We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pied A Terre in Paris!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #168 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pied A Terre in Paris!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable, excellent customer service, and a delicious Continental style breakfast with pastries, meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, etc.

Beds were some of the most comfortable we experienced on our trip; bathrooms were tidy and spacious (very unusual for Paris); rooms were not huge and but perfectly functional and pleasant. No views, pretty flower boxes outside the window which face the courtyard, but you don't go to Paris to stay in your hotel room. Very friendly, and welcoming lobby, and staff mirrored the atmosphere.

Great location near lots of shops including Printemps and Galleries Lafayette, restaurants---loved the Paul Bakery, Gare de St. Lazare, several metro stops, and the starting point for the Green Line hop on hop off bus.

Room Tip: A family of four (kids age 10, 13) will need to get two rooms. Kids LOVED this feature. Rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good morning from Paris !
All the staff joins me to thank you for your kind comment. We are so happy when people go back home with a nice memory of Paris and Sydney Opéra.
We do understand you are a Paul Bakery’s specialist know… !!! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back, have a nice week ;
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    159
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
183
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great little "boutique" hotel in superb location near fashionable shopping area and easy
10 minute walk to Place de la Concorde and River Seine. Reception very helpful with good command of English and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was adequate but not in the top few of our trip. Only small negative was having to get heavy suitcases up a few steps to the elevator. Plenty of nearby eating options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi from Paris,
We hope you had a nice trip back home!
Thank you for your comment and we are so happy you had a nice time with us.
It’s a pity concerning what you wrote for luggage ; even if we don’t have porter we can help with pleasure when customer have a lot or heavy luggage ; sorry we didn’t realize it when you check-in.
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Faultless, from the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff (including the swift maintenance response) to the breakfast range; from the convenient yet quiet location (ideal both for access to public transport and for walking to many of the Paris highlights) to the very comfortable beds and the room facilities. We had a great stay and would certainly stay here again. Free wi-fi really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good Morning from Paris,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us ; we hope to welcome you back in Paris. Thank you for your kind comment
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duryea, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great location. The staff was polite and spoke English readily. Our room was smallish but perfect with a great street view. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept great. The bathroom was large, immaculately clean and it looked newly remodeled. The breakfast was unexpectedly included in the price and was very nice. Just a quick little trip but the hotel really made the trip worthwhile!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which meant a short walk up a small spiral-type staircase because the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Morning from Paris,
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you had a nice trip back to Pennsilvany !
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from our 4 day stay in Paris. The staff were very helpful and spoke English on request. The hotel was very clean and the atmosphere was very friendly. On the one rainy day we had they provided umbrellas. We had a late night flight to catch on our last day, they accommodated us by storing our luggage, that way we could make the most of the final day.

Breakfast was varied with options to suit all taste buds. The hotel is also very close to the metro, a huge plus. We managed to see everything due to the ease of travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello from Paris,
All the Sydney’s staff joins me to thank you for your nice comment.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in France,
Sincerely
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy to find such a lovely hotel in a brilliant location. We were welcomed by Michael who speaks great English, as do most of the staff. Our room was a good size, spotless, with a great bed. The bathroom was a also a good size with shampoos etc all supplied.

The breakfast was very generous and we were able to have hard boiled eggs as well as cereals, fruit, pastries and meats etc on offer. Again, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay here again and a huge thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us ; all the staff joins me to thank you to choose Sydney Opéra ; we hope to welcome you back in France !
Don’t hesitate to contact us if we can help for anything here,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Extremely well located, nice&friendly service/staff and extremely nice room (no 104, deluxe). Good breakfast. Highly recomended! We stayed for three nights. A tip, If arriving with a rental car, prebook a parking place trough Neoparking or Vinci. I got a place for 30 €/3 nights from a near by railway station' (Lazarre) car park as the normal price would have been 30 € per night.

Room Tip: There was no elevator to the first floor, so this might be an issue for the elderly ones. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Good morning from Paris,
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Sydney Opéra ; thank you to explained your park experience which is a good point for futur customers.
A bientôt
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Address: 50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#132 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#163 Family Hotel in Paris
#278 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.