We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cordelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cordelia to your Saves list
Hotel Cordelia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue de Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

For me this is really in the heart of Paris. Everything is in walking distance, but if not the metro really is within walking distance. There are plenty of other hotels nearby, but for price this hotel compares with them. The rooms are maybe a little dated, but in keeping with the building. The rooms are not the biggest either and ours was awkwardly laid out. But it was suitable, clean and comfortable.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. One was very helpful with printing off our boarding passes. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCordelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We inform you that the refurbishment of all our rooms will begin soon. The surface area is maintained (14m²) but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration! The most important novelty will be a system of air-conditioning reversible.
We thank you for your comment and hope to see you soon!
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    80
    38
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
86
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed a weekend in this hotel. The room was a tad small, best described as intimate. Had a small issue with the mini-bar in the first room but we were offered a room swap and got a room with everything working perfectly. The staff were nice and responded to all our requests in a very friendly manner. There is a nice bar opposite where you can enjoy some drinks but they also serve some rather interesting meals and are open in the mornings for snacks. The hotel is in a good location and as a 3 star is very good value for money in the Opera district..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCordelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comment.
We would like to inform you that our rooms will be entirely renovated soon. The surface area is maintained (13m²) but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful...whatever you see in the picture is what you're going to get. Reception is kind and accommodating. Location is very good. It's near Printemps and Galerie Lafayette and the Havre Caumartin metro station so you can go anywhere if you choose to take the metro.

The room we had is quite small because we had 2 big luggages and 2 more small luggages. But nevertheless it's cozy and clean. We stayed for 4 nights so I would have preferred to have a closet with shelves then I could have unpacked our clothes. We can only hang clothes in the closet provided in the room. Anyhow, it's not much of an issue.

We stayed middle of March so it was still cold and the bathroom was really cold everytime. The heater wasn't working in there. Again not much of an issue...hot and cold shower was working perfectly so we managed.

The thing that suck was the wifi. Even when you're on holiday, you need to check your office emails and make some last minute booking etc. not to mention post pictures in Facebook! haha but wifi wasn't working well...either tooo slow or it gets disconnected all the time. So i gave up on it after one try.

Over all...still a good stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCordelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind message!
The 10th of May 2013, Internet has been repaired. So next time, you will not have trouble with the connection and you will download your pictures of Paris on 1 click!
We inform you that the refurbishment of all our rooms will begin the 1st of July. The surface area is maintained (14m²) but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration! The most important novelty will be a system of air-conditioning reversible.
We look forward to see you again!
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here last August. At €99 a night for a deluxe room with breakfast I can't fault the hotel on anything. We didn't expect it to look like the pictures on the website but it is EXACTLY like that. Beautiful Parisian chic decoration with a nice bar. The location is perfect, right beside Printemps and Galeries Lafayette and also very close to metro stations but as it was August and 30+ degrees we preferred to walk to most places (about 10 mins from the Louvre & Champs-Élysées). The breakfast was delicious, it's a continental buffet with more than enough to choose from. Receptionist was very helpful, allowed us to check into our room early free of charge and they minded our bags after check-out as our flight wasn't till late. The room itself was surprisingly big for Paris standards, we requested a room on the top floor as we had read that it gets noisy at night with the Theatre opposite but we didn't hear a peep. Had a double bed, big bathroom, mini-bar and the best part, a 3-sided balcony!!

Will definitely be returning to this hotel (if the prices didnt shoot up!) but all in all definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCordelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear PaddyPope,
Thank you for taking time to share your nice experience with us on TripAdvisor. The Cordelia team is pleased to inform you the refurbishment of all our rooms between the 1st of July 2013 and the end of March 2014.
The Hotel Cordelia will remain open and we will do everyhting we can during this time to make your stay pleasant.
It won't be long until we contact you and show you our new decor.
Don’t hesitate to call us when you want to plan your next stay with us!
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Husband and I stayed End Jan2013. Paid about 100 Euros per night. Location was great, near Printemps but the reception was so-so - typical Parisian? except for an old man and a Chinese guy which respects its guests. The room was clean and cute, with good heating, but our bathroom was really cold during winter. I think it's because there is a big silhouette window.

I would try other hotels next time- some suggestion are TimHotel and Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordelia D, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning our hotel.
You see us undoubtedly sorry to hear that the reception was not up to your expectations, except for Guillermo and Eric. We have normally kind comments for all the receptionist so we take note of your comment to improve us.

