We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Madison Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #153 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed there for the 3rd time. Location could not be better, room of decent size for Paris, modern decor, liked the red motif on doors of bathroom and wc (separate) and in the big square frame on the large mirror covering the wardrobe door from outside. Unusually good lighting, could read anywhere in the room if you want. Nice view of the church. Very helpful, polite service. They did make an error in the bill upon checkout, but corrected it swiftly and efficiently. Breakfast room pleasant, satisfactory selection.

Room Tip: Rooms are soundproof, but some noise does get in. Rooms overlooking courtyard are quieter, but no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear UziTelAviv,

I would like to thank you for the nice review you posted on the Madison Hotel. We really appreciated it. We are glad to read that the comfort, the intimate atmosphere and the location of the hotel gave you satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Madison Hotel!

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    83
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
140
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We selected this hotel for the location (St. Germaine & Rue Napolean) and weren't disappointed. But some unexpected surprises were a warm welcoming staff, spotlessly clean rooms, and free wifi. It was easy walking distance to everything in the city centre, including lots of shopping (much to my chagrin and the wife's delight). For sights beyond walking distance, the metro station is halfway down the block. Great bakeries and restaurants nearby; we got several suggestions from the staff and weren't steered wrong once. Time to go on a diet!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and weren't disappointed. It was also very clean, with good wifi sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear James,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion about the Madison Hotel.
Besides, thank you so much for this fantastic review!!
Madison Hotel's team were very glad to read your comment.

We were pleased to welcome you at the Madison Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in mid August. We have been to Paris before but never so close to the centre. The location of this hotel is fantastic and is in the heart of Paris - there are so many things to do and see nearby, all within walking distance.
Our room was a "Privilege vue Cour" room booked through Expedia for about 200 Euros a night and we were on the 6th floor.
We found Paris significantly more expensive than London - for example the hotel offered breakfast for 25 Euros which we thought was ridiculous but when we went to nearby restaurants/cafes we found them to be almost as expensive and in some cases even more expensive! We decided to stick with the local restaurants so we could enjoy the outside Parisien cafe culture.
I read a number of reviews that complained about the size of the room - our room was not small and had plenty of space and being on one of the higher floors, we weren't bothered by the air conditioning units sited at ground level in the courtyard. The room consisted of a small entrance area that had four small sections off it - a bedroom, lounge, bathroom and seperate toilet. The lounge had wardrobes and a safe as well as a second fold down double bed. Having 4 people in the room would have been "cosy" but I guess it would be an inexpensive option for a family. The bathroom had a bath, shower over the bath, a second shower in a cabinet and two hand basins. The hand basins looked stylish but we found them a bit awkward to use.
The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and overall we were very happy with our choice.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant - we were warmly greeted on our arrival, maid service was discrete and did not knock on our door in the morning to get the room cleaned.
I would thoroughly recommend this area of Paris and would go back to this hotel again. My only minor grumble was the value for money aspect which I suspect is more to do with Paris than the hotel itself and for that reason it was a 4 star rather than 5 star rating.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, I would have a courtyard facing room above floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a place I will go back to when I'm planning a stay in Paris! It's in a perfect and beautifull area! The staff is very kind and our room, number 76, had a great view at the oldest church in Paris! The room was very spacious, had a seperate toilet and the quality of a 4 star hotel should have. To bad you have to shower in the bath and breakfast costs € 25,-- pp. We grabbed a croissant at the other side of the street for €1,50 pp. The Notre Dame is only a 5 minutes walk . And there are lovely cafe's and terraces where you can enjoy the view of the beautifull Parisians. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Toshirules,

Please, receive this gentle message as a personal note of thanks for having taking the time to write a great review !

The whole team was so glad to read that your stay at the Madison Hotel met your expectations! We will be pleased to welcome you again soon at the Madison Hotel!

Best regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Moritz
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here in August on a sightseeing holiday to Paris. The hotel is perfectly positioned on the Boulevard St. Germaine and so suitable for a great stay (close to the Seine, the bridges, the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay , St Chapelle, buses, metro etc etc) and close to so much especially the great atmospheric restaurants and cafes that made up such an important part of our visit. We really enjoyed the hotel staff who went out of their way to be friendly and assist us with tickets and information. The room was very clean and interestingly decorated and we had a great view of the church....We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Josephine,

Comment such as yours is a blessing for us! Thank you for having taking the time to share the way you experienced the Madison Hotel !
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the special atmosphere of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best Parisian regards,
caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Madison Hotel; very conveniently and nicely located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, which is a beautiful and dynamic part of Paris. The hotel is modern and elegantly decorated. My room (tiny but great bed) had view of the street (Boulevard Saint Germain), which was very picturesque but noisy. I liked the bathroom, which had a bathtub for a relaxing soak, but was not impressed by the toiletries (don't like shampoo-conditioner-in-one!). I would recommend taking a room without a view to enjoy more tranquility. Breakfast very complete and served in the lobby dining room. Free and reliable WIFI connection. Metro just outside the property, and endless shopping opportunities! Lastly, very friendly staff who always greeted guests with a smile. There are better hotels in the neighborhood, but will cost about 100 euros more. I think for what you get, the price of around 200-240 euros is reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a view for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Family-C-L,

We would like to thank you very much for taking time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your kindness and most of all your honesty about your stay.
We are very concerned by your detailed feed-back .

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you in the Madison Hotel for your next visit in Paris.


With kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May for nine nights and I can’t tell you how disappointed we were. This is not our first stay at the hotel so we were totally shocked. While the new décor is lovely to look at, the lack of basic necessities in the room makes for a difficult stay. There are no shelves in the bathroom, I had to stack items on the floor. We only had one night table, there was no room for a second one on my husband’s side. When opening the closet, I had to move my night table to accommodate the door opening and the only shelving we had to put anything away was so high I couldn’t reach it. Needless to say, I was forced to live out of my suitcase. The room was so small there was practically no room for the suitcases and we kept tripping over them. All the Paris charm that was present before the renovation has been replaced by modern design, which is fine, but this is a hotel room where basic needs must be met. You don’t meet them anymore and that is such a shame. One final note, your breakfast buffet is wonderful. There is a vast array of tasty food and beverages.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear skippy123,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us.

I would be delighted to discuss this further with you and would kindly ask if you could contact me on info@hotelsmauricehurand.com.
I would like to assure you that this is not the level of service that we pride ourselves on and I can only hope that you will contact me so that I can personally discuss the matter with you.

Kind regards,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Family Hotel in Paris
#155 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#163 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.