We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Paris: good position and kind personnel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vendome - Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Vendome - Paris to your Saves list
Melia Vendome - Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #491 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Locarno, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hotel in Paris: good position and kind personnel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hotel “Melia Vendome” is located in a beautiful area, close to the gardens of Tuileries, and its position is of extreme value for tourists. By five minutes walking the guest will reach the Louvre Museum or the Museum d’Orsay. The Orangerie, with Monet famous paintings, or Place Vendome, or Opera Garnier, are also a few minutes from the Hotel. The connection with CDG airport (through REP trains and then the metro) is good, also, and – even with luggage – no taxi is needed. The personnel attending the reception are kind and polite; our bills –even if quite complicated – were precise and timely done. There are some restaurants in the nearby; anyway, we asked for dining in our room, and the dinner was soon delivered: quality was fine. Breakfast – even if less sumptuous compared to other hotels of the same chain – was fully satisfactory. Rooms are silent. As a minor remark, maybe the tapestry could be renovated; in some cases, the furniture or the room itself appear requiring some renovation works. Anyway, I recommend this hotel in case you intend spend some pleasant days in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Baronesiciliano,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time in let us know about your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to learn that during your stay in our Melia Vendome, you enjoyed our situation in the heart of Paris, near of the most important highlights of the City.

All our team works every day in order to make you feel at home during your stay, cause our clients’s satisfaction is our most important goal to achieve.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in our Melia Vendome.

Sincerely yours,

Cecile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    172
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
67
186
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very decent hotel between rue de Rivoli and St Honoré, les Tuileries/Place de la Concorde and Place Vendome, Rooms are clean and service is helpful. They ironed some shorts for me after 5pm arrival same evening also.. Will return.

Room Tip: become part of the Melia club for free upgrades and reduced rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear paddy_oo,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as you have mentioned the location of the hotel is ideal, being next to the Tuileries garden, Place Vendome, Champs d’Elysée.
At the Melia Vendôme we have a passion for service and will always try our best to help our guests however we can.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you will be coming back the next time you are in Paris.

Expecting to receive you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cécile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at your hotel for six nights starting on April 19 2014 to enjoy a second honeymoon.
From the moment we checked in, the front desk personnel made us immediately feel welcome. Our room number was 205 and we were very pleased all the facilities and amenities. It’s important to underline that we had a queen bed and that our bathroom was very large and very well equipped with hairdryer and other goodies.
We would like to extend our gratitude to Antoine, Alice, Thomas, Ivan and Nicolas for always going the extra mile to assure our satisfaction with the Meliá hospitality. Our apologies to other staff members whose names we cannot remember but they were also always very helpful and professional with us.
The location of the hotel is incredible. There are many points of interest within 10 minutes walking distance: the Louvre, Place de la Concorde, Place Vendome, Jardin des Tuileries, L'église de la Madeleine, Palais Garnier; etc.
We will definitely return to the Meliá Vendome Boutique Hotel for our next Paris vacation.
- Rafael and Leticia Guevara -

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Molkitas,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time in let us know about your experience.

It is a real pleasure for us reading comments like yours, cause they make us keep working every day in order to achieve our main goal: our client’s satisfaction.

You can be sure we will share your comments with all the team.

Looking forward welcoming you very soon in our Melia Vendome,

Sincerely yours,

Cecile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I just came back from Paris, France where we stayed for 4 days. The city was spectacular and we had an absolutely wonderful time. We both fell in love with Paris. We stayed at the Melia Vendome which was in a great location. It was conveniently near the metro and in the midst of all these great boutiques and shops. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. We were especially impressed with the staff who were always pleasant and eager to assist us in any way they could. Ivan and Thomas at the front desk were just wonderful. There is no question that for our next trip to Paris we will be staying at the Melia Vendome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Ana M,

