We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the basics, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acacias Hotel De Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Acacias Hotel De Ville to your Saves list
Acacias Hotel De Ville
20 Rue Du Temple | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,665 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for the basics, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here with my family for 3 days. Overall, the hotel was average; it was safe and clean but small and a bit cramped, though you can't really expect more from a European hotel in general, especially in Paris where things have to be small to fit. We were generally only in the room for sleeping and for that reason it wasn't any problem. There wasn't a lift, and the windy and worn stairs made it difficult to carry all our bags up after being exhausted from our trip. The staff was generally nice and accomadable. A lot of the staff didn't speak much English beyond the basics; I was able to translate for my family but for those that don't speak French, it could be a possible problem.
The location was fantastic, it was in the heart of the Marais, a 3 minute walk to the Hotel de Ville metro station, the Hotel de Ville area, le Centre Pompidou, and very close to the Notre Dame and la Seine. It was certainly a fun area to be in, and there were shops and restaurants all around. It did get loud at night, especially with the gay bar right across the street, but as the Marais area can be known for its nightlife it was expected. It was a pretty safe area and a great area to explore the places around.
Though it was a tad overpriced for what you get, it provides you with the basics for sleeping and showering, all you really need when you want to spend the rest of your time exploring the city. Overall, it was definitely worth it for the perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Acacias on every trip to Paris over the past many years. The staff is uniformly hospitable. Some of the rooms are smaller than others, but the front desk is happy to accommodate a request for a different room. They also do their best to reserve a room that meets your requirements (such as overlooking the street; or the inside court; or plenty of light), provided you make your reservation well enough in advance.

We have never eaten breakfast at the hotel's modest dining room -- there is an abundance of sidewalk cafes within a block of the hotel. The greatest downside is the lack of airconditioning in summer (although a fan is provided, and most of the rooms are well ventilated) and an elevator! But space permitting, the front desk will allow you to temporarily store your bags near the dining area. The hotel is clean and well-maintained, and it is easy to overlook some of the cosmetic drawbacks in light of the superb location at this price ... walking distance to major attractions and shopping, and a very convenient access to the Metro.

Room Tip: The nicest room is one overlooking the street, one flight up from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

If you can manage, avoid this place. I read previous bad reviews, but had no choice but to stay there since I booked last minute. The bed is extremely uncomfortable, the room/hotel smell of cigarette smoke, the staff barely speak English, despite the advertised free wifi, it only works in the lobby, and the lobby "closes" at midnight.
But WORST OF ALL: my debit card and iPhone headphones disappeared during my stay there. Someone used my debit card to charge US$2000 at a men's clothing store. :(

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Fantastic location - 100M to Metro and parking. Super friendly staff. Rooms were large by Paris standard. We stayed in a triple. The shower was very small and the bedding was old. The rooms were dated, but at least the sheets were clean. We had a room on the street and the neighbor hood has several bars and restaurants that did not disturb us. Good value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The small hotel is located right between Notre Dame and Centre Pompidou. It´s simple and with old furnishing - but it´s clean and located so perfectly for any sightseeing and going out at night - it´s worth the money (though prices are generally high in that area). Price for double: € 108.- not cheap, but regarding overall prices in Pairs it´s OK.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

No aircon 40 degrees in the room and no handle to open the windows just an old fan, but no worry you will enjoy the minibar : )

No lift but no worry it is good for your fitness to climb 3 floors with your luggages : )

Old rooms but you are not in Paris to stay in the room are yu : )

If you need to iron your shirt it will be in the lobby in front of the other people as it is forbidden to take the iron in your room. That's not embarassing at all , you are like me you enjoy doing the show : )

And if you are still decided to iron your shirt make sure it is not a Christian Dior because the iron will let some memories on it .

The staff is ok

In a nutshell : f

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

As an experienced traveller I have stayed in a variety of accomodation from hostels to 5* luxury. Not only is this the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, it is the worst value for money.

Bad points:
Cleanliness - don't touch anything, don't even shower as it will make you dirtier!!
Service - grumpy, unfriendly and unhelpfull
Layout - no lift, awkward winding stairs with worn out dirty carpets
Rooms - tiny and badly laid out. To sit on the toilet I had to be some sort of contortionist as the sink basin was literally ontop of the toilet

Good points
Location
Incompetence - the staff were so incompetent they did not even charge me for the stay

Never, ever stay in this hotel..............

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacias Hotel De Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacias Hotel De Ville

Address: 20 Rue Du Temple | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,665 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acacias Hotel De Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacias Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacias Hotel De Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.