We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming appearance but with issues!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayfair Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mayfair Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Mayfair Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #435 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming appearance but with issues!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are attractive. Unfortunately, it was so hot!! The air conditioning is non-existent. When we asked for a fan, a little man behind the desk shook his fist at us. We paid over 6000 bucks to stay here-- had two rooms. Room service was poor-- both the quality of the food and the service. The Internet worked fine in our room but was very spotty in our kids' room, one floor beneath us. They never gave us clean glasses and acted surprised that we would want clean glasses! Not particularly clean in general. All in all cannot recommend and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is with great regret that we read your stay did not meet your expectations.

I am surprised by the fact that you wrote your review in June 2013, while you specify your stay was in August 2012.

Therefore, I unfortunately won’t be able to investigate all of your very interesting remarks almost one year after your stay. But I can give some information below about mentioned subjects.

Please be sure that air conditioning is working properly and is compliant with the new European and French regulations. The hotel has changed its Air Conditioning System and Engines 2 years ago.

Room Service, provided since 2007 by our partner the next-by “Restaurant L’Impérial”, is usually recommended by our guests. We still collaborate with this partner in particular based on the fact that this restaurant manages to maintain service and quality level year after year using fresh products and preparing very appreciated French food.

As for the hotel cleanliness mentioned in the review, of course, the hotel is not safe from one incident, but considering a 4.5/5 note on Trip Advisor based on 361 reviews, it is reasonable to say that the continuous efforts of the Housekeeping team in this area are rewarded and recognized by guests. Cleanliness is a non stop labour and challenge and we thank you for your remark on that subject.

Even almost one year later, thank you so much for helping us improve our guest service.

If you wish any other information, please feel free to contact me. I would be pleased to help you and assist you.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    130
    59
    14
    18
See reviews for
91
165
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent nine nights at the Mayfair in a "superior" room on the second floor. Location is excellent allowing us to walk to many sites. Room was relatively large compared to many we have had in Europe, and the bath was large, clean and complete. Bed was large and very comfortable and closet space was adequate. The room was in a quiet area of the floor, no street noise. Breakfast was really a delight. Eggs as you like them served individually to each of us under domed covers; lots of breads, cheeses, fruits, juices and several meats. Table cloths were fresh and the service was excellent, thank you Louise. We hope to return before too long. One small complaint: 10 euro/day for wifi---not accustomed to that in the USA. There were no hidden charges or surprises upon checkout. A charming small hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Charles H.,

Thank you so much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is such a pleasure to read that you have spent nine nights with us and that you were fully satisfied with our hotel, our staff and our services during this long stay.

In nine nights you have surely experienced a lot of the Mayfair’s identity and ambiance; discovered and used majority of our services and met almost all our staff!

This makes your review even more accurate, important and encouraging for us.

I have transmitted your nice words to Louise that you mention in your review, she is delighted and sends you both her regards.

Just a small word about Internet access. Indeed, it is charged 10 Euros a day and we understand that in some countries, it is free of charge. But please note that Internet access is free of charge for guests who book the hotel in direct, by phone, email or through our Official Web Site.

Dear Charles H., please also note that for your next stay, no matter the way you make your reservation, Internet Access will be free of charge for you.

The satisfaction of all our guests is very important to us and we are proud that we have achieved this goal during your stay.

“Merci Beaucoup” for your review.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Paris!

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family had several rooms at the Hotel Mayfair in Paris: one was OK, one was so-so, and one was unacceptable. Two of the rooms did not have air conditioning available for two of the four nights. If you have a room in the front you will get moderate strret noise which is a problem in the early morning. The mattresses in all the rooms sagged from moderate to severe, and one was covered in a plastic pad. There are no amenities other than shampoo and soap. No bedside light to read by. Housekeeping is spotty: baseboards were filthy and lots of chipped paint everywhere. One gets the sense that hotel management has checked out. Wi-fi worked well and location is great. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive. Difficult to understand why the Mayfair is rated 4 stars. Seems more like 3 to me. Botttom line: you may be satisfied with your room, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel and for taking time to write this review.

It is with great regret that we read your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your Trip Advisor Senior Profile indicates your great experience and also your high level of expectations, as majority of all reviews you have written on Trip Advisor give a poor average to hotels and restaurants you have experienced.

As for the very interesting and useful remarks of the current review, I would like to kindly bring some important information below:

Please note that the hotel is indeed located in the heart of Paris, which makes it even more attractive. Therefore, the street, as the city, can sometimes be busy. This is the reason why all rooms are equipped with double glazed windows.