First of all, let me thank you for taking the time in let us know your opinion about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our situation in the heart of Paris, in a walking distance for the main highlights in the city, and also a very good shopping area.
It is also a pleasure to hear that you appreciated our staff. In Melia Hotels International we work hard every day in order to achieve our client’s satisfaction.
You can be sure we will share your comments with all the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming back you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cecile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A second stay a year later. The staff has changed somewhat at this hotel.there is a big issue with communications during this visit. An extended stay involved 4 mistaken wakeup calls, 2 during my first nite which made for a horrible day to follow. Another nite at 4:30 in the morning a furious knock on the door for an awaiting taxi which I did not order. Later again, a morning with NO WATER at all in this 4* hotel. Add to this the spotty WiFi(I actually had to go into the hallway to download a document!)leads me to conclude that this is NOT a hotel for Business travelers. So many mistakes and interruptions that made my stay quite uncomfortable at times. I think the staff is well intentioned but they
need to be retrained to understand English better. If you speak French or Spanish its fine as this is a Spanish chain but these issues compounded my decision to not return in the future. You just expect better service for the price and location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear clcny1,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time to let us know your opinion about our Melia Vendome.

I am sorry to learn of the inconveniences you have had during your last stay with us.
I would like to apologize for the unfortunate wakeup calls you received.
Please know that this is not a normal situation for us and I will personally look into the matter in order to check what was the problem.

Regarding the water issue, I would like to let you know that it was a situation created by the City hall, which was not in our control.
We understand that this was an uncomfortable situation for you, but please keep in mind that this has been an exceptional situation that doesn’t occur on a regular basis.

As per our Wifi connection, we would like to inform you that we have a Business center available for our clients in case they need to download bigger documents.

We really hope you will give us a second opportunity to improve your image of our Melia Vendome.

Sincerely yours,

Cecile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unite kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a very good hotel indeed. The position is perfect for anyone wanting easy access to all the central Paris sights - two minutes from three Metro stations. Easy walking distance of the Louvre and the Grand Palais.

Very good booking system; delightful room with extremely comfortable bed. Reception staff very friendly and efficient (except see below).

The breakfast is over-priced and not a patch on that at the Melia White House in London (or at hotels of similar quality elsewhere).

Downside. The staff are young and helpful - so long as your request comes within their training. They have no authority to do anything. We had a query over our bill - and they simply parroted that it was a problem for US and not for the Melia! For an international hotel in Paris, their language skills were insufficient to deal with anything but routine reception and greeting. To my surprise, the General Manager was not available on the holiday Monday. Nor has she replied to our e-mails. I cannot imagine a similar quality hotel leaving a bill issue to junior staff to cope with.

Upside - the young man Antoine on reception is a jewel. He should go far in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear spaddockuk,

We appreciate that you have taken your time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. The location, as you have mentioned, is perfect if you want to visit Paris’s main sights, such as the Louvre, Champs Elysée, etc.

Unfortunately I am not able to be at the hotel seven days a week but there will always be a manager on duty who would be glad to be of assistance. I sincerely apologize if you haven’t received an immediate reply to your email, please know that I’ll always reply as soon as possible being it my upmost priority to achieve the complete satisfaction of all our guests from the beginning of their stay until the moment that they leave.

It is great to hear that the staff at the reception have been friendly and efficient, and I will personally congratulate them on their excellent service.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you once more at the Melia Vendome Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Cécile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Melia Vendome and loved its location! It is totally unexpected to walk a couple of blocks and see the Eiffel Tower! Close to the Louvre, place 'de la Concorde, Champs Elyssee, and the Tour Eiffel!!
Friendly service!
It is worth it to upgrade to the premium room better view and larger room!
You won't be disappointed!! I wasn't!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHI F, General Manager at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Betty M,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write a commentary about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Our client’s opinions are very important to us.

We are glad that you could profit from our privileged location on the very heart of Paris, having the main references of the “City of Light” at a walking distance from the hotel.

All the members of our team give their best everyday to provide our guests an unfogettable experience in the Melia Vendome.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Cecile Costenoble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Vendome - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vendome - Paris

Address: 8 Rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#229 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#354 Family Hotel in Paris
#407 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#463 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Vendome - Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Vendome - Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Paris
Paris Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Vendome - Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.