We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location is everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during April 2014 for our wedding anniversary. We booked direct with the hotel and got a really good price - would recommend booking this way. Once we got our bearings (we got the metro from the airport) we found that the hotel was in a side street and well away from the hustle of the Opera district. Located in between two metro stops (Madeline and Opera) it's well located for exploring the rest of Paris. Our room was on the 5th floor at the end of the corridor, at the back of the hotel. I agree that the rooms near the lift may be quite noisy. The lift was jerky and loud, and very small. Did the job though. No problems with the size of the room (double) or bathroom. It was very warm at times, but opening a window soon sorted that. Free wifi a definite plus. One down point: there was a smell of fresh cigarette smoke during the day - we concluded that our room may have been near the staff smoking area, or near smoking rooms. There was an ashtray on the bedside table so it may well have been a smoking room also. The room door was sturdy and the safe in the room was useful - and free. Overall the bed was comfortable, room was quiet and there was tv to watch of an evening once you're done sightseeing! Who wants to spend all their time in the hotel anyway - you're in Paris!!

Breakfast was palatable, nothing special. Plenty fruit, cereal and pastries to fill up on, but the cooked food wasn't very good. Only sausage and scrambled egg and it wasn't stored very well, which meant it went cold very quickly. The free soft drink bar was very well received, especially since the weather was lovely and warm during our stay. For dinner and midnight snacking there are plenty of restaurants and co-op style shops nearby.

Staff were pleasant but not overly friendly, no complaints for sure. Check in and check out was smooth with no unpleasant surprises. I would say the best plus point for this hotel is the location - for a reasonable price considering it's in Paris, a place to sleep and hot water with a feed thrown in, I'd stay here again. Lovely area, shopping and eateries galore and we felt quite safe around here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    192
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
59
162
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

the hotel is clean and situated in a very central area, close to opera. they have very nice food and friendly environment. rooms are comfortable. it is very convenient to stay with family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

hotel is around 5min walk from Roissy bus dropoff pt in opera (from airport), and within 10mins walking distance from galleries lafayette / printemps / apple store, 3mins walk from auber station. room is a nice welcome (gd size, decent bathroom n bed) for a parisian hotel usual standard, and believe the hotel presents a good choice for tourists from location / comfort vs price perspective.

hotel currently provides extras (eg complimentary snacks at lobby / free in room wifi access / bkfast inclusive room offers) but if you are ok with small elevator and no frills service (luck of the draw depends on who u get at front desk) and mainly needs a decent place to crash / close to shopping, hotel is very good choice, compared to what you have to pay at the Ws and the Intercontinentals rooms nearby.

Room Tip: elevators take awhile to react n reach, so look to choose a lower floor if u are not the patient typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I rarely come to France and this is a great introduction to Paris.

The Hotel Caumartin Opera as the name suggests is within walking distant to the famous Paris Opera.

The hotel is a 3 star hotel but the staff here are so wonderfully friendly and have excellent language skills.

There are only 40 rooms in the hotel and the rooms are really spacious and clean.

The breakfast was beautifully prepared and I really enjoyed the French way of preparing the eggs.

I shall return soon I hope!

Room Tip: I enjoy the room with street view. A feeling of being part of the Parisian life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days with my family. This hotel has a good location, convenience to go around Paris, excellent services. I would recommend my friends to stay at Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel. See you again !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were very disappointed with this hotel for numerous reasons. The number one reason was the lady who worked the front desk during the day was rude and not helpful at all. When asked about turning on the air conditioning because of the warm weather, this same lady rudely said, "NOT UNTIL MAY! OPEN YOUR WINDOW (with the street noise below all night long)! On the other hand, Thomas, who worked on the weekend was excellent. The rooms were small and dirty. We had gum residue in the carpet, hair in the shower, and soap scum in the sink basin. One day while in the lobby, we were rudely pushed aside by cleaning personnel so they could get their cleaning done. The free open bar was a joke. Free breakfast left a lot to be desired....RUDE, RUDE, RUDE personnel working in the mornings. We had to go across the street to the bakery to get real food. The quality of the food was horrible. The lift (elevator) was so small that we had to take turns to get ourselves and luggage to our room. There was no handicapped accessibility in this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to any one. We had a horrible experience with the exception of Thomas. We looked around at other hotels while we were there so we would know where to stay on our next visit to Paris, France.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere other than this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_caumartin_75, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and assisting us to improve futures guests' stay through your observations.
Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you left the hotel dissatisfied. Rest assured, our guests’ care, rest and comfort are our top priorities and that we have shared your comments with the whole team as we strive for service excellence.
We are very concerned and want to address this issue with you. We have attempted to contact you via your cell phone and hope you allow us the opportunity to discuss this matter further. you can contact me at your earliest convenience on my email : asqual@astotel.com

Kindest regards,
Laure Meunier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location within Opera area, the hotel is nice, european rooms (small) but very clean, try not to get a room near the elevator because of the noise.

I really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

This chain of hotel has several properties in Paris and I really recommend this area. the hotel is in rue caumartin not far from Louvre, rue st honore and la madeleine.

they have good service if your flight is late at the lobby they take care of your luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel

Address: 27 Rue Caumartin | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#299 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
#337 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Caumartin street in the 9th district, a few steps awayfrom Opera Garnier, the Grands Boulevards, Place Vendome and the main business centres, the Caumartin hotel offers the perfect place of rest and leisure in the heart of the city. Thanks to the easy access provided to major entertainment venues in Paris, as well as to Disneyland Paris, our hotel will make your visit to Paris' main attractions a truly pleasurable experience. The hotel will win you over you with the warmth and discretion of its staff, as well as by its decoration, a subtle blend between modernity and comfort. Take advantage of 40 air conditioned rooms, our cozy breakfast room with colorful hues, whose bright and stylish design creates a warm atmosphere. In the morning, enjoy our delicious continental breakfast buffet. This is thus your only mandate: Let yourself be delighted by our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caumartin Opera Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.