We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a reasonable cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Rue Censier (Rive Gauche) | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,073 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location at a reasonable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in an area of Paris that is very close to the Metro and tons of cafes and shops. It's a short walk to Rue Moufftard, a colorful cobblestone street that leads to the Pantheon and, is about a 20 minute walk to Notre Dame.
Our room was a double, which meant two twins, perfect for my friend and me. The beds took up most of the room but there was also a luggage rack/shelf area, a tv to get news and weather (in french, of course), and a tiny desk area. Each window had a tiny balcony, one with a little table and chairs The air conditioning worked well.
The bathroom was fair sized and modern. My only caveat was the lack of a shower hose holder, which made showering a bit of a challenge.
There is someone on duty at the front desk 24/7, all of whom were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
11
43
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is just off a busy street with excellent bus transportation to major tourist sites, and less than five minutes from a Metro station as well. It is also just a brief walk from Rue Mouffetard with its fine dining and fresh local produce and artisan providers of cheese, charcuterie, etc. As a solo woman traveler, I felt perfectly safe walking day or night. Yes, the rooms are tiny, and the bath area even more so. My shower drain did not drain and smelled unpleasant, but they did try to correct it.

Room Tip: The rooms that do not face the sheet are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Cheap, clean, friendly staff and good location. Rooms are very small, but enough for city travellers. Glass walls in the bathroom and the door can not be locked. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend this hotel for those who come to visit the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the last three years, and willalways stay here when I come to Paris if it remains at the standard I have found it. For a budget hotel, it cannot be beaten. Friend staff, a nice room (small, but well designed). A great location (a couple of minutes from the Censier-Daubanton Metro stop on Line 7). The excellent creperie Pot O'Lait is directly across the street, and several very good restaurants are within a few minutes' walk.

Watch out for the shower head, which can fall down if you don't place its holder in the right (upward-facing) way. And be sure the shower curtain is pulled, or you will get water all over the bathroom floor. But these are trivial considerations. A great little hotel for the price (and the continental breakast is good, and free). Plus free newspapers to read, in several languages (Interntional Herald Tribune; and a small library, including Fodor's Paris Guide.

All in all, an excellent find for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Hotel was in a great location, close to transit and all major sites were easy to get to from here. We got a great deal compared to other hotels in the area. Room was very small, but clean and adequate. Bathroom had glass walls and made for very little privacy. Over all enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed two weeks in Paris in this nice hotel one half block from a tube station and about two blocks from quaint Rue Mouffetard. A nice selection of breakfast cold items are available for a reasonable cost in the small downstairs dining area. The room and bathroom were clean, newly refurbished and updated.
Happy Note:The desk clerk was very helpful when, on the morning I was checking out, persons in another room were also leaving - their taxi driver picked up my suitcase by mistake, put it in his taxi, off they went. A few minutes later, I noticed my suitcase was gone. The desk clerk figured out what happened and called the dispatcher for the taxi. The dispatcher got in touch with the driver and got the address he delivered the previous hotel guests and their luggage. The clerk found the local name and phone number of the guests, called them, and, Voila, they had my suitcase and would hold it until my shuttle taxi to the airport collected it. Can you believe I got my suitcase back and made my flight to the USA.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

For those who have not stayed in a Paris Hotel you do not get great value for your money. This Hotel however, is of good standard in a nice district. It is a modern style Hotel in an old building in the 5th District of Paris. I have stayed overnight in many Hotels of this star rating and this is probably the best. I stayed in a single classic room whilst visiting a friend who lives in Paris, and I found this Hotel very acceptable. The single room was quite small as was the bathroom but both were modern in design. I also liked the provision of shampoo and shower gels which you do not often get in a 2* Hotel. The staff were pleasant and the entrance was modern. Lots of eating places nearby as is the Metro. Good rate of 80e via Hotels.com which was much cheaper than the Hotels own website.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin

Address: 28 Rue Censier (Rive Gauche) | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,073 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Quartier Latin Paris
Maxim Quartier Latin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.