We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve in Paris!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayfair Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mayfair Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Mayfair Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #435 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in Paris!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

This hotel was a comfortable, well-located, quiet base for our six-night New Year's Eve trip. Just a few steps from Place de la Concorde, Tuilleries, Champs Elysee, etc. The small staff were all polite, eager to help, friendly, and spoke English perfectly. There is no big hotel bustle here, no sensational views, of the city -- we were grateful for the calm and the sense of sanctuary from the crowds. It's on a one-block street that few cab drivers know (we told them to drop us off at the Meurice and walked the last block). On checking out, I inadvertently left a wallet and some cash in the room safe. Before I had landed they had sent an email advising me that I had done so. I responded, and they expressed the items as I requested, and further emailed to be sure I had received them. Great bathrooms (a plus in France). Breakfast was excellent, both in-room and in the bar/restaurant. Tip: a dinner cruise through yachtsdeparis.fr -- New Year's Eve was expensive, but worth it; our second time on their Don Juan II. Elegant, with excellent food and wine and superb service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    132
    59
    14
    18
See reviews for
91
166
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

While this isn't the Hotel Ritz that is right around the corner...it's certainly a pleasant place to stay. Our room, while small and modest, did have a nice new bathroom, very clean and the bedding was nice. The staff were always very helpful and the breakfast was fine. Absolutely nothing to complain about at all...and we typically do stay at Ritz Carlton's...so we have pretty high standards. What is truly fantastic about the Mayfair is the location...it's walking distance to the Louvre (5 minute walk or so....super easy)...the Place Vendome (where you can pop into the Hotel Ritz for a luxurious drink)...etc....I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a place that is very clean, amazing location and doesn't mind modest yet comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during a two-night stopover in Paris for our honeymoon. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the location was great but overall you can probably do better for near the same price in that area. Our biggest complaint about the hotel was the temperature of the room, it was winter so the heat was on but the outside temperature was about 10C and our room was very hot. We had to leave our window open while we slept. A hot breakfast came with our room and it was OK, nothing special and certainly not worth paying extra for if you have the choice (plenty of places to go in the surrounding area). The hotel staff were generally nice, though we are still a little confused about having to leave the room key at the front desk everytime you leave the hotel. The room itself is pretty simple and old (except the remodeled bathrooms) though the bed was comfortable. Obviously, like a hotel in any major city, the rooms are small. Overall, when we return to Paris, we will stay somewhere else, mainly because from what we saw of other hotels, we feel we can probably get a nicer room for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

My husband and I travelled to Paris this Sept and booked a room for 7 days at Hotel Mayfair. We thought the service was very good, they offered decent dining recommendations, provided on-time wake up calls, made phone calls to restaurants we found and made our dinner reservations for us, were fairly prompt in providing us internet access and assistance when I locked myself out of the in-room safe. We ate breakfast one morning in their dining room and had room service one night. The food was fine. The room itself was spacious and I was concerned after hearing how small some European rooms were but this was a good sized room and bathroom. There were robes in the closet and decent toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean- every day. It is a good, basic hotel. Nothing fancy but it was comfortable, clean and pleasant. I would not hesitate to return. They are within walking distance of many major sites: Louvre, Place de Vendome, Place de Concorde, Champs Elysee and the subway is just down the block which can take you anywhere else you might want to go. There were many places to eat within easy walking distance. We had a great time in Paris and were hapyp to have a comfortable place to return to every night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

As many other contributors have said the Hotel is in a great location. We walked (twice) from the Arc de Triomph along the Champs-Elysees and back to the hotel. Atmosphere in Paris was amazing. We chose a supier room , booked direct with Hotel, it was very comfortable and spacious, lovely large bed! nice sheets, There was some noise form the street (it comes from the rear of the hotel opposite) but hey, you are in a city, we had a balcony and after the indulgences of the night before slept very well! We shall go back.
Staff were nice too.
I would also add we ate two superb, albeit different restaurants, both listed on TA, the Goumard & Le Relais de L'Isle.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The room rate was 240 euros for a superior room, using the hotel's web-page. Breakfast was extra - 14euros continental and 20euros full buffet breakfast.
Coming from CDG airport we took the RER to Chatelet and changed to line 1 metro (direction Defence) to Concorde. Hotel is very close to the metro so the journey was easy.
It was fantastic to be so near to the tuileries, madeleine, opera, louvre etc. We walked and explored and had a great time. We were there for a french friends' birthday and it was easy from the location, to go out of Paris and the get a taxi back in to town. On Sunday, we walked across the tuileries gardens to the banks of the Seine, along to the Pont Neuf, over to the Isle de la Cite, we passed Notre Damme, crossed over the St Louis bridge and went on to St Paul / the Marais and the Place de Vosges for lunch. My feet were sore but what a lovely time.
I have noticed in London and Paris 4 star can mean 3 star and this hotel felt more 31/2 than four, however it was clean, the staff were helpful and the breakfast room was full of happy satisfied people. Against that, our superior room was facing the street and noisy so another time we would face inwards which would mean a junior suite.
We wanted to check in to our flight on-line and you have to buy scratch cards for internet access which for 2 minutes was irritating. The hotel bar was not open late, so if you wanted a digestif you had to use the mini-bar or nearby cafe.
These are minor gripes, pleasant staff, clean hotel and a great location mean we will return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel is right around the corner from Place de la Concorde, across the street from the back door of the Hotel Ritz, very close to Les Tuilleries and the Jeu de Palme, about a block and a half from the Chanel Showroom, close to Place Vendome, close to Rue St Honore. It is in one of the most exclusive and beautiful parts of Paris. The hotel management is very sensitive to the wishes of the clients. The breakfast room is filled with delicious items. There is a first floor salon for reading newspapers and planning the day. The rooms are being renovated in a charming and tasteful manner. The Concorde metro is very close. To stay here is a privilege and a delight!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayfair Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayfair Paris

Address: 3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#326 Business Hotel in Paris
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#424 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayfair Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the fashion & business area of Paris; within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Place Vendôme, Opéra and the Champs-Élysées; the Hotel Mayfair Paris is an elegant boutique hotel offering 40 rooms, 7 junior suites and a business meeting room suitable for 12. Member of the Preferred Hotel Group selection, its decoration combines harmonious colours and luxurious fabrics that define the essence of this French style home. The Hotel Mayfair Paris is a perfect illustration of French hospitality at its very best, providing a very attentive and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mayfair Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayfair Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.