We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chosen for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 bis, rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #776 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Masterton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“chosen for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Located near the Latin Quarter and within easy walking distance of the metro to Charles d'Gaulle airport. Also a short walk to the beautiful Luxemborg gardens. Lots of lovey bistros nearby and cafes for breakfast. Easy walk to Notre Dame.

Rooms were small but adequate, the dark decor did fell a bit oppressive. Good Wifi, friendly staff although one was a bit causal with her directions and the metro station was closed when we got there.

Only 15 Euros for a taxi from Montparnasse train station... good quiet location. Sheets had a hole in them ! which was not noticed by housekeeper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear MastertonTripper,
It was a pleasure welcoming you, thank you for posting a review. I'm sorry for the issue regarding the sheet and have transfered them to our partner: our sheets are new, therefore it must have came from another hotel, and I want to make sure this doesn't happen again.
We appreciate you taking the time and hope the next time you are back in Paris you will choose to stay with us again.
Have a nice day!
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    259
    95
    32
    23
See reviews for
103
197
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a great room on an upgrade to superior room - worth the extra cost of 15 EUR a night to be high up away from the street and with a view of the Eiffel Tower. Room not overly large but had all that was needed and the very much-needed airconditioning. Lift to reach our end section of the hotel was very small but functioned OK. Not a lot else to the hotel - small lobby and small check-in counter and breakfast room which we didn't use as we could breakfast on our balcony eating freshly-baked croissants from nearby bakeries! Location brilliant - lovely cafes, bars and restaurants and shops just round the corner and Luxembourg Gardens 5 minutes' walk away and also the RER 5 minutes' away too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors to secure a good view over the city and away from any street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear experiencedflatrente,
Thank you for your feedback, it is very appreciated. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the time you spent with us
We look forward to welcoming you again should your future travels bring you back to Paris, easy to reach from Reading!
Warm regards,
Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife in July 2014. Great location in Latin Quarter. 10 minutes walk from Norte Dame. Great square over the road with a couple of Bistros, one offering a happy hour 4-7pm.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear dsykes1965,
Thank you for your review. We love indeed our great location, walking everywhere around so easily. And we do enjoy happy hour on the charming square across the street with terraces and Sorbonne University as well!
We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing again soon!
Very best regards,
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a hotel that combines European charm with American service. The rooms are clean and comfortable if sometimes a little quirky--ours had eight sides (and none of them equal,it was like a jigsaw puzzle.) Bathrooms small but modernized. Do spring for the deluxe bathroom though. Beds were comfortable as were the pillows. Moderate street noise - the higher your floor, the less this will be a problem. It's a good location in a safe area and very reasonably priced. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Oly negative - a surly housekeeping staff. Woe to he who wants an extra towel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Alice T,
Thank you for the very nice review! We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
I'm really sorry about the issue with the chambermaid, and have reported it to the housekeeper to make sure it doesn't happen again. My apologies.
The next time you are in Paris we hope you will visit us at the Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, I'll be delighted to deliver extra towels myself!
Sincerely yours,
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche for two nights. The hotel was easily accessible by Metro, a quick walk from the Luxembourg stop. I highly recommend spending the extra money to have a balcony and a view of the Eiffel Tour!

The hotel was clean and in a great location in the Latin Quarter. If you are not a fan of small elevators I recommend asking to be placed in one of the rooms that is accessible by the main elevator. The elevator to our room only accommodate two people- barely.
Staff was very helpful and helped us to book a shuttle for our early morning flight.

Room Tip: I highly recommend spending the extra money to have a balcony and a view of the Eiffel Tour! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Janna M,
Thank you for reviewing your trip to Paris. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind notes regarding the team.
I hope you will come and visit us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is a great location. You are within walking distance of a lot of great places. The rooms are small and when you take a shower the entire bathroom tends to get wet. But even with those things I would still stay here again. The room was clean. The decor is a little odd but one can overlook that. There are many restaurants and bakeries in the area. There is also a nice gelato shop a few blocks away. The metro station is also very close by. As they say location, location, location. The Paris pass is very beneficial to purchase as is the Metro pass. Most people speak some kind of english in Paris and try to assist you. We did not encounter any person that was rude. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Pam P,
Thank you for your stay with us and for posting about your experience with our hotel. We value your feedback. We strive on delivering a superior experience for our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after booking with booking.com, for two nights. This hotel was not 4 star as advertised or refurbished. We had a very small room to start with and it had a old fashioned bathroom and stained carpet, no natural light and the window was very difficult to open which faced the back of the building to a brick wall. I asked for a room change but they had none available so we had to stay in the room for one of the nights. We requested an iron to the room, we had to go down to collect it from reception which is not something you would have to do in a 4 star accommodation! Once we got it back to the room the iron didn't work, so I phoned down and asked for another and yet again we was told we have to go down to get it until I persisted that they brought one up.

The second day we upgraded, we paid for a superior room, which was bigger but far from superior! The bathroom was modern but badly refurbished and the shower flooded the bathroom as the shower glass panel had no rubber seal. The pipes where showing and missing grout between tiles.The room also had a stained dirty carpet and the walls which are fabric to cover what I expect is bad plastering is torn in areas and gaps. The ceiling above the door was coming down, you could see through the metal panel ceiling to the wiring and old walls. The room certainly hadn't been refurbished the skirting was scraped and clearly hadn't been painted in years.

I complained to the reception staff and I didn't get any solutions from them. On our last night I asked if they could book me a taxi for the next morning as our train was very early. The reception wasn't keen to help and said I should book in the morning when we check out. His words: "it should be okay! it's not usually busy that time". Wouldn't it of been more professional to book it? I stay at many hotels and I certainly wouldn't stay here again even with the location being excellent, there are other local hotels we spotted that look much more presentable and professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTrianonRG, Manager at BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear annaw1987,
Thank you for providing a detailed review of your story at our hotel.
We are terribly sorry to learn about the issues you experienced during your stay and know this is certainly not our standard. We take great pride in pro-actively maintaining the asset and appreciate the opportunity to learn from our mistakes.
Our staff at the reception desk definitely book taxis, knows many restaurants and attractions throughout Paris, and they are happy to serve. We have hired a few replacement receptionnists for the summer, and they don't know as much as the permanent all year long receptionnists. Again I apologize.
Thank you for choosing us, we hope to serve you again in the future, confident we'll provide the best service.
Sincerely yours,
Mrs Veronique ROYER,
Best Western Trianon Rive Gauche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel

Address: 1 bis, rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche is a charming hotel decorated in a traditional style with antique furniture, centrally located in Paris Saint Germain des Pres. Just minutes away from the Luxembourg Gardens, the Odeon Theater, the Musee d'Orsay and the Louvre, the hotel enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the Latin Quarter, an area renowned for its enchanting historical streets and lively restaurants and bars. Our attentive, multilingual staff will be delighted to welcome you in one of our 110 comfortable rooms, fully equipped. You’ll also enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast in our cosy lounge. Direct access to Charles de Gaulle airport as well as most train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
Trianon Rive Gauche Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Trianon Rive Gauche Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.