We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, big rooms, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, big rooms, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, especially for the price paid. The location is fantastic for seeing Paris, 5 minutes to 3 different metro stations and 5 minutes walk to Gallerie Lafayette, L'Opera and lots of restaurants & shops. I have to admit that I personally enjoyed my stay in The Marais area a bit more 2 years ago but if you are in Paris for a quick visit, you cant go wrong with this hotel.

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the bathroom given the location & the price. The staff were all lovelytoo. I didnt have breakfast there so cant comment on this but it is close to a Pauls so I didnt need to, there is also a starbucks a few minutes away if you are that way inclined.

My only criticism of the hotel is the walls are ridiculously thin so you hear every door open and close & every word spoken. I was woken a few times by people coming home and closing their hotel door. I read about it in other reviews but I didnt realise how bad it would be. I am a very light sleeper though so it may not bother everyone. I have to say I didnt hear a sound from outside the hotel though.

All in all I highly recommend this hotel, just bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your very nice comment.
We are very aware of the problem of sound damping in buildings as ours, style Napoleon 3.
In spite of the various renovations which we made, it’s the problem which we do not manage to solve, we are sincerely sorry about it.
By hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Paris and to give you a better experience, we wish you good October !!!
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    152
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
172
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very clean, comfortahle room, very good breakfast available. Handy to most popular sites. Our room was on the main street so some traffic noise and late noise from the restaurant across the street. Maybe ask for a room not Mathurins St.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comment ! We hope to see you again in Paris,
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We checked into this hotel after 2 miserable nights at the Hotel Muguet, where the air conditioning was broken & 3 different employees told us there was no problem (only after we checked out did we find out, via their management's response to bad TripAdvisor reviews from 3 guests, that the air conditioning was indeed broken but they were waiting on a part to fix it). As we lay awake covered in sweat at the Muguet, we came across good reviews of the Best Western Sydney Opera online & decided to give it a shot. We are so glad that we did! First off, we were greeted by the wonderful Daisy at the front desk. She welcomed us warmly, and was extremely helpful. It was 2 hours before check-in, and there were no double rooms (the kind we had reserved) at the moment, but she told us there was one room available that she thought we would like, and allowed us to take a look at it to see if we liked it before committing to it. (It had 2 twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed, which was fine for us.) The room was larger than our room at the Muguet (for less money), and was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The room also included a mini-fridge and a safe. Most importantly, the air conditioning functioned perfectly. The hotel is within walking distance to many popular sights, and is a short walk from several Metro lines. It's also close to a number of shops and cafes. Daisy recommended Chez Papa to us, and we were not disappointed (don't be afraid of the French menu on display; ask for an English menu). And be sure to take a few steps west of the hotel to see the beautiful Expiatory Chapel. Also, the wi-fi at this hotel is fast, reliable, free, and only requires you to log in once, instead of every time you use it. None of the 3 other hotels we stayed at on this lengthy trip had wi-fi with all of those features. And I know the purpose of going on vacation is not to watch TV, but after a busy and tiring day of sightseeing, sometimes we just like to collapse on the bed and watch a show or two; this hotel features 4 different BBC channels, so we were never at a loss for something to watch when we wanted to. The only negative is that we were awakened around 5:30 each morning by the sound of the garbage truck on the street outside, but the room was so comfortable that we were easily able to fall back asleep. And finally, the small box of chocolates that welcomed us in the room was a lovely touch. We truly felt at home at the Best Western Sydney Opera, and were sad to leave when it was time to move on to the next city on our journey! (p.s. Daisy, we are sorry that you were not at reception when we checked out. We wanted to say goodbye and thank you for being so helpful and friendly to us!)

Room Tip: You may be awakened by garbage-truck noise if you are in a lower room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
All the Sydney’s staff and I are very pleased to read your comments !
Thank you very much, it’s really kind of you.
It’s a pity you had a bad experience in the Muguet Hotel, its seems to be a nice place.
Anyway and Luckely you find us !!! so glad you enjoyed your time with us, Daisie is on holiday for the moment, I’m sure she will be so happy to read your comment and have news of you.
Unfortunately the garbage truck service is in the morning in our area, there is no way for us to change it and in a big city we know it’s a trouble for people who are not use of it.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in the futur and don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a comment,
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in August and really enjoyed our stay. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and our room was clean and well presented. The hotel was in a great location, very handy for walking to the sights. We didn't experience any noise from the streets or other occupants and we slept very well. The free breakfast was a real bonus and offered a good selection of food and it was good that it was available until 11am. The staff on the front desk were very helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your trip in Paris with us.
We hope to welcome you again in the futur,
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights for a sightseeing trip. I loved everything about the hotel. It´s newly renovated, lovely decor in the public areas and rooms and free, fast wifi. Guest rooms are quite spacious, at least for 3-star Parisian standards. Only negative point are the extremely thin walls.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and offers a great selection. However, if the hotel is fully booked, you might have to wait to get a table as space is limited and you might have to ask the waitress to fill-up the buffet if something is needed.

