We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Paris Vendome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Paris Vendome to your Saves list
Renaissance Paris Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue du Mont Thabor, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #336 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I love this hotel! Great pool and wonderful location, very central. I do use Marriott points and am silver/platinum so got Wifi and breakfast included. The pool is lovely!!!! Hotel rooms in Paris are small, and this hotel is no exception. The deluxe room is a bit more comfortable but still small, as is the norm in any big city. It's also quiet and safe with great amenities and a comfortable bed. I definitely recommend it. The staff are very helpful, friendly and speak both English and French.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    264
    59
    33
    20
See reviews for
134
431
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here and were expecting a LOT more for the price and the 4-star rating, including free wifi which was NOT included. The best thing about it is the location - otherwise the rooms are very small and the amenities are below average. The second best thing was the concierge David Volet who was AWESOME and who did a great job helping us get seats on a sold-out train to our next destination. The staff was very friendly and helpful but for my next trip I will find something less expensive, especially since we were not in the room much anyhow it was not worth paying for the non-existent amenities (no club floor or perks for Marriott honored guests, either, unless platinum level. for a Class 8 hotel this was very disappointing). It was very hot during our stay and although the room was comfortable we could not adjust AC to make it any cooler. I should have investigated more before booking, so shame on me, but not too late for you.

Room Tip: We were in a medium size room and it was tiny - can't imagine what the smaller rooms were like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for a few days on our recent trip to Paris, and were happy, but are not overenthusiastic about this hotel. The location in the first arrondissement, is nice if you want to be near the shops, etc that are in this area, but there is a lot of hustle and bustle, and not near the beauty of some of the other areas of the city.

We stayed here on Mariott points, and it took a large number, and then required an additional 100 Euro per night. For this we got an extremely small (even by Paris standards) room. In the first one the carpet smelled and was damp. They told us they were in the process of replacing the carpet, but that did not help us - however, they did agree to change our room to a better one. It was a bit larger, but very dark and faced an interior courtyard.

The hotel was clean and the public areas were nice. The bar was extremely expensive. I think what bothered me the most was that we asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation that would be a bistro where locals would eat. I speak fluent French and was very clear in my communications. Where she sent us was a place called Le Castiglione (see separate review), that was one of the biggest tourist traps in the history of our extensive travels. We are sure that she had to get some kind of kick back for sending us there (the entire dining area was filled with American's...not a single French person to be seen).

The breakfast that was supposed to be included was actually 30 Euros. We arrived about half an hour before the end, and much of the buffet was cleared, and the staff was extremely unhelpful.

This might be a great place if you are traveling alone on business. If you are looking for a hotel where you can experience and enjoy the city, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend after staying in a lesser property elsewhere in Paris. The location is great -- 5 minute walk to the Louvre, 5 to d'Orsay. The rooms are a bit small, but well appointed with very comfortable beds. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. For Marriott Platinum members a very tasty breakfast is included in the room price. All of this comes at a big price though. However, we appreciated a couple of nights of refinement before heading home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a very nice, elegant small boutique hotel. The staff is helpful and engaging, and we had a lovely stay for five nights. Great central location. The only downside is that the rooms are quite small. They do have a touch of luxury which makes up for size, but if you prefer something roomy this is probably not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask to be on the inner courtyard, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in Paris! (I went for the Romance, and he went for Le Tour de France!) Fortunately we managed a little of both. This hotel is within easy walking distance of all the museums, Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle, The Conciergerie, The Arc of Triumph, and even the Eiffel Tower if you enjoy walking. Also, there is a Metro Stop almost right across the street. The front desk people and the door men were very friendly and greeted me each and every time I walked through the lobby. We loved our little room and I miss it already. We went swimming in the basement pool twice and enjoyed that immensely. We took the Bullet Train to Rouen on July 4th for Le Tour! Great fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have yet to check out tomorrow 6/30 (2 nights in total) but I felt it necessary already to put up a review. So far, check in was smooth and we arrived really late last night and the guy at reception was very friendly and gave tons of information for shopping.

Cons: Other than that, I have to say reception (only males) have been cold and unfriendly. You greet them with "bonjour" and they don't respond. I have heard and understand that it is the Parisian way to be a little aloof initially but I would expect working in an international chain, they will try to be a little bit more friendly. I had to call a couple of times for water and they were short with me and even hung up on me abruptly. A very nice lady from concierge with excellent English finally spoke to us and informed us that complimentary water is only offered upon arrival and not for the rest of the stay. We were very, very surprised and disappointed considering this is a higher end of the Marriott and at almost 500 euros a night, 2 complimentary bottles of water is not attainable. Housekeeping is nothing to shout about. We went out at 11.30am and came back to pick up something at 2.30pm and it was still not cleaned. I had to call reception to have housekeeping come by. Nothing so far has felt like we were in a 5 star hotel except the location and of course the decor. Bathroom amenities were nothing impressive. Just very basic stuff. Please ask for additional stuff that you might need because they will not give it to you.

So-So: In room breakfast was ok. Honestly, it wasn't worth 35 euros. We only ordered because we arrived so late the night before and was exhausted.

Pros: Concierge has been nothing but helpful in every way. Polite, friendly and informative, we felt that they went all out to help us. It was a very welcome and contrast change to reception. The lady at concierge was the best!!!

This is our wedding anniversary getaway and we honestly have been a little disappointed. We are moving to the Park Hyatt tomorrow and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Paris Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris Vendome

Address: 4 rue du Mont Thabor, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Paris
#174 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#234 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#299 Family Hotel in Paris
#312 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Paris Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The downtown Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Paris Fashion Distric. Enjoy contemporary luxury and visit Paris and its tourist attractions from our doorstep. The Seine River, the Louvre and Orsay Museums and luxury shopping areas are only minutes away. Take the nearby Paris metro or walk to the magical Champs Elysees. Our boutique hotel features luxury hotel rooms with king-sized beds, luxury bathroom amenities (Bulgari) and broadband internet. Enjoy a Parisian ambiance and modern French cuisine from our world-recognized chef at Pinxo. Rejuvenate in the free fitness gym, indoor swimming pool and sauna. Indulge in a visit to our hotel spa for facial treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Paris Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel Paris
Paris Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Paris Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.