Concerning rooms’ amenities, here is what is available in the rooms: soap, shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and of course cotton and shower cap. Additional and other amenities are available on request at the Front Desk or Housekeeping, with no charge, such as toothbrush and comb for example.

Please be sure that all rooms have two bedside lamps on each side of the bed.
This is visible on all available guests’ and professionals’ photos.

A small information about breakfast :
Continental Breakfast is 15 Euros and Hot Buffet Breakfast is 25 Euros.
This is in the Parisian average rate range.

For all guests and readers, two PDF files are available on the hotel’s official web site:
the Service Directory and the Hotel’s Information Sheet.
These two files give precise information on the hotel, its services, equipments, rooms’ sizes, breakfast content and rates, (…).
We kindly invite readers to go and browse our website and of course download these two files for a complete and precise information.

Dear guest, we take note of the photo you have posted. This is one of the room’s door corner where our staff and also our guests regularly rub the luggage when passing by. Therefore, it is for us a continuous effort to maintain them, and we will definitely work on this one and check the remaining.

We thank you very much for your remark on Housekeeping which indicates that our team was not optimal during your stay. I will inform and brief the Housekeeping personally to make sure they always pay attention to every detail when cleaning and preparing rooms for our guests.

Thank you for helping us improve our guest service. I wish I could contact you, but you did not leave any information on Trip Advisor that could help us identify you and find your information in our internal system. If you desire any other information, please feel comfortable to contact me. I would be pleased to help you and assist you.

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Mayfair - this was our third stay, and as usual we found the hotel perfect for our needs. The staff are friendly (for the most part - this time the man at the front desk was not particularly warm, but he was competent and helpful). The hotel is perfectly located virtually a half block from an entrance to the Tuilleries, and two blocks from the wonderful shops on the Rue St. Honore - we always try to stay in this hotel when we are in Paris....I do wish breakfast was included - the breakfast room is particularly nice - light filled and with a small inner courtyard to brighten it, and I also wish wifi was free as it is in many 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedouaneYAHIAOUI, Operations Manager. at Hotel Mayfair Paris, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting the Hotel Mayfair Paris and for taking time to write this review.

It is such a pleasure to read that you stayed with us for the third time and that you were fully satisfied.

During your numerous stays, you have surely experienced a lot of the Mayfair’s identity and ambiance; used majority of our services, met all our staff and discovered a part of our rooms’ offer.

The essence and the reward of our Boutique hotel is to obtain guest satisfaction, loyalty and trust. This makes your review and comments even more accurate, important and encouraging for us.

Thank you so much for your confidence and for giving us the chance to welcome you, surprise you and service you at each of your stays.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Paris!

Kind regards,
Redouane.
Operations Manager.
Email : yredouane@hotelmayfairparis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel, it's small and very typical of Paris. The lobby and common spaces are very nicely decorated, old world style, which is what I enjoy. The rooms small, but clean and tidy, but small is being in Paris.

I don't give this hotel a top rating because while the staff was friendly and helpful, the management needs some help. Who ever runs this place went to management school where they were taught that putting up a sign or making a rule would solve every problem. The hotel has plenty of rules that seem to posted everywhere. At the elevator there is a letter from management explaining why it is difficult to get a cab.

I stayed three nights and enjoyed the stay, but honestly, it's Paris, I did not spend a lot of time in the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed here one night while we were in Paris. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were also quite spacious. The beds were comfortable. All in all, this was a nice hotel I would certainly stay at again.

The location of this hotel could not be beat. It was literally around the corner from the L'Arc de Triomphe, making everything you could want to do very easily accessible. There were bikes for rent just outside the doors and taxis and the metro steps away. Being so close to the Champs Elysees was both convenient and magical.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was extremely pleased with my stay here. However breakfast was not included in the room rate that I paid. It was extra and somewhat expensive. Very expensive by US standards. The staff was a great help to me personally. The room was very nice. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the metro and pretty much near just about everything in Paris. Another bonus is that it is located on a small side street so that is virtually no traffic noise. My special thanks goes to the desk clerk who helped me out in a very difficult situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayfair Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayfair Paris

Address: 3 Rue Rouget de Lisle, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#376 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#420 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayfair Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the fashion & business area of Paris; within walking distance of the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Place Vendôme, Opéra and the Champs-Élysées; the Hotel Mayfair Paris is an elegant boutique hotel offering 40 rooms, 7 junior suites and a business meeting room suitable for 12. Member of the Preferred Hotel Group selection, its decoration combines harmonious colours and luxurious fabrics that define the essence of this French style home. The Hotel Mayfair Paris is a perfect illustration of French hospitality at its very best, providing a very attentive and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mayfair Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayfair Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.