to the countless sights of Paris, the Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysées, Louvre Museum, Disneyland Paris or the Stade de France stadium for football matches, concerts or the annual rugby six-nations-tournament.Shopping areas such as the Galeries Lafayette department stores, the Opera district, the Expo Villepinte and the Expo Porte de Versailles are also easily accessible.The Holiday Inn Paris Gare de l Est hotel features 200 contemporarily designed and fully air conditioned, soundproof rooms, including executive rooms and suites.The five meeting rooms, all with natural daylight can cater for various events and meetings for up to 70 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare De l`Est Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.