We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, thank you so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, thank you so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, all staff were so helpful. Added touch was chocolates on the first night of our stay. Close walking distance to Place de la Concorde, and the beautiful Grand Opera. Breakfast excellent.

Room was comfortable, but small. Good facilities in the hotel.

Would highly recommend and would stay there again.

Thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good Morning from Paris ! Thank you to you to come to visit us.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our area ; As you wrote it, we hope to see you again in Paris in Sydney Opéra, just to change from Melbourne…
Best Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    152
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
172
27
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable, excellent customer service, and a delicious Continental style breakfast with pastries, meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, etc.

Beds were some of the most comfortable we experienced on our trip; bathrooms were tidy and spacious (very unusual for Paris); rooms were not huge and but perfectly functional and pleasant. No views, pretty flower boxes outside the window which face the courtyard, but you don't go to Paris to stay in your hotel room. Very friendly, and welcoming lobby, and staff mirrored the atmosphere.

Great location near lots of shops including Printemps and Galleries Lafayette, restaurants---loved the Paul Bakery, Gare de St. Lazare, several metro stops, and the starting point for the Green Line hop on hop off bus.

Room Tip: A family of four (kids age 10, 13) will need to get two rooms. Kids LOVED this feature. Rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good morning from Paris !
All the staff joins me to thank you for your kind comment. We are so happy when people go back home with a nice memory of Paris and Sydney Opéra.
We do understand you are a Paul Bakery’s specialist know… !!! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back, have a nice week ;
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great little "boutique" hotel in superb location near fashionable shopping area and easy
10 minute walk to Place de la Concorde and River Seine. Reception very helpful with good command of English and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was adequate but not in the top few of our trip. Only small negative was having to get heavy suitcases up a few steps to the elevator. Plenty of nearby eating options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi from Paris,
We hope you had a nice trip back home!
Thank you for your comment and we are so happy you had a nice time with us.
It’s a pity concerning what you wrote for luggage ; even if we don’t have porter we can help with pleasure when customer have a lot or heavy luggage ; sorry we didn’t realize it when you check-in.
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Faultless, from the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff (including the swift maintenance response) to the breakfast range; from the convenient yet quiet location (ideal both for access to public transport and for walking to many of the Paris highlights) to the very comfortable beds and the room facilities. We had a great stay and would certainly stay here again. Free wi-fi really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good Morning from Paris,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us ; we hope to welcome you back in Paris. Thank you for your kind comment
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duryea, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great location. The staff was polite and spoke English readily. Our room was smallish but perfect with a great street view. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept great. The bathroom was large, immaculately clean and it looked newly remodeled. The breakfast was unexpectedly included in the price and was very nice. Just a quick little trip but the hotel really made the trip worthwhile!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which meant a short walk up a small spiral-type staircase because the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Morning from Paris,
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you had a nice trip back to Pennsilvany !
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from our 4 day stay in Paris. The staff were very helpful and spoke English on request. The hotel was very clean and the atmosphere was very friendly. On the one rainy day we had they provided umbrellas. We had a late night flight to catch on our last day, they accommodated us by storing our luggage, that way we could make the most of the final day.

Breakfast was varied with options to suit all taste buds. The hotel is also very close to the metro, a huge plus. We managed to see everything due to the ease of travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello from Paris,
All the Sydney’s staff joins me to thank you for your nice comment.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in France,
Sincerely
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy to find such a lovely hotel in a brilliant location. We were welcomed by Michael who speaks great English, as do most of the staff. Our room was a good size, spotless, with a great bed. The bathroom was a also a good size with shampoos etc all supplied.

The breakfast was very generous and we were able to have hard boiled eggs as well as cereals, fruit, pastries and meats etc on offer. Again, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay here again and a huge thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us ; all the staff joins me to thank you to choose Sydney Opéra ; we hope to welcome you back in France !
Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can help for anything here,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
BEST WESTERN Premier Opera Diamond
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Free...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#310 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Room Service, C...
Show More
Hotel Regent's Garden
Hotel Regent's Garden
#28 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
3-star, Mid-ran...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
#300 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Address: 50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#150 Family Hotel in Paris
#264 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.