We inform you that the refurbishment of all our rooms has begun the 1st of July. The surface area is maintained (14m²) but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration! The most important novelty will be a system of air-conditioning reversible.
Best Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We selected this hotel as it was the only reasonably priced hotel in the lovely area in Madleine. Its a good basic hotel with a not so good staff.
We needed a plug to make out chargers work and we called the lady asking her for one late night. She refused to drop it to our room and I had to go down at 2am to collect one!
If that was not less, the elevator in the hotel stopped working on the day of our checkout! We had 3 big bags and were dreading carrying them down via the staircase since obviously there is no help available in the hotel! We were really worried we would be late at the airport! After 2 long hours and lots of yelling and frustration on our part it finally started working after we had already dragged 2 bags by ourselves down multiple floors!
Would only recommend the hotel for the price it offers and the area, else its a big miss!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.
Only one receptionist is working per shift, alone, so it is true that we can’t close the hotel and let the reception without someone. If the guest needs help, we are always here for them, at the reception only.
We inform you that the refurbishment of all our rooms has begun the 1st of July 2013. The surface area is maintained (12m²) but all rooms will have a king size bed, a modern bathroom, a new minibar and safety box and a restored decoration! The most important novelty will be a system of air-conditioning reversible.
The new rooms on the 5th and 6th floor will be available in October 2013. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly to make a booking and ask to try a renovated room out!
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

<Location>: if you are into shopping and want a cheap hotel then this is for you. About 4 minutes walk from Printemps in Hausmann. Very central and safe location.
<Staff>: Not polite and abrupt. The evening shift makes it clear to you he doesn't want to be there. Also when we checked out the lady was incredibly rude and was yelling at us for not wanting to take back some really small change. She was also very unhelpful with a colleague of mine who wanted to know where the nearest cash point was. The only nice staff member was a lady with red/brownish hair. Really sweet person.
<Rooms>:Small which is typical for a 3 star hotel in Paris and old school decor wise. Our room was just boiling all the time and we had to open our window when the heating was on. Or slightly get cold when the heating is off. There was no in between temperature.
<Decor of the hotel>: cute and the lobby is sweet.
<Internet>: Are you kidding? The hotel offers free wifi which is a single login per device but IT NEVER WORKED! The night shift's excuse was too many people log in.... My take is dont bother to say you offer free Internet when it's not even working. Charge a bit and make it work. Or even better deliver on a free working Internet.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
The Cordelia team is pleased to inform you the refurbishment of all our rooms between the 1st of July 2013 and the end of March 2014.
The Hotel Cordelia remain open and we do everyhting we can during this time to make your stay pleasant.

Everything has been thought for your comfort:
The surface area is maintained, 12m², and all rooms will have king size bed, restored decoration, modern bathroom, minibar, safe, free WIFI, hairdryer, courtesy tray and a system of air-conditioning reversible.

Our unlimited American buffet breakfast is served in our arched stone cellar and is made up of:

Fresh orange juice, grapefruit or apple juice,
Coffee, Mariage Frères tea or Monbana hot chocolate.

Various Lenôtre breads and croissants, Kelloggs cereals, mini pancakes, cooked meats, sausages, cheese, plain or fruit yoghurt, compote, dried fruit, eggs, plain omelet on demand, fresh fruit salad, butter, jam, honey, maple syrup , nutella.(*)
*non-exhaustive list

The 5th and the 6th floor are now open! We will be glad to see you again. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly by email and to ask about the best price for you!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordelia

Address: 11 Rue de Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#510 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordelia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Cordelia is the place where romantic writers used to meet in the 19th century. In an elegant and relaxing atmosphere of serenity, Countess Cordelia of Greffulhe invites you to discover her 30 non-smoking and air conditioned rooms, all recently renovated. A harmony of shimmering colors combined with some historical eye winks and modern equipment. The courtesy of our staff will make your stay a special moment! The rooms are differently decorated but they stay true to style, each of the 30 rooms (Classic, Comfort and Privilege) have contemporary requirement and charm that inspire relaxation and serenity. Some rooms will surprise you with a flowered window. The hotel CORDELIA'S rooms inspire heaven and are placed in the heart of the world's business and fashion. They offer guests the assurance of a stay under the sign of comfort. All our rooms have the same level of technological equipment: • Direct Individual air conditioning • Direct Phone Line • Free WIFI connection • LCD TV with 56 satellite channels (CNN - Eurosport - BBC - RAI - etc.) • Individual safe • Courtesy tray - tea / coffee / kettle • National and international newspapers at your disposal • Hair - dryer and cosmetic mirror • Welcoming rank of products "Dream Thermal" • Mini bar • Desk • Luggage holder • Iron and an ironing board at your disposal • Other services: Room service 6pm/3am, laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordelia Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cordelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.