The location is absolutely great, only a 5min walk to the opera or about 15min to the louvre. The hotel is located on a small street though with hardly any traffic noise.

Reception staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Can´t wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Pleased to understand you enjoyed your time with us !
Apologies for trouble of Sound damping, it’s difficult in old building in Paris to stop it definitely.
In august, all customers have the same time table, every body going down at the same time before visiting Paris and it’s true our breakfast room can be small at this period, sorry if you had to wait.
Hope to welcome you again in Sydney Opéra,
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This BW is located very close to all sights, to the starting point of the "L'open tour" hop-on hop-off bus tours and to great shopping areas at the grat boulevards. Its rooms are not big, but newly renovated, very clean and equipped with safe and a/c (both important in Paris). Breakfast was included and quite good. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the receptionists even spoke English quite well. The only minus is parking - big garages are close by but expensive (€ 32/ day).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much !! we glad you come back home with a good memory of Paris !
For sure the parking’s price is … is so much expensive in Paris, next time come by train or plane if you can, it could be cheaper !!!
We hope to see you again in Sydney Opéra, sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently had occasion to spend a Saturday night in Paris. Unfortunately this was an unplanned and sudden trip and I had literally no luggage, change of clothing or toiletries. No worries I tjhought - I'll pick up what little I needed once there. However I was late getting to the city and my main preoccupation was finding somewhere to stay.
Needless to say I did not manage to get anything in the way of supplies and ended up very late at night (around 02.00 local time) trudging around Chatelet and the Opera House area with nothing booked or even tentatively arranged.
I tried a couple of the major hotels including the intercontinental and the Westin but there was no room at the Inn! Gasping with thirst I came across an 'English Pub' where over a welcome drink the barman was able to direct me to a small hotel virtually opposite.
The hotel though tucked away is very close to the major attractions near the river including the place du Concord, Opera, Hotel de Ville and the Pompidou Centre only a 15 minute walk away. I was greeted by a wary night porter who once assured I was not a drunkard or potential robber - was extremely helpful and polite and quickly checked me in while telling me about the facilities available in the room and hotel generally.
The room was small but more than adequate and tastefully decorated with plenty of storage space, a small minibar containing some wine, beers and a selection of non-alcoholic drinks; a wall mounted TV which televised most European Channels including BBC1 and 2. Air-conditioned with personalised thermostatic control, a small writing bureau, and a comfortable queen sized bed.
The room was en-suite with what appeared to be a newly decorated and spotlessly clean bathroom. Shower/bath, toilet, sink, heated towel rail as standard with a hand held hair dryer and selection of toiletries also provided. There was a more than ample supply of bath towels/mats etc..Each guest is provided with WiFi connection details and there are modern flat screen terminals available for guests to use in the reception area. Breakfast was included in the nightly rate, served in a small but cozy dinning area in the central atria of the hotel beside the reception area lit during the day by way of a large skylight. Continental breakfast was served from 0700 until late morning and included a good selection of bread, pastries, cold meats, cheese, hard or soft boiled eggs, cereal, mixed fruits and a selection of fruit juices and coffee.
There was a variety of information available about the area around the hotel and sightseeing opportunities. The hotel staff were all very friendly, courteous and eager to assist in anyway they were able.
The hotel was reasonably priced at around £140 per night given it's central location and facilities. I would happily recommend this hotel as a base to explore the centre of what is a notoriously expensive city and is good value for money given it's prime location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It’s a pity you came so late this night !!! We hope to welcome you once more, all the staff and I would like to thank you for the kindly comments you wrote.
Kind Regards, Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
BEST WESTERN Premier Opera Diamond
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Free...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#309 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Room Service, C...
Show More
Hotel Regent's Garden
Hotel Regent's Garden
#28 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
3-star, Mid-ran...
Show More
Champs-Élysées
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
Le Petit Madeleine Hotel
#300 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera

Address: 50 Rue des Mathurins | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#150 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sydney Opera
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sydney Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.