We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #168 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    159
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
183
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel is quite small but has nice rooms. My window was overlooking the street but it was quiet and no noice whatsoever. Good mirrows but safety box would have needed 50€ deposit!
Breakfast was very French, quite good actually but not so abundant. Location being so good next to the shopping streets and big department stores as well as metro stations, this makes it a very good choice both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello from Paris! We are happy you enjoy your stay. Your right, our breakfast is a “French” one, we find there obviously croissant, pain au chocolat, home cakes(prepared each day), fresh fruit and other things like yoghurts, cheeses, ham, salami, boiled eggs… and of course the cereals. We would be glad to welcome you during your next visit in Paris!
Anne, réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I currently in the hotel departing tomorrow and we have had a pleasant stay. Daisy is very nice and always friendly and helpful. Pretty central location and very close to the L'Open bus tour which we used. The breakfast has a lot of variety and everything looks fresh. There is an English speaking pub right across the street which is really convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
That’s an enjoyment to learn your comment. Daisie is really delighted to realize that you had a nice stay in our hotel. “l’Open tour Bus” is a gool deal your right! We are looking forward to welcoming you another time…
Anne, réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is phenomenal if you love to shop! Paris is a confusing city to navigate (even with a map) but as long as you ask the locals "can you tell me where Printemps or Galeries Lafayette is?" you will always be able to find your way back to the hotel! The personnel at the front desk were nice, the room was nice, the shower was powerful (just remember to put two towels on the floor to mop up the water that spills out the shower door ... even with the glass doors, water still escapes and huge puddles will form if you don't have the towels on the floor). There's a safety deposit box in the rooms, but you have to leave 50 euros at the front desk before they'll give you the key to it (you get the 50 euros back when you return the key at check-out ... I suggest you use this to put your passports and extra money in there). The bed was comfortable, the breakfast buffet was good (3 types of fresh juice, cold cuts, cheese, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of bread, toaster, yogurt, pastries, jams, fruit, fruit cups, melba toast, babel cheese, coffee, tea, hot chocolate). Cafes are expensive in Paris, so I suggest that you gorge yourself at breakfast. so that you're not hungry at noon and then have an early dinner (4 or 4:30pm) and perhaps have a snack at 8'ish or so. When you get to the room, there's a little box of complimentary chocolates for you (courtesy of the manager) to welcome you to the hotel, which is a thoughtful gesture on management's part.

We paid 228 euro a night (free breakfast included), which is about $300 US. That's more than what I'm used to paying for a hotel room, but apparently, this is a bargain rate for the location and type of room in Paris. The location is like Times Square in Manhattan or Yonge/Bloor in Toronto. I wanted a hotel in a safe location, one that was clean and with a powerful shower (not just a tub) and this hotel fit the bill perfectly.

I would 100% stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to anyone who has high standards and wants a hotel similar to what you would find in North America (albeit a pricey one).

Check the thermostat before you go to bed though. We thought the room was FREEZING at night (even though the thermostat said 32 degrees celcius (90 degrees fahrenheit), it sure didn't feel like it). If the thermostat shows a picture of a snowflake on it, you're going to be shivering all night!

Best Western Hotel Sydney Opera ... I miss you already and once I save up enough money, I'll return to you soon!

Room Tip: We were a little disappointed at first of the view from our hotel window. We wanted a view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment ! All the staff and I are pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Sydney Opéra !
I understood than Galeries Lafayette and Le Printemps were your check point !!!
We hope to welcome you again in Paris,
With our Best Regards,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, especially for the price paid. The location is fantastic for seeing Paris, 5 minutes to 3 different metro stations and 5 minutes walk to Gallerie Lafayette, L'Opera and lots of restaurants & shops. I have to admit that I personally enjoyed my stay in The Marais area a bit more 2 years ago but if you are in Paris for a quick visit, you cant go wrong with this hotel.

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the bathroom given the location & the price. The staff were all lovelytoo. I didnt have breakfast there so cant comment on this but it is close to a Pauls so I didnt need to, there is also a starbucks a few minutes away if you are that way inclined.

My only criticism of the hotel is the walls are ridiculously thin so you hear every door open and close & every word spoken. I was woken a few times by people coming home and closing their hotel door. I read about it in other reviews but I didnt realise how bad it would be. I am a very light sleeper though so it may not bother everyone. I have to say I didnt hear a sound from outside the hotel though.

All in all I highly recommend this hotel, just bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your very nice comment.
We are very aware of the problem of sound damping in buildings as ours, style Napoleon 3.
In spite of the various renovations which we made, it’s the problem which we do not manage to solve, we are sincerely sorry about it.
By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Paris and to give you a better experience, we wish you good October !!!
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very clean, comfortahle room, very good breakfast available. Handy to most popular sites. Our room was on the main street so some traffic noise and late noise from the restaurant across the street. Maybe ask for a room not Mathurins St.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comment ! We hope to see you again in Paris,
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We checked into this hotel after 2 miserable nights at the Hotel Muguet, where the air conditioning was broken & 3 different employees told us there was no problem (only after we checked out did we find out, via their management's response to bad TripAdvisor reviews from 3 guests, that the air conditioning was indeed broken but they were waiting on a part to fix it). As we lay awake covered in sweat at the Muguet, we came across good reviews of the Best Western Sydney Opera online & decided to give it a shot. We are so glad that we did! First off, we were greeted by the wonderful Daisy at the front desk. She welcomed us warmly, and was extremely helpful. It was 2 hours before check-in, and there were no double rooms (the kind we had reserved) at the moment, but she told us there was one room available that she thought we would like, and allowed us to take a look at it to see if we liked it before committing to it. (It had 2 twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed, which was fine for us.) The room was larger than our room at the Muguet (for less money), and was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The room also included a mini-fridge and a safe. Most importantly, the air conditioning functioned perfectly. The hotel is within walking distance to many popular sights, and is a short walk from several Metro lines. It's also close to a number of shops and cafes. Daisy recommended Chez Papa to us, and we were not disappointed (don't be afraid of the French menu on display; ask for an English menu). And be sure to take a few steps west of the hotel to see the beautiful Expiatory Chapel. Also, the wi-fi at this hotel is fast, reliable, free, and only requires you to log in once, instead of every time you use it. None of the 3 other hotels we stayed at on this lengthy trip had wi-fi with all of those features. And I know the purpose of going on vacation is not to watch TV, but after a busy and tiring day of sightseeing, sometimes we just like to collapse on the bed and watch a show or two; this hotel features 4 different BBC channels, so we were never at a loss for something to watch when we wanted to. The only negative is that we were awakened around 5:30 each morning by the sound of the garbage truck on the street outside, but the room was so comfortable that we were easily able to fall back asleep. And finally, the small box of chocolates that welcomed us in the room was a lovely touch. We truly felt at home at the Best Western Sydney Opera, and were sad to leave when it was time to move on to the next city on our journey! (p.s. Daisy, we are sorry that you were not at reception when we checked out. We wanted to say goodbye and thank you for being so helpful and friendly to us!)

Room Tip: You may be awakened by garbage-truck noise if you are in a lower room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
All the Sydney’s staff and I are very pleased to read your comments !
Thank you very much, it’s really kind of you.
It’s a pity you had a bad experience in the Muguet Hotel, its seems to be a nice place.
Anyway and Luckely you find us !!! so glad you enjoyed your time with us, Daisie is on holiday for the moment, I’m sure she will be so happy to read your comment and have news of you.
Unfortunately the garbage truck service is in the morning in our area, there is no way for us to change it and in a big city we know it’s a trouble for people who are not use of it.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in the futur and don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a comment,
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Address: 50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#158 Family Hotel in Paris
#275 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.