We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and helpfull staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vendome - Paris

Save Saved
You added Melia Vendome - Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Melia Vendome - Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #455 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location and helpfull staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Room was small but cleaned. Bathroom was large too. Reception was helpful and efficient. Hotel is cozy and ideally located near shopping areas Rue Cambon n luxury boutiques. Could walk to Place Vendome and other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time at the Meliá Vendôme Hotel and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    154
    53
    13
    10
See reviews for
57
160
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent location in paris, the most important things are at walking distance, and if not 10 to 15 minutes with the subway. Service was also excellent, perfect place to relax after a exhuasting day in paris. The rooms are a little dark and sometimes the view from the windows is not that nice, but you certainly get what you are paying for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear JH_SG,

Thank you for completing a nice review about your recent stay with us and for your compliments regarding our service.
We do hope to see you back at the Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel website advertises "air conditioning" for our Premium room.
We're trying to sleep with windows open because there is NO air conditioning! With all the street noise there will be little sleep.
Very disappointing! Great location but no a/c really?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience France at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to see your experience in our hotel and we hope that this will not deter you from returning in a future.

Unfortunately our air condition system was out of order when you visited us. This problem has been resolved and we hope you give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Meliá Hotels International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fantastic as i have come to expect from Melia!!! Clean and very classy, right beside the Ritz on Rue Cambon!! All of the highest end designers nearby and a short walk to Place Concorde. Will be back for sure. The 28 Euro price for breakfast was exorbitant for what you get but you're in Paris so get used to it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear GSMOOTH,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about our Meliá Vendôme Boutique Hotel.
As you pointed out, the hotel is very well located in the city center, near the Champs Elysées, the Louvre Museum and the Place La Concorde. A perfect place to visit Paris.

Regarding the breakfast rates, i would like to inform you that our prices are in accordance with the rates charged by our competitors. Do not hesitate to ask for our loyalty card, you will enjoy the special rates and promotions.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Yes, you are smack in the middle of a lot major tourist sites: Place de la Concorde, the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, Tuileries Garden, and a short walk to the Champs Elysee. The Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, and Notre Dame are walkable (but a little far). Hey Paris is big, you can't be near everything.

The service here was good, and quickly resolved some billing issues that we had, while being quite pleasant. The rooms are clean and generous, although it seemed our room was scheduled to be cleaned a little later in the afternoon.

My only real complaint is the neighborhood dining, catering to upscale shoppers and tourists, the restaurants and cafes are generally expensive with mediocre food. We found ourselves on treks to Marais, the Latin Quarter, and the 6th arrondissement to find places with better/cheaper food, and less of a homogenous feel.

If you're in Paris to see the sights, this is the place. If you're there for gastronomic adventure, you might want to consider another neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear mknovi,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know you feedback from your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our service and location.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's location, a short stroll from the Place de la Concorde and the corresponding railway station. It's within walking distance of the Champs Elysee, the Lourve, and any number of Parisien attractions. It's also a nice 30min stroll from the Eiffel Tower, which encompasses a very scenic walk on the banks of the Seine. It's also pretty much opposite the Paris Word amusement park if that is of interest to you. It's also located near many boutique stores, if shopping is what you are after.

Being located close to Concorde railway makes getting the train to and from either airport very easy and cost effective. Taxi is fine, although the narrow Rue Cambon on which it is located makes it a tight squeeze if your are getting a bus here.

Rooms are quiet owing to it's slightly set back location. The finish/fittings are in keeping with it's advertised 4* standard, although in our room, quite a few items were in need of repair and were clearly well past their used by date. The bed was comfortable, but nothing special.

Breakfasts were ok, with a wide selection of fruits, pastries, cereals, breads, and cooked items to choose from, but like many French hotels, cooked breakfasts are not something they did well. The 25 euro pp charge for it was in keeping with other French hotels of similar standard, although to be honest, you can get a better and cheaper breakfast from one of the many cafes outside it's front door.

The major failing of this hotel is its refusal to provide internet, unless you pay them 25euro/24h for LAN or 40euro/24h for Wifi. This made planning subsequent legs of our trip quite difficult, essentially having to go to a nearby cafe to sort out our travel plans. In this day and age, it is simply unacceptable for a hotel that charges 300 euro a night to not provide this service in a first world country. I would have been happy if it were provided at least in a pubic area of the hotel such as the Lobby or the bar, but alas, it wasn't even complimentary there. I have stayed in accommodation in some very remote areas in much less developed countries where internet is provided at no charge.

If internet isn't a problem for you, or you don't mind paying through the nose for it, then this hotel gives you a decent nights sleep in a very good location for a standard and price that is comparable to other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear nerdag,

Thank you so much for choosing the Meliá Vendôme for your recent stay in Paris.

I was sorry to read of your experience with our internet service, the service is free of charge at this moment in the room and the hall as well. And I am pleased to inform you that we are installing Wi-Fi internet facilities throughout the next month . At the same time we are working closely with our internet provider to test on the speed of the service as we are going to upgraded our system.

Once again thank you for your choice and your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best wishes,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

the hotel was very central - close to the Place de la Concorde, the Louvre and the Tuileries.When we arrived we had to wait for our rooms to be ready, this took a while even though I booked them 2 month's previously, they didn't seem to have our rooms designated or ready, one room was on another floor, wasn't happy and no apology was offered. The rooms aren't huge but not a bad size for Paris. The beds are twins stuck together but very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate - though could have had thicker and more towels and the shower in our bathroom wasn't very strong and it was in the bath. The only view we had was the courtyard - which wasn't the best but as it was a City hotel we weren't there much. The main problem was breakfast, they offer a continental as well as a full buffet but was rudely told that you aren't allowed to eat the continental breakfast in the restaurant - you eat in the lobby -we all only wanted some coffee, fruit and pastries so didn't want the full buffet so we found a cafe and had breakfast there for less!! Will not be staying there again,

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, though on a Saturday night that can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHIFRANCE, Guest Experience at Melia Vendome - Paris, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Alexcoe,

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Vendôme for your stay in Paris.

I am glad to see that you enjoy the location of the hotel. Concerning your rooms , we apologize if we were not able to accommodate you in the same floor because it was not previously requested by you and unfortunately we did not have availability at this time.

I am sorry to see that your experience with us was not to your entire satisfaction concerning the breakfast either. I hope that you reconsider your decision and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future and take care of your stay.

Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience
Meliá Hotels International France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Vendome - Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vendome - Paris

Address: 8 Rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#289 Family Hotel in Paris
#364 Business Hotel in Paris
#401 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Vendome - Paris 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Amex, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Melia Vendome - Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Paris
Paris Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Vendome - Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.