We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue St Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #831 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent customer service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at crystal hotel on 13-16 march. The location was fantastic! Very near the metro station (Saint Germain des-Pres) and its on the direct line from Gare du Nord. The neighborhood was great, very safe at night and plenty of things to see and shop.

Most importantly, Bruno, the staff who attended to us was really kind and welcoming which made us feel like home. He would go the extra mile to recommend and direct us to the best French food around the area. He attended to all our queries with sincerity and greets us every time he sees us, which both me and my partner greatly appreciates.

We will definitely go back to crystal hotel on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    116
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
37
87
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Best location in Paris, very nice people, good rooms. Sometimes they have promotions on their websites. If you can get one it could be very cheap for the quality. It's located in St. Germain des Prés, right behind the famous Café de Flore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I thought the location for this hotel was perfect! We were walking distance to most everything and literally next door to the famous cafe de Flores. Our superior double, room 9, was very spacious by Paris standards and had all amenities we wanted. The shower was a bit tricky. The best part of the hotel, however, was Bruno who went out of his way to make our stay a pleasure. He provided directions, restaurant recommendations and taxi reservations as needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a twin bed on the 3rd floor. This hotel has an excellent location in the St. Germain area in the centre of Paris. It is a few steps (less than 5 min walk) to the Metro, RER, a major grocery store (great takeaway food) as well as many shops and restaurants for all price ranges. It is also walking distance to most of the major Paris sites. It's a location that's hard to beat... but it does come at a cost.

Like many small Paris hotels, you get to your room by either a tiny elevator (max 2 people) or many flights of stairs. Our twin room was quite small - even for Paris. Previously, we always stayed in a 2 star hotel a few blocks away for less, but it was booked. This hotel had a slightly better location, but felt more 2 star than 3 - even for Paris. The beds were extremely firm. The room was quite dark - and appeared clean, but did have a slight musty smell. The bathroom was very tiny with a shower that required squeezing between a narrow gap beside the sink to get into. We're not large people (around 150lbs), and found it a tight squeeze. Someone larger (> 180lbs?) would not be able to get into this shower without some lubricant... or perhaps not at all. No coffee/tea in room - but it did have a small mini-bar fridge. The hotel did have free internet - available with a code at checkin.

The staff were friendly both on checkin and checkout, and could not be faulted. The hotel (or a neighbouring building) appears to be undergoing some renovations at the moment, which made it very difficult to get a nap in the afternoon due to a lot of hammering. You may want to inquire about this if you care about noise during the day.

Overall, for the location, this is pretty good place to stay. Though for the price paid, I have to admit, we expected slightly better rooms. I would only stay here again for a lower (2 star level) room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had an excellent stay in the Crystal Hotel. Initially a little nervous because of reviews of noise, but these were massively overblown. The hotel is on a side street of the bustling St. Germain des Pres area, but most of the noise is around the corner and the double-glazed windows kept our 4th floor, street facing window quiet when we needed it.
Location is awesome. Step out of the door and you have the cool street action of St Germain & the latin quarter to the east, St Sulpice & Luxemborg to the south, Louve & river to the north all within very easy walking distance. Metro station is a couple of minutes from the front door.
Staff were awesome. Like many visitors with an early-morning trans-atlantic arrival, early checkin is always a a lottery. The previous guests had not left yet, but they made us comfortable, provided the restroom for a quick freshen-up and took care of luggage storage.
It is a city hotel, so set room size expectations accordingly, and expect some late night street noise - you're in the middle of Paris! Stay here and enjoy a great city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights there , midle of August this year . You can not find better location in St Germain des Près , if you want to enjoy the area without the noise , 1 step of Café de Flore , Deux Magots , St Germain des Près Church , shops , galleries , restaurants ... The staff was very nice and friendly , and even if my bed room was very small ( single room ) , everything was there , including wifi .They even gave me the use of a laptop computer in the lobby for free . Excellent value , i recommand it !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Based on other reviews on tripadvisor and it's location in the heart of Saint-Germain - and the reasonable price- we decided to stay at the Crystal Hotel. We were not disappointed! Yes the rooms are small but no smaller than I have stayed in within Paris or New York. The room was comfortable and clean. With a window facing the inner courtyard is was remarkably quiet. The air conditioning worked well given that it was relatively warm outside. The bathroom was clearly renovated and updated to be quite modern relative to the room itself. For a reasonably sized person like myself (5'11 - 185), the shower was tight but adequate - don't drop the soap and expect to pick it up with the door closed. The bed had a firm but comfortable mattress (for me). The staff were incredibly helpful in all regards and very willing to give suggestions for places to eat or shop or relax. Our baggage was "lost" for 3 days and they were helpful in trying to find ways to retrieve it. Bruno was particularly friendly and helpful. It is easy to find and in an ideal location for wandering around Saint-Germain and the Left Back - and the Montparnese train station. They have a continental breakfast but it seemed a bit expensive for what they provided so we found local cafe's that were open early that served breakfast within a few blocks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: 24 Rue St Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Crystal, in the Saint Germain's historic district, in the center of Paris. Our hotel is since the 1950s a meeting place for the artists, the writers or Nobel prize. In the reception, recently renovated, spacious and bright, our welcoming staff will do everything to make of your stay in Paris